Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Alien Raiders (Raw Feed Series)
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2009
Moderately scaled indie film, but really quite excellent. Just pretend the title doesn't exist. Tape over it with your own, more clever title. But it's a very tight script; the "robbers" from the beginning have a sordid history that unviels throughout the film, but you're only told what you need to know to enjoy the movie and wonder about these people. The action is tastefully full of gore, but rarely does the movie hold too long on the squishiness. And there's no UFO, ignore the cover, but there are aliens.

Anyway, it's a solid 85 minute romp, and I'm really glad I saw it. It plays on some cliches, flips over others. Tis a good time.

-Enigma1066
33 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2009
Wow! Finally! I have found a new sci-fi/horror that isn't lousy. And let me tell you, with all the junk coming out lately, it wasn't easy. I took a chance on this one and was rewarded with a film that manages to combine just about everything in the genre and explain it all at the same time. The film is fast paced, the special effects are good and you don't have someone telling you what has happened. You pick it up in bits and pieces and put them together. A bunch of robbers hit a supermarket and start picking off customers by having one of the robbers touch them. They happen to come in just as the detective of the local police department is leaving. The robbers don't want money and turn out not to be robbers after all. They are a group of self-made commandos looking for someone (or thing) in particular. That's it. I can't go any further without spoiling the film. It's an Independent Film with a good cast and comes at a great price. Get it - You'll enjoy it.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2009
Don't be put off by the terrible title and stupid DVD cover, "Alien Raiders" is a taut well-done thriller, but the less you know about it the better, so your best bet is to not read anything else on this page and just watch it.
11 comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2011
I thought I was going to see a simple "hack and stab" alien filled movie....didn't expect the intensity of the movie. Well acted by everyone.
If it had one weakness......its the never ending desire for movies such as this to feature the defeat of the "evil creature" only to discover on the "surprise" closing scene that "it aint over".
Was very surprised and pleasantly so. Great movie. The hero is a definite "up and comer" if he continues acting as well as he did in this vehicle....great movie...nothing left to say!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
man these reviews can be deceptive, most of the reviews made this movie sound great and so I gave it a chance, and i will say it was mediocre at best. There are a few plot holes and decisions that were made that made absolutely no sense, like why did they feel the need to not include......... ok, never mind, I wont say it because I don't want to spoil the movie for any one curious enough to see it. they did add one twist I did not see coming in the very end, which made it a little unpredictable which is a plus, but I have seen this twist formula in other movies so its not an original concept.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
I had passed over this movie many times, thinking it was just some super cheesy "B" movie. Whoever chose the title killed this movie's chances of making any money. I finally watched the trailer and it actually looked interesting. Also saw that it had a 4 star rating from quite a few people. I rented it and I'm glad I did. This was a surprisingly good movie. Most of the acting was on par with a good Hollywood studio movie (actually better than a lot of big budget movies). The special effects were minimal, but quite good. The "alien parasite" premise has been used over and over, but the filmmakers still found a way to keep it fresh and came up with a pretty original plot.

Overall a very enjoyable movie. Definitely worth the rental fee.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Like most DVD covers, the illustration is misleading and the title incomprehensible. This is more a taut little thriller than a sci-fi flick. It owes a lot to John W. Campbell, Jr.'s novella "Who Goes There?" The point being, how do you expose someone who looks human but carries and alien inside? In this version, they have people who can sense them. The movie takes place at night, in a grocery store after it has closed. A group of masked assailants/vigilantes enters the store and begins shooting customers, disregarding most in favor of those identified as being one of THEM. When their "spotter" is shot and killed pandemonium breaks out. They now have a force of police surrounding the building and they are trapped inside with one or more infected people capable of infecting them. Now comes the hard part, who's who? They have a unique method to determine who might be infected. Ouch.

