Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Aliens: Colonial Marines - Xbox 360
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 19, 2013
I don't think people would have been as upset about the game's quality if Gearbox did not show false demo's and footage claiming it to be the game you are going to get. This is not the game you saw in any of the trailers or demos. This is a small fraction of it that was pushed out to hopefully sell on the Alien name. I love the film Aliens, but this is a disgrace to it. The games "story" lasts around 5 hours with some of the worst Team mate and Enemy AI you will ever encounter. If you thought Aliens were scary in any way, this will completely change your opinion. They will just stand in front of you waiting to be shot or get caught on the wall or ceiling, unable to move until you kill them. Half the game you are not even fighting Aliens, you are fighting generic soldiers who wear baseball caps....no seriously someone thought a soldier in the future would wear a baseball cap.

Multiplayer doesn't fare much better. I play a lot of online games, but this one in particular has some of the worst lag I have ever seen. Aliens and Marines will be jumping all over the map making it nearly impossible to shoot or you may suddenly die with no one around you and have no idea what happened. There are 4 modes with 2-4 maps each. The best part is a Horde mode where you fend off Aliens...unfortunately that is not even released yet and will cost you an extra $15 if you want to unlock it from the disc.

Don't be fooled by any of the screenshots you see...they aren't really from this game. If you must play it rent it or buy it used for under $20. Otherwise skip this entirely and save yourself the time and money. Gearbox should be ashamed of how they handled the development and marketing of this game to take advantage of such a loving fan base.
1111 comments| 151 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
***NOTATION: "If ANYTHING about this review which I wrote after this game released was inaccurate this game's developers would not as of the date of this posting (posted this notation 5/2/2013) have a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT filed against them for the advertisement and distribution of this product. Sega and Gearbox Software currently have a class action lawsuit against them for this game, because this game IS THIS review". NOTATION ENDED 5/2/2013 12:15PM PT

A while back I wrote a review which stated "Developers give to professional game reviewing companies a piecemeal display of the actual product to review, and when the final product is sold based on those reviews it is NOT what was advertised".

Randy Pitchford the CEO of Gearbox Software originally worked for EA (Electronic Arts). When he created his own gaming company years after leaving EA, he and Gearbox Software earned credit for their reputation by creating "Borderlands". After earning a reputation in the gamin industry and community, THIS game right here that you are considering buying is the game that will remain in the minds of consumers when ever placing any faith in Randy Pitchford and Gearbox software ever again. Why? Because "if" you purchase this game you need to know "what" you are paying for. ANYTHING you read in this review is something that can be researched on the web, and found repeatedly by example after example.

Gameplay-
Horrid. The AI in this game destroys any and all hope of an enjoyable experience. Regularly while playing this game the "aliens" would fall through the floor, disappear through walls, get stuck in loopy animations throughout the environment, and would even (and this is just disgusting development) kill you AFTER they were nowhere near you because the game would try to auto-correct the AI location after the aforementioned and despite not being in the same room as you are the aliens would still do damage to you. In other words the alien that just fell through the floor is now somewhere in the data of the game swinging at you and killing you despite not really being in the same room youre in.

The AI of the good guys in this game has them running into walls, corners, standing in doorways blocking you, firing their guns at you, even got to the point where people who were programmed to help you were trapping you in corners of rooms while the aliens not even located there were killing you blocked in a corner. In one scene in a hanger bay, the aliens are falling from a ceiling all onto the the same spot atop of a dropship. From the dropship they are all jumping to the same location onto the floor... and falling through the floor into god only knows where. All I know is no matter where I was this transpired about 10-12 times before I went online to find out why.

Graphics-
BEFORE the actual product ("Aliens:Colonial Marines") was released Randy Pitchford was SHOWING the GAMEPLAY to everyone everywhere. Randy Pitchford showed the "footage from the actual game" albeit a "work in progress" to advertise this product. The things you see on the web that advertise this game ARE NOT IN THIS GAME. Everything that is a form of advertisement for this game from "Gearbox Software" is a LIE. The "in-game" footage that is all over the web being used to advertise this game is NOT IN THIS GAME. It is NOT WHAT YOU ARE GETTING if you buy this product. The graphics are absolutely the most horrid graphics Ive seen in 20 years of gaming.

The best way to describe the graphics in this game is this.
Imagine watching a low-resolution mpg on a PC from 1996. Only its interactive, and you can explore the environment by moving around. The pixelating, screen fracturing, jumpy environment... it literally appears as if your watching several puzzel pieces being moved if each puzzle piece made up a portion of your TV screen. tHE IMAGE FRAGMENTATION IS so bad that I literally HAD, and I mean HAD to STOP playing it.

