Customer Reviews


759 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (186)
3 star:
 (162)
2 star:
 (94)
1 star:
 (129)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray of AVP DOES have the unrated cut.
Blu Ray review:

The Biggest thing about this BD of AVP that is consistently not mentioned is that the BD contains BOTH the PG-13 theatrical cut AND the unrated directors cut of the film. Amazon only lists the disc as the PG-13 version, and even an external BD review site failed to mention the inclusion of the unrated cut. So if you've wanted to get AVP on BD...
Published on February 7, 2009 by J. D. Schart

versus
383 of 486 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film, like Alien 3, was BUTCHERED by 20th Century Fox
I just read a report of an interview with director Paul W.S. Anderson (director of AVP). He said quote "that all the best scenes were cut from the film." He also said that the movie was always going to be R-rated until the studio enforced a PG-13 rating 3 WEEKS before releasing the film. In addition to the violence and gore cut from the film, a sub-plot that further...
Published on August 19, 2004 by J. F. Cramer


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray of AVP DOES have the unrated cut., February 7, 2009
By 
Blu Ray review:

The Biggest thing about this BD of AVP that is consistently not mentioned is that the BD contains BOTH the PG-13 theatrical cut AND the unrated directors cut of the film. Amazon only lists the disc as the PG-13 version, and even an external BD review site failed to mention the inclusion of the unrated cut. So if you've wanted to get AVP on BD and haven't due to a lack of the unrated cut, fear not, it's on the disc.

Video quality is good. It's not the best picture I've seen, but it's nowhere near the worst. Definitely better than the DVD 4/5 overall

Sound is good as well. Just like video, it's not the best, but it's not the worst. Choices are DTS-HD 5.1 (4-4.6 mbps) in English. French and Spanish in Regular Dolby Digital 5.1 (not HD audio). Overall a 4/5 for the DTS-HD track.

This review isn't about the movie itself, nor is it meant to be all-inclusive. My main reason for writing the review is that the unrated cut isn't advertised by anyone it seems in regards to being on the BD version and that is a big deal to me. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Theatrical Release, but not by much., November 23, 2005
For those of you who see "AVP Unrated" and think "Blood, Gore, Language, Violence, and Nudity"...THINK AGAIN!

Where there was a few flecks of blood, there is now a gallon. Where there were two "campy" scenes, there is now only one, But this is not even an "R" rating version of the film, evidenced further by the PG-13 rating on the back of the DVD case.

This fild should have stuck with the "Director's Cut" name and cut out the "Unrated" label, since in my opinion it does not deserve it. If you can swallow the plausability of the story even a litte bit, the this version is more serious and bloodier than the theatrical release, but not by much. "Campy" scenes still abound. Extra footage, edited in Deleted scenes from the Theatrical DVD version and a few other scene changes make this version a lot more fun to own than the first, but hard core fans of the original movies may still find this title a little wimpy.

With all that negative feedback out of the way, if you take a more objective, "outside the box" outlook on the film, it is fun and is a good mix of sci-fi and action. I would heartilly recommend this version over the standard AVP Theatrical version, and you will pretty much find all the original Theatrical DVD Extras included in this edition as well. (Commentaries, Making of featurette, etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Defense of AVP, May 22, 2005
By 
Glenn X (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
While most critics have dripped acid on Paul Anderson's "Alien vs. Predator," apparently due to prima facie objections to the very idea of a non-courtroom-drama with the word "versus" in the title, I was pleasantly surprised by AVP.

Is AVP as great as 1986's "Aliens"? Nope. But I think comparing AVP to "Aliens" is to employ the wrong standard. AVP is not competing with that film, in much the same way that "Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country" was not competing with the sensational "Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan." No, "Star Trek VI" was competing with the largely reviled "Star Trek V: The Final Frontier." Similarly, AVP is really competing with the oppressively dark, fundamentally unappealing "Alien 3" and strangely goofy, utterly unexciting "Alien Resurrection"; the last Predator movie, 1990's "Predator 2," was released so long ago and did such middling box office that it hardly figures in the popular imagination anymore.

Some have complained about AVP's characters, arguing that they're mere sketches compared to the colorful, indelible personalities that James Cameron provided us in "Aliens," and John McTiernan gave us in "Predator." While true, it's worth pointing out that the original "Alien" "suffers" from the same "problem," so much so that a defensive Ridley Scott once said, "The characters in 'Alien' are as defined as they need to be, no more and no less." Just as the characters in "Alien" were largely, nay, archetypically defined by their professions and their professionalism (or lack thereof), the characters in AVP are defined by their jobs and the proficiency with which they do them.