Tense and absorbing, the story is filled with suspense. Loved the no nonsense approach. This was a happy find. Definitely a keeper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
& well worth one's time and money to watch, ..

at times, .. somewhat predictable, .. at other times, .. not

this film's location, .. and special effects ... definitely low-budget, ..

which hurts this film, .. not in the least, .. great concept, .... &, all of the actors are doing a great job, .. very believable, ... could see this actually happening, ..
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
I agree that some more thought should have gone into the title. Great indie horror. Writing, direction, acting and cinematography are spot on. Even though the subject isn't new, I haven't seen another movie executed quite like this. The suspense and tension are tightly woven into the storyline. Got milk?
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 5, 2013
I have to agree with other reviewers. Alien Raiders is a lame title that hardly lends itself to what this movie is about. Now that we have that out of the way what about the movie itself? It's a different take on the alien invasion genre, and that's what makes this movie so unique and entertaining. Its not a perfect film, but it can't be denied that this movie will make you get into whats going on and keep you held through the conclusion. This is the kind of film making that you don't see so much from a direct to video production. It's worth checking out if you are into sci-fi thrillers with a taste of horror.

Alien Raiders is about a group of normal people who have become alien hunters. They narrow down their search to a small town grocery store and go in like psychopaths taking hostages. From here the story unfolds. The aliens they hunt take over human bodies, so figuring out which ones are humans and which are aliens can be tricky without help. That's essentially where the story gets you to. You have a set of hostages and the hunters have to figure out which ones are the aliens. The themes have that paranoid feel of movies like Invasion of the Body Snatchers or The Thing. The approach they take on this theme is what sets it apart. From the beginning of the film you don't know what's going on. As the story progresses you start to know a little more. The plot continues to feed you tiny nuggets of background story and plot progression. In the end you have one parts thriller, one part mystery, and one part horror film with all the speculation and wondering about who and what that makes this kind of film good.

The movie may not keep you at the edge of your seat, but it does keep you interested. I don't think Alien Raiders was made to be an intense thriller. More like an intellectual thriller that relishes keeping you interested in the little details. I do have to say that as the movie comes to it's conclusion that sense of mystery and thrill gets replaced with your standard monster fight and ultimately a disappointing and utterly predictable ending. I wasn't impressed with how they chose to wrap up the plot, but I did enjoy the ride.

This being a direct to video production the film budget isn't all that big, but they do a lot with the resources. You forget it's low budget (until the ending) because the story gets interesting and the way it's shot and the way the script flows will grab your attention. Make up effects and such are serviceable and actually work better than if they would have tried it with computer animated effects. The cast is diverse, which helps with the whole, "who could be the alien?" feel.

This DVD is not a bad package. The video is good and the sound is really dynamic during the scenes where that counts. The packaging is a little misleading as you don't get to see any spaceships or groups of crawly creatures anywhere om the film (I guess that fits the whole theme of having a title that doesn't represent the movie as well). The extras have some pretty neat items as well.

Hidden Terror: The Making of Alien Raiders - Your basic making of documentary. It's not one of those marketing fluff featurettes as it does have some real meat in the bone with explanations on the movie's origins and the methodology they went with in making it.

Blood, Sweat, and Fears: The special effects of Alien Raiders - A second documentary focusing on makeup and gore techniques. It is brief with not a lot of content.

Tape #9: Sterling Explains Alien - This is an interesting extra. It's done like those tapes found in the film and holds some neat details on the alien creatures. It goes through the origins of the creature as well as a sort of retrospective from the film. It's done like a scientific analysis which adds a little authenticity if not an exciting extra.

Tape #12: Spooky's Job - Goes into more details on the character Spooky and his ability to sense the aliens. If you had questions during the film about this guy this 'tape' does a lot to explain things.

Whitney Cam - A little Facebook/MySpace looking video of the character Whitney and her day to day musings of her normal life. Doesn't lend all that much to the whole package, but a little interesting nonetheless.

Alien Raiders is a neat concept that is well executed up until the final conflict of the film. While I hate that the film went for the cliched' and often traveled road in the end the majority of the content of the film makes up for it. Most sci-fi fans should find something to latch onto in this film, but it's mostly for those interested in body snatcher type films.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.99
$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.