Customer Reviews


703 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (153)
2 star:
 (90)
1 star:
 (125)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray of AVP DOES have the unrated cut.
Blu Ray review:

The Biggest thing about this BD of AVP that is consistently not mentioned is that the BD contains BOTH the PG-13 theatrical cut AND the unrated directors cut of the film. Amazon only lists the disc as the PG-13 version, and even an external BD review site failed to mention the inclusion of the unrated cut. So if you've wanted to get AVP on BD...
Published on February 7, 2009 by J. D. Schart

versus
382 of 484 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film, like Alien 3, was BUTCHERED by 20th Century Fox
I just read a report of an interview with director Paul W.S. Anderson (director of AVP). He said quote "that all the best scenes were cut from the film." He also said that the movie was always going to be R-rated until the studio enforced a PG-13 rating 3 WEEKS before releasing the film. In addition to the violence and gore cut from the film, a sub-plot that further...
Published on August 19, 2004 by J. F. Cramer


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray of AVP DOES have the unrated cut., February 7, 2009
By 
Blu Ray review:

The Biggest thing about this BD of AVP that is consistently not mentioned is that the BD contains BOTH the PG-13 theatrical cut AND the unrated directors cut of the film. Amazon only lists the disc as the PG-13 version, and even an external BD review site failed to mention the inclusion of the unrated cut. So if you've wanted to get AVP on BD and haven't due to a lack of the unrated cut, fear not, it's on the disc.

Video quality is good. It's not the best picture I've seen, but it's nowhere near the worst. Definitely better than the DVD 4/5 overall

Sound is good as well. Just like video, it's not the best, but it's not the worst. Choices are DTS-HD 5.1 (4-4.6 mbps) in English. French and Spanish in Regular Dolby Digital 5.1 (not HD audio). Overall a 4/5 for the DTS-HD track.

This review isn't about the movie itself, nor is it meant to be all-inclusive. My main reason for writing the review is that the unrated cut isn't advertised by anyone it seems in regards to being on the BD version and that is a big deal to me. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Defense of AVP, May 22, 2005
By 
Glenn X (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
While most critics have dripped acid on Paul Anderson's "Alien vs. Predator," apparently due to prima facie objections to the very idea of a non-courtroom-drama with the word "versus" in the title, I was pleasantly surprised by AVP.

Is AVP as great as 1986's "Aliens"? Nope. But I think comparing AVP to "Aliens" is to employ the wrong standard. AVP is not competing with that film, in much the same way that "Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country" was not competing with the sensational "Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan." No, "Star Trek VI" was competing with the largely reviled "Star Trek V: The Final Frontier." Similarly, AVP is really competing with the oppressively dark, fundamentally unappealing "Alien 3" and strangely goofy, utterly unexciting "Alien Resurrection"; the last Predator movie, 1990's "Predator 2," was released so long ago and did such middling box office that it hardly figures in the popular imagination anymore.

Some have complained about AVP's characters, arguing that they're mere sketches compared to the colorful, indelible personalities that James Cameron provided us in "Aliens," and John McTiernan gave us in "Predator." While true, it's worth pointing out that the original "Alien" "suffers" from the same "problem," so much so that a defensive Ridley Scott once said, "The characters in 'Alien' are as defined as they need to be, no more and no less." Just as the characters in "Alien" were largely, nay, archetypically defined by their professions and their professionalism (or lack thereof), the characters in AVP are defined by their jobs and the proficiency with which they do them.

Some have also complained that many of AVP's characters are dispatched too quickly. However, that's part of what makes AVP interesting. It's a real throwback to horror films of yesteryear, films that weren't afraid to toss virtually everyone to the wolves. Just when you begin to think, "Oh, Anderson's spent too much time developing this character, giving him/her good lines and telling us stuff about his/her past, to just off him/her," that person buys it. It's delightfully perverse, and it's what the horror genre has historically been all about.