Some have also complained that many of AVP's characters are dispatched too quickly. However, that's part of what makes AVP interesting. It's a real throwback to horror films of yesteryear, films that weren't afraid to toss virtually everyone to the wolves. Just when you begin to think, "Oh, Anderson's spent too much time developing this character, giving him/her good lines and telling us stuff about his/her past, to just off him/her," that person buys it. It's delightfully perverse, and it's what the horror genre has historically been all about.

Then there are the complaints about the film's storyline, with some asserting that it's too simple (e.g. humans find buried pyramid; humans enter buried pyramid; sh*t hits fan) and others arguing that it overshoots the mark (e.g. humans enter buried pyramid and discover that it's remarkably complex, revealing all manner of information about the origins of human civilizations, namely that the titular Predators, much like the Monolith from "2001: A Space Odyssey," made a marked impact on the future course of homo sapiens long ago). But I had few problems with the film's premise. Even the rather silly, pulpy quality of AVP's grander narrative conceits didn't bother me that much. (Then again, such conceits didn't really bother me in "Stargate" either.) And the simpler aspects of AVP's plot were its strongest suits, for they grounded the movie in a kind of gritty, easily understood "reality," the kind of reality that was very effective in John Carpenter's better actioners, from "Assault on Precinct 13" to "Escape from New York."

Yes, it's true that AVP never achieves the epic heights of "Aliens," the best film from either franchise, a film so complex and dynamic that it required a running time of 137 minutes to tell its tale. But "Aliens" was, and remains, an exceedingly special film. "Aliens" is the like the filmic equivalent of one of those outsized rock songs from the 1970s, such as Led Zeppelin's "Stairway to Heaven"; AVP, at approximately 100 minutes in length, is more like a Ramones tune: short but sweet.

In fact, two of AVP's biggest problems seem to be the result of breakneck-speed sloppiness: 1. the Alien lifecycle is inexplicably abbreviated, with chestbursters making their nasty debuts in tens of minutes rather than tens of hours; 2. the Predators' long-range weapons (e.g. spears and throwing stars) are acid-resistant, yet their close-quarters materiel (e.g. wrist blades and body armor) are not.

Regarding Issue One: I've read that Anderson accounted for this in the film, explaining that the Predators had injected bizarre hormones into the Alien Queen they'd captured to seed their battlegrounds, causing the eggs she produced to contain embryos that matured far more quickly than usual. This expository material was allegedly ordered cut by Fox because they felt it needlessly slowed the pacing of the film. If true, Anderson must be given a pass by the legions of angry fanboys who've ripped him a new one over this.

Regarding Issue Two: According to fanboys familiar with the AVP comic books, this is explained therein thusly: the Predators must earn every acid-resistant armament they receive. So if the Preds in the AVP movie didn't have acid-resistant wrist blades or body armor, that's on them. But it's also on Anderson to have somehow explained this in his film. However, I'm willing to let Anderson slide here, as the best characters in AVP to have provided this explanation were the Preds themselves, a decidedly taciturn group of individuals.

All in all, AVP did its job. With the exception of a handful of (de rigueur) overly-jittery/super-slow shutter-speed shots in otherwise well-made action sequences, AVP is a polished piece of work. Thanks to Anderson's direction, the ADI FX Workshop was forced to abandon the Mr. Hanky-looking design of the creature from "Alien 3," as well as the beastly, overly slimy appearance of the extraterrestrials from "Alien Resurrection," and provide the silver screen with its best looking xenomorphs since 1986. Moreover, if you can't bring yourself to buy it when Sanaa Lathan's Lex throws in with and throws down alongside the last-standing Big Ugly Motherf*cker, nor get certifiably juiced when the Alien Queen finally extricates herself from Predator-imposed bondage and goes on an angry rampage worthy of a T-Rex in a "Jurassic Park" movie, then I'm afraid AVP simply isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


383 of 486 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film, like Alien 3, was BUTCHERED by 20th Century Fox, August 19, 2004
I just read a report of an interview with director Paul W.S. Anderson (director of AVP). He said quote "that all the best scenes were cut from the film." He also said that the movie was always going to be R-rated until the studio enforced a PG-13 rating 3 WEEKS before releasing the film. In addition to the violence and gore cut from the film, a sub-plot that further explained the plot was cut as well. If it had been in the film, the cut footage would have cleared up many continuity issues. For example, the sped up alien life cycle in this film is not a careless error at all; the machine that holds the alien queen captive also injects horomones and drugs in to her, speeding up the facehugger/chestburster process. The footage that was cut would have explained that and also would have given the characters more screen time. Director Paul W.S. Anderson also mentioned that the explosion at the end took up HALF of the 65 million dollar budget (which is ridiculously low for a film like this).

So when you see this film and end up hating it, dont blame the director. He made a film that, if it had been released in the original cut, would have pleased long time fans of the franchises. But instead, the studio made it PG-13 (so more people could see it) and cut out a lot of footage to make the film way too short (to fit in more screenings per day).

