Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game
It is a good game. Isometric view of a false-3D playing field (really more of a 2D game).

The focus is on the shooting and guns, not so much on the story (of which there is one, but not the greatest from what I've seen so far).

Overall, a good game. If you liked the previous Alien Shooters, you'll like this one. If you didn't like those, you won't...
Published on August 16, 2011 by Q

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay game
nothing special but easy to play and kill some time. Download was quick and easy. again easy to play and fun.
Published 17 months ago by Lee M. Young


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, August 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
It is a good game. Isometric view of a false-3D playing field (really more of a 2D game).

The focus is on the shooting and guns, not so much on the story (of which there is one, but not the greatest from what I've seen so far).

Overall, a good game. If you liked the previous Alien Shooters, you'll like this one. If you didn't like those, you won't like this one. If you don't know, I'd recommend getting the first one as it is cheaper and plays almost identically (though this one has more RPG-ish elements included, rather than just an upgrade system).

NOTE: If the game won't play on Windows 7, run it as an admin in Windows XP Service Pack 2 compatibility mode. Let me repeat that: run it under XP SERVICE PACK 2 compatibility mode. If you run it under Service Pack 3 it runs so slowly it is unplayable (or me at least).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alien Shooter 2 Conscription, September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
Upgrade from the 1st Alien Shooter 2 with improved graphics and additional monster scenarios. Enjoyable and intense, enjoyable by all, especally us seniors who still like shooter games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid game that could use more content., January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
If you expected cerebral pleasures from a game called "Alien Shooter", you have the wrong game. If you want to reduce about 4,500--by my kill stats--ugly critters large and small to stacks of corpses and pools of gore, you're dead on.

AS2 is a simple 3rd-person shooter (TPS) with isometric presentation. ( [...] ) There's no strategy to the game; tactics are simple, and it has a very linear simplicity. You can occasionally make a few extra weapons and support items available by finding hidden/obscure objects, but nearly all hidden areas are simply stashes of cash and/or ammo; this means you're likely to live longer, and contributes directly to your final score no matter what. Cash goes directly to buying better weapons and support gear from a sort of futuristic storefront: one per level, with a few levels that don't make it available at all. You'll want to plan accordingly; death means restarting a level, no matter how long, from the beginning.

If difficulty becomes a problem, there are quite a lot of cheats packed in; many very granular. You *will* be labeled a cheater, and unable to upload your "high score", but at least you can be assured you'll finish the game. You can also edit game resources--that's outside the scope of this review.

The plot is forgivably bad, and exists to provide some minimal context to grinding a bloody path through the advancing alien hordes. There's voice acting: some passable, some laughable. The game-interface text is translated competently and even amusingly (see the description of the "Awareness" trait, or whatever it's called), whereas a good deal of the monologue / dialogue, mostly the written parts, seem to have been translated by the Russian developers using Google Language Tools. It's understandable, but not much better than that.

Yet, the mistranslations aren't game-stopping, and you've got your pick of around 120 unique weapons ranging up to "impossible, yet awesome" and 50 or so support items--if you count all the cybernetic implant variants. It's just what I need for turning my brain off once in a while.

--barely playable on a fast Core 2 Duo with Intel HD 3000 graphics. You'll want a real GPU for this one, if not a fast one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay game, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
nothing special but easy to play and kill some time. Download was quick and easy. again easy to play and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect game if u use it to break of a monotonous day!, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
If you like an action packed game, that will be over in 10 - 15 minutes, it's great, as well if u enjoy just playing a game that you can complete in about 5 hours, saving it each time until it's complete, this will work too. Lots of fun, with no learning curve, just grab your mouse and start fighting. Lots of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alien Shooter 2, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
One of the best games I have played. It keep me so involved. I couldn't stop playing it. Thumbs up to the team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to blow off steam, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
This is an enjoyable extension game to the Alien shooter series. Great graphics and music. I've played it a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, I liked Alien Shooter 2 Better, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
The game's name is self-explanatory. Essentially you run around shooting wave after wave of aliens. It's not an arena style game, well some levels are sort of, but mostly progress stage to stage clearing aliens. Sometimes you're helped by friendly characters. Sometimes you have to protect the character and sometimes you can let them die if you want.

The production value of conscription is somewhat lower than alien shooter two reloaded. The dialogue is very poorly translated English and the story, which is mostly nonexistent, is told only in a series of pop-up bubbles. I've played the entire thing and I'm still not quite sure what's going on. I also got stuck on the terrain far more often.

If you've played alien shooter revisited will be familiar with a lot of the gameplay. They've gone back to some of the, in my opinion, cheap gameplay mechanics where you have a lot of enemies you have to fight through to get to the device that is spawning more to destroy it. The early levels of alien shooter revisited and many levels in alien shooter two reloaded were better designed. A lot of times aliens got stuck on things like stairs and I just stood back and picked them off.

I enjoyed blasting things, but it just never was as much fun as I'd had in alien shooter 2 reload. I didn't enjoy the timed parts where you have to hurry to reach another area or the babysitting ones where I had to guard a character who had atrocious AI (they made up for it with insane number of hit points) who ran directly into the enemies and forced me to take hits blocking for her purely because she behaved so stupidly. This led up to possibly the most boring and stupid boss fight I've ever had, where I kept ducking into a side room, coming out, shooting the boss for a 30 seconds or so, then ducking back in, repeat. The boss barely seemed to notice/care I was blasting it.

The weapons are also curious. When I played I never had enough money for decent guns, until the very end when it handed me the superpowered weapons to fight the end boss. I mean there was an $80,000 difference in the price of guns. Where alien shooter two reloaded let you work your way up a little more evenly. As with their other games, there is a level where you get to control a turret near the end, but it feels completely tacked on only lasts maybe 30 seconds.

The game also has some now standard modes like survival and gunstand mode. That's a pretty fun level where you can use a turret to try to stop wave after wave of enemies until you eventually die. It's quite fun, but if you have any of the other recent Sigma team games then you already have these modes.

My honest opinion, it's a fun game but ultimately, if you have both Alien Shooter and Alien Shooter 2 I'd avoid it as there's not a lot of point of buying this game. I got it for a few bucks, I wanted a couple of extra levels, and wanted to try out Amazon's game downloads, so I'm only a little disappointed but I don't feel too cheated.

Fair warning though, from what I've seen on their forums for some reason they provide little to no support for the game if you bought it someplace like Amazon or another reseller. One other seller in particular they're actually openly hostile to the posters! So if you have any problems with this game, help may not be available. I've not had a problem with any of their games on Windows 7 64-bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Shooter 2 - Conscription [Download] (Software Download)
I enjoy playing this animated game although the reloaded version is still my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.