Then there are the complaints about the film's storyline, with some asserting that it's too simple (e.g. humans find buried pyramid; humans enter buried pyramid; sh*t hits fan) and others arguing that it overshoots the mark (e.g. humans enter buried pyramid and discover that it's remarkably complex, revealing all manner of information about the origins of human civilizations, namely that the titular Predators, much like the Monolith from "2001: A Space Odyssey," made a marked impact on the future course of homo sapiens long ago). But I had few problems with the film's premise. Even the rather silly, pulpy quality of AVP's grander narrative conceits didn't bother me that much. (Then again, such conceits didn't really bother me in "Stargate" either.) And the simpler aspects of AVP's plot were its strongest suits, for they grounded the movie in a kind of gritty, easily understood "reality," the kind of reality that was very effective in John Carpenter's better actioners, from "Assault on Precinct 13" to "Escape from New York."

Yes, it's true that AVP never achieves the epic heights of "Aliens," the best film from either franchise, a film so complex and dynamic that it required a running time of 137 minutes to tell its tale. But "Aliens" was, and remains, an exceedingly special film. "Aliens" is the like the filmic equivalent of one of those outsized rock songs from the 1970s, such as Led Zeppelin's "Stairway to Heaven"; AVP, at approximately 100 minutes in length, is more like a Ramones tune: short but sweet.

In fact, two of AVP's biggest problems seem to be the result of breakneck-speed sloppiness: 1. the Alien lifecycle is inexplicably abbreviated, with chestbursters making their nasty debuts in tens of minutes rather than tens of hours; 2. the Predators' long-range weapons (e.g. spears and throwing stars) are acid-resistant, yet their close-quarters materiel (e.g. wrist blades and body armor) are not.

Regarding Issue One: I've read that Anderson accounted for this in the film, explaining that the Predators had injected bizarre hormones into the Alien Queen they'd captured to seed their battlegrounds, causing the eggs she produced to contain embryos that matured far more quickly than usual. This expository material was allegedly ordered cut by Fox because they felt it needlessly slowed the pacing of the film. If true, Anderson must be given a pass by the legions of angry fanboys who've ripped him a new one over this.

Regarding Issue Two: According to fanboys familiar with the AVP comic books, this is explained therein thusly: the Predators must earn every acid-resistant armament they receive. So if the Preds in the AVP movie didn't have acid-resistant wrist blades or body armor, that's on them. But it's also on Anderson to have somehow explained this in his film. However, I'm willing to let Anderson slide here, as the best characters in AVP to have provided this explanation were the Preds themselves, a decidedly taciturn group of individuals.

All in all, AVP did its job. With the exception of a handful of (de rigueur) overly-jittery/super-slow shutter-speed shots in otherwise well-made action sequences, AVP is a polished piece of work. Thanks to Anderson's direction, the ADI FX Workshop was forced to abandon the Mr. Hanky-looking design of the creature from "Alien 3," as well as the beastly, overly slimy appearance of the extraterrestrials from "Alien Resurrection," and provide the silver screen with its best looking xenomorphs since 1986. Moreover, if you can't bring yourself to buy it when Sanaa Lathan's Lex throws in with and throws down alongside the last-standing Big Ugly Motherf*cker, nor get certifiably juiced when the Alien Queen finally extricates herself from Predator-imposed bondage and goes on an angry rampage worthy of a T-Rex in a "Jurassic Park" movie, then I'm afraid AVP simply isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Theatrical Release, but not by much., November 23, 2005
For those of you who see "AVP Unrated" and think "Blood, Gore, Language, Violence, and Nudity"...THINK AGAIN!

Where there was a few flecks of blood, there is now a gallon. Where there were two "campy" scenes, there is now only one, But this is not even an "R" rating version of the film, evidenced further by the PG-13 rating on the back of the DVD case.

This fild should have stuck with the "Director's Cut" name and cut out the "Unrated" label, since in my opinion it does not deserve it. If you can swallow the plausability of the story even a litte bit, the this version is more serious and bloodier than the theatrical release, but not by much. "Campy" scenes still abound. Extra footage, edited in Deleted scenes from the Theatrical DVD version and a few other scene changes make this version a lot more fun to own than the first, but hard core fans of the original movies may still find this title a little wimpy.