BUT, the changes the studio made are helping. Currently the film is making A LOT of money, mostly because of the PG-13 rating. This means that the studio will be more likely to greenlight AVP 2 or, more importantly, ALIEN 5. But try to realize that if the film had been released in the original uncut version, it probably would've only made half the money the current cut has because not as many people would have been able to see it.

Luckily, an R-rated Director's cut WILL be released on DVD sometime in the future. This edition will up all the violence and gore to an R-rated level (all the off screen deaths will now be ON-screen as originally filmed) and add in an additional sub-plot that will clear up continuity issues, give the characters more screen time, and make the plot development clearer. As a long time fan of the original 6 R rated movies, I was ECSTATIC to hear this.

Unfortunately, movies aren't made to be good anymore. They're made to make money, and AVP is doing that right now. So when you see this film, know that you aren't seeing the final version of the film. But PLEASE see it because it needs all the money it can make. And also, PLEASE buy the director's cut DVD when it comes out because its gonna kick a**.

The website that containes the link to the original report can be found here:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Director's Cut this ain't..., March 19, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When Aliens vs Predator originally came to DVD I decided to hold off on getting it. Interviews of the movie's director indicated that this was not exactly what he had in mind when he made it, mainly because the studio executives told him to chop it down to a PG-13 90-minute movie instead of the R rated two hour one he made. Despite the decision resulting in AvP making a good showing at the box office, the movie itself could have been better. Knowing this, I was waiting for the Director's Cut to come out on DVD.

Well, it looks like I jumped too soon. This is NOT the actual Director's Cut, but instead a Special Edition with about thirty seconds of new material added in to make it just a wee bit more bloody, (or as best as I can tell that is). There is nothing new to the story. There are no new scenes. Nor are there any of the explanations or missing sub-plot the Director mentioned. Overall, I'm more than a little disapointed in this DVD because it's not what it should have been. For obvious reasons, the thing doesn't even have a comentary from the Director either.

On its own merits, Aliens vs Predator is a 3-star flick... average at best. It's not bad, but it's not all that great. But should they come out with a REAL Director's Cut with all the stuff they chopped out to make it more appealing the the masses, odds are I'll buy that one too, but I'll be more cautious next should they try to re-bag the same movie again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AVP VIP, January 29, 2005
As a moderate fan of this film's predecessors - namely the "Alien" series - I was eager to see this mighty-idea-of-a-flick long ago when Internet promotion flourished as much as a year before the film's theatrical release. It's a mammoth undertaking to bring two screen legends to one place at one time - left to duke it out until the best, or most ugly, man/thing is standing. It happened nearly two years earlier with the successful "Freddie Vs. Jason", which went on to slash away a whopping $82.2 million dollars from US theater goers; plus it was surprisingly effective, ultra bloody, and even a bit scary. "Alien Vs. Predator" grossed a couple million less, but made up for it with a far-sturdier script and dazzling special effects display.

The screenplay is well-below prolific, but as far as monster movies go it should win the Monster Oscar. The dialogue is not jerky or forced, the settings are SMART (thank goodness it's set in present day, on Earth, and not on some unbelievable distant planet or some floating space ship - we've reverted to ancient history rather than space-age fiction), and the development and flow is speedy and quick with enough suspense in just the right places. The writers deserve a loft paycheck for making such an unlikely meeting so much fun to watch, weaving the two movie franchises together (with direct assistance from the comic book, no doubt), and paying attention to plot and dialogue when other script writers would have relied solely on gore to sustain the movie.

The acting is less-than-impressive, but, again, the film creators were on-task to assist. Writer/director Paul W.S. Anderson along with a team of 6 other contributing scriptees excelled so astoundingly that they pumped enough appeal and energy into their cast - helping to elevate them from "B" movie actors to "B+" actors with the flip of a pen and the turn of a lens. Sigourney Weaver is painfully absent (as a prequel, her character hadn't been born yet), but Arnold Schwarzenegger is thankfully M.I.A. (Though it might have been fun to see Weaver cream Arnold's butt.)

The cinematography is unexpectedly progressive and smooth. The camera movements, lighting, and set design are smart and efficient. The special effects are some of the best I've ever seen, and certainly more convincing and impressive than any of this film's ancestors. The long-headed, saliva-toothed Aliens are more alive than I've seen them before (mama Alien even comes out to run amuck this time), and Mr. Predator's dreadlocks have never looked more lively and quick. The scenes in the ancient, underground pyramid get a bit too monotonous after a time, and the repetitive far-off eerie sounds (oh my we should be scared!) aren't as effective or as chilling as they ought to be, but you can't help but feel an impeccable rush of adrenalin when the two vile foes come face to face time and again.

Now that it's on DVD, see it.

Grade: C+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone just settle down, please..., January 26, 2005
I love it when a mediocre sci-fi movie like AVP comes out and people who write internet reviews use thousands of words to eviscerate it as if it was filmed with the specific intent of offending them and them alone. Look, anybody who went into this movie hoping for high art can't be expected to review it competently. Now, because I myself had such low expectations, I was pleasantly surprised that this turned out to be an entertaining movie. And that is precisely what AVP is supposed to be: mindless entertainment. Paul W.S. Anderson is not and will never be considered a great writer or director, but he obviously enjoys what he does and I think that enthusiasm translates to his films. In all honesty, I think Anderson missed his true calling and should have gone into comic books because every one of his films feels like a live action comic book. Again, this isn't necessarily the end of the world so long as you watch a movie like AVP with that in mind. And this movie is indeed a comic book. It is rife with innaccurate facts and illogical propositions, but like most comics the movie is at least internally consistant in its faulty assertions. Now, some people were certainly disappointed that AVP was made in this way because it doesn't seem to make sense when held against the original Alien and Predator films. That is a very valid point, but these people forget that AVP is based on the series of stories done by Dark Horse Comics in the early 1990s. In fact, the oft mentioned Alien skull in the Predator ship in Predator 2 was only there because Dark Horse had released the first AVP comics a year or two earlier. It also bears mentioning that aside from the original AVP mini-series (which is one of the best Aliens or Predator storylines Dark Horse ever did) and the strangely fascinating yet largely incomprehensible "Deadliest of the Species" series written by Chris Cleremont (of X-Men fame), the bulk of the AVP titles were mediocre at best and pointless drivel at worst. Now, having said that, it does pain me that no one decided to simply adapt story of the original AVP mini-series for the screenplay (although some elements of that story, mainly the ritual scarring of the Predators and the strange respect/friendship between the Predator and the female main character, do appear in the movie). Of course, I said the same thing about the third Alien movie as well since the first three Aliens comics mini-series' by Dark Horse were fantastic.

Anyway, this movie is not as bad as some bitter Aliens/Predator fans would have you think even though it doesn't have a shred of the raw, cinematic power that infused the first two Alien films and both Predator movies. AVP has more in common with video game and comic book inspired action movies like The Chronicles of Riddick, Underworld, The Scorpion King, Van Helsing, and Anderson's previous film, Resident Evil, than it does with the Alien and Predator movies. Don't try to convince yourself that it's the fifth Alien movie or the third Predator movie and you won't come away with such a bad taste in your mouth. AVP is a reasonably entertaining movie, hence the average 3 star rating on a scale of Blade Runner (5) to Battlefield Earth (1). It's not a "must have" DVD by any stretch of the imagination, but it's a fun movie that's definately worth at least a rental. Just remember to check your more refined film sensibilites at the door and you'll be just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Weak 3 Stars...., March 4, 2006
Being a fan of the original Predator movie which I really enjoyed even though when Predator takes off his "armour mask", I've always said that that's the ugliest thing I've ever seen in a horror movie and I've seen hundreds and hundred of horror movies!!!!!! and being a fan of the Alien movies, which to me were much better having Sigourney Weaver in them. I don't think another actress could have played her role any better. Ok, having liked both movies, I eagerly awaited this movie to see the showdown between these 2 creatures.... kinda like Freddy vs. Jason. For being rated PG-13, I thought this movie was good, especially the special effects. I wish it would have been rated R however. I heard several gory scenes were left out giving it the PG-13 rating. Without going into all the details of the movie.... basically, an expidition to Antarctica finds a dwelling ground where the aliens live and we find the predators wanting to "move in". Ultimately, we see the "showdown" between Alien vs. Predator and the movie keeps you guessing as to who the winner will be.. if there is one. To me, this movie isn't as bad as reviews have said it is but there will always be a difference of opinions! Worth renting even if you have never seen any of the Predator or Alien movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, September 14, 2010
By 
This movie is far better than these reviews indicate. I think expectations were too high when it first came out. The lead female actress was fantastic, as was most of the cast. The special effects were top notch. The fight scenes were awesome! They did stretch out how quickly the aliens are hatched and mature, it's true, but this I could easily forgive. I have watched this flick about 7 times now, and I still enjoy it. In my view, this film strengthens both the Predator and Alien series. If you liked either/any of those movies, you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just to let you know, September 8, 2007
I just wanted to share this with customers. If you buy a copy of AvP with the Predator on the left side then it contains the Director's Cut and the PG-13 version. If you buy the copy with the Alien on the left, it is the PG-13 version only. I hope this helps some users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alien vs. Predator [UMD for PSP]
Alien vs. Predator [UMD for PSP] by Paul W.S. Anderson (UMD for PSP - 2006)
Used & New from: $3.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.