With all that negative feedback out of the way, if you take a more objective, "outside the box" outlook on the film, it is fun and is a good mix of sci-fi and action. I would heartilly recommend this version over the standard AVP Theatrical version, and you will pretty much find all the original Theatrical DVD Extras included in this edition as well. (Commentaries, Making of featurette, etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


382 of 484 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film, like Alien 3, was BUTCHERED by 20th Century Fox, August 19, 2004
I just read a report of an interview with director Paul W.S. Anderson (director of AVP). He said quote "that all the best scenes were cut from the film." He also said that the movie was always going to be R-rated until the studio enforced a PG-13 rating 3 WEEKS before releasing the film. In addition to the violence and gore cut from the film, a sub-plot that further explained the plot was cut as well. If it had been in the film, the cut footage would have cleared up many continuity issues. For example, the sped up alien life cycle in this film is not a careless error at all; the machine that holds the alien queen captive also injects horomones and drugs in to her, speeding up the facehugger/chestburster process. The footage that was cut would have explained that and also would have given the characters more screen time. Director Paul W.S. Anderson also mentioned that the explosion at the end took up HALF of the 65 million dollar budget (which is ridiculously low for a film like this).

So when you see this film and end up hating it, dont blame the director. He made a film that, if it had been released in the original cut, would have pleased long time fans of the franchises. But instead, the studio made it PG-13 (so more people could see it) and cut out a lot of footage to make the film way too short (to fit in more screenings per day).

BUT, the changes the studio made are helping. Currently the film is making A LOT of money, mostly because of the PG-13 rating. This means that the studio will be more likely to greenlight AVP 2 or, more importantly, ALIEN 5. But try to realize that if the film had been released in the original uncut version, it probably would've only made half the money the current cut has because not as many people would have been able to see it.

Luckily, an R-rated Director's cut WILL be released on DVD sometime in the future. This edition will up all the violence and gore to an R-rated level (all the off screen deaths will now be ON-screen as originally filmed) and add in an additional sub-plot that will clear up continuity issues, give the characters more screen time, and make the plot development clearer. As a long time fan of the original 6 R rated movies, I was ECSTATIC to hear this.

Unfortunately, movies aren't made to be good anymore. They're made to make money, and AVP is doing that right now. So when you see this film, know that you aren't seeing the final version of the film. But PLEASE see it because it needs all the money it can make. And also, PLEASE buy the director's cut DVD when it comes out because its gonna kick a**.

The website that containes the link to the original report can be found here:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, September 14, 2010
By 
This movie is far better than these reviews indicate. I think expectations were too high when it first came out. The lead female actress was fantastic, as was most of the cast. The special effects were top notch. The fight scenes were awesome! They did stretch out how quickly the aliens are hatched and mature, it's true, but this I could easily forgive. I have watched this flick about 7 times now, and I still enjoy it. In my view, this film strengthens both the Predator and Alien series. If you liked either/any of those movies, you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great but still a fun movie and great Blu-Ray, February 9, 2007
For the most part I've actually liked most of the stuff that Paul Anderson has done; nothing amazing but still some decent stuff. So I wasn't ready to condemn this movie before I saw it in the theater. I was hoping he would do a lot more with this franchise than what this movie turned out to be but I still found it enjoyable enough to buy the DVD and now the Blu-Ray (I certainly feel it is a better film than the second Predator and the 3rd & 4th Aliens.)

The Blu-Ray includes the unrated/director's cut and the added scenes help explain some more of the story and is definitely the best version to watch.

The acting is pretty blah (with the A & P out-acting most of the humans) though Ewen Bremner is funny. But the action is really what this movie is about and there is plenty of action here and what I thought was a very good ending.

As for the Blu-Ray transfer, it is very good; the picture is very clear and the dark scenes (most of the movie) look very good. The soundtrack is also nice and the trivia extra feature is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just to let you know, September 8, 2007
I just wanted to share this with customers. If you buy a copy of AvP with the Predator on the left side then it contains the Director's Cut and the PG-13 version. If you buy the copy with the Alien on the left, it is the PG-13 version only. I hope this helps some users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Director's Cut this ain't..., March 19, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When Aliens vs Predator originally came to DVD I decided to hold off on getting it. Interviews of the movie's director indicated that this was not exactly what he had in mind when he made it, mainly because the studio executives told him to chop it down to a PG-13 90-minute movie instead of the R rated two hour one he made. Despite the decision resulting in AvP making a good showing at the box office, the movie itself could have been better. Knowing this, I was waiting for the Director's Cut to come out on DVD.

Well, it looks like I jumped too soon. This is NOT the actual Director's Cut, but instead a Special Edition with about thirty seconds of new material added in to make it just a wee bit more bloody, (or as best as I can tell that is). There is nothing new to the story. There are no new scenes. Nor are there any of the explanations or missing sub-plot the Director mentioned. Overall, I'm more than a little disapointed in this DVD because it's not what it should have been. For obvious reasons, the thing doesn't even have a comentary from the Director either.

On its own merits, Aliens vs Predator is a 3-star flick... average at best. It's not bad, but it's not all that great. But should they come out with a REAL Director's Cut with all the stuff they chopped out to make it more appealing the the masses, odds are I'll buy that one too, but I'll be more cautious next should they try to re-bag the same movie again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In Space, No One Can Hear You Gag, September 24, 2004
Well, waddya know. John Travolta, you can now breath a sigh of relief because "Alien Vs Predator" has risen to dethrone "Battlefield Earth" as the most ridiculous science-fiction-fightfest of the modern era. Between the mooncrater sized plot holes (the humans discerning thousands of years of history from a few lines of hieroglyphics was my favorite) to deconstructing six movies' worth of characterization in barely 90 minutes, this scriptless wonder was generating unintended laughs from the audience I was sharing this misery with. The actual fight scenes were so Bugs Bunny/Road Runner goofy that snickers were breaking out on a regular basis. You gotta love it when the Predator starts swinging an Alien around by the tail, like it was a loose cat.

Oh, by the way, this movie has more wardrobe malfunctions than a superbowl half-time extravaganza. The Predators have cloaks of invisibility that suddenly seem to give out during the last fifteen minutes. Same for their "I can see the little thing inside you" goggles. And if I was trapped alone in the night of an Antarctic winter, I'd really think I'd look like I was really COLD if I was dressed in a friggin' T-SHIRT! But I guess anything logical is not to be expected when the pyramid shifts every ten minutes - except near the end when the clock must have busted and allowed the passages to just move at random. Believe it or not THE SETS ARE THE MOST INTERESTING THING ABOUT THIS MOVIE!!!! (Thus saving this review from dropping to one star.)Even the sets are cribbed from somewhere else. If you see "AvP" when it makes its inevitable DVD Director's Cut appearance, think of "The Mummy" as the hapless humans scurry around this Alien Antfarm.

Do yourself a favor. Go rent the newly issued PREDATOR or the first two ALIEN movies if you want to remember exactly how good-old jump out of your chair sci-fi scares are created. Then pray that "Freddy Vs Alien Vs Jason Vs Predator Vs The Rugrats" isn't the next brilliant idea to puke out of the bowels of the current Hollywood scriptmill critter spitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Weak 3 Stars...., March 4, 2006
Being a fan of the original Predator movie which I really enjoyed even though when Predator takes off his "armour mask", I've always said that that's the ugliest thing I've ever seen in a horror movie and I've seen hundreds and hundred of horror movies!!!!!! and being a fan of the Alien movies, which to me were much better having Sigourney Weaver in them. I don't think another actress could have played her role any better. Ok, having liked both movies, I eagerly awaited this movie to see the showdown between these 2 creatures.... kinda like Freddy vs. Jason. For being rated PG-13, I thought this movie was good, especially the special effects. I wish it would have been rated R however. I heard several gory scenes were left out giving it the PG-13 rating. Without going into all the details of the movie.... basically, an expidition to Antarctica finds a dwelling ground where the aliens live and we find the predators wanting to "move in". Ultimately, we see the "showdown" between Alien vs. Predator and the movie keeps you guessing as to who the winner will be.. if there is one. To me, this movie isn't as bad as reviews have said it is but there will always be a difference of opinions! Worth renting even if you have never seen any of the Predator or Alien movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa57cd780)

This product

Alien vs. Predator [UMD for PSP]
Alien vs. Predator [UMD for PSP] by Paul W.S. Anderson (UMD for PSP - 2006)
Used & New from: $2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.