Sound-
Its all sound bites. The actors from the original movie cannot be blamed for what was done to them in this product. Everything you hear in this game appears to be a "sound bite" from the movie "Aliens" minus some additional voice acting. The sound of the pulse rifles, the sound when an alien jumps on you, even the sound of the shotgun from the original movie "Aliens" appear to be recorded from the movie and poorly dubbed into this game. I EVEN found an app on my phone that had the sounds on it from an app that was out before the game and using Sony Vegas recorded the sounds from my phone app, then recorded the sounds from the captured gameplay and lined them up and found them to be... YES, identical.

Multiplayer-
No. I'm not going to even go there.

Overall-
**THIS game was advertised using footage from a product that Gearbox Software is not selling you. When you are looking at the actual footage of "what" Randy Pitchford is selling, and receive what he actually gives you, you will discover you have been flat out undeniably lied to. If you chose to give Randy Pitchford and Gearbox Software your money for this game, you are buying a game that was literally made somewhere between 5-9 months. Information has come out that this game was given to gearbox Software from Sega, Sega payed Gearbox Software a huge amount of money to finish this game, and Randy Pitchford took that money and sent the game to Timegate Studios (another company) and told Timegate to finish the game. As of the date of this posting a large group of individuals at Timegate have been fired/let-go that worked on "Aliens:Colonial Marines".***

The bottom line is simple here.

If you are out in the world and you are selling something YOU are responsible for selling it.
Randy Pitchford told us, showed us, and advertised to us what he ISNT SELLING.
If you buy this game you are buying a broken, poorly developed, horridly designed and miserably put together non-functional video game.

This is not a videogame.
This is a lie, and Randy Pitchford was the one out there telling it so he can have your money.

I know, because he took mine.
44 comments| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
Let me start off by saying I'm such a huge Aliens fan. I have one of the designs of the xenomorphs that Giger did tattooed as a sleeve on my arm, I love 'em. This game was something that I've been anxiously awaiting the release of. I woke up on release day to read how horrible this game was, the graphics, etc... but I still said that I'm an Aliens fan so I'll pick up my reserve of it and try to love it the best I can. Yeah...easier said than done. The graphics are beyond laughable. There is this canister on the ground that from a distance looks cool all lit up, something ala Dead Space the stomp containers...but when you get close to it, the lights are so pixelated and blocky that it doesn't even look like a light, it's terrible. Now apply that little detail to the rest of the game. It looks horribly unfinished, the mouths don't even move the right way when the characters talk. The dialogue is very stiff almost like people were held at gunpoint when reading their lines. The action is either predictable or stupid. There's no bullet detection when you shoot the aliens, they just got covered in their blood and fall over. The only redeeming part of this game is that my game stop gave me a full refund on it. Now, I don't hate it....but I wouldn't pay more than 20 dollars for this......WHICH is probably going to be sooner than later it will be that cheap. So I urge people to of course, gather your own opinion on this, but as a hardcore gamer and huge Aliens fan, this missed the mark by a few lightyears.
44 comments| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
I'm wondering what happened to that awesome WIP/Demo of ACM from 2011 E3 ?

youtube.com/watch?v=pyebULYg_vc&feature=youtu.be

Here same video from E3 compared with retail PC footage (Console versions look even worse than retail PC with framerate issues, full screen tearing and muddy low quality textures)

youtu.be/3z2qVebxlUo

I guess E3 presentation only existed especially prepared for that event because its not the same code Gearbox shipped on February 12th, not even close to it ! If you wanna understand at least fraction what was going on in those 6 years of development you need to read this post by one of Gearbox employes

reddit.com/r/LV426/comments/18ewf4/a_lot_of_you_are_rightfully_upset_at_the_final/

Basically what happened is complete NOTHING ! Whatever was done, not finished, not ready, not polished at the end Gearbox just "glued" together and probably even without passing any kinda QA just shoved it to the public and fans of the franchise... Shame on you Gearbox !

I am extremely disappointed triple A dev. studio practicing such a shoddy business model lying to its own fans/supporters with gameplay presentations and trailers that apparently never existed or never were intended to be a close to final code, because what I saw +year ago looked a lot better then what was served on a plate. $60 slap to the face !!!

If you support this title with full retail price and those stupid season passes I really feel sorry for you, basically you're sending message across the gaming industry saying it is ok to continue doing what they are doing and in case of Gearbox this is strike no. 2 because same thing happened to Duke Nukem Forever two years ago.

No matter if you are or not hardcore Aliens fan save yourself some money because two months from now this title will be most likely in bargain bin for $19.99
22 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
I have totally lost my faith in Gearbox, what they have done with Aliens:CM is a crime.
From the "actual footage" shown in the trailers to embargo on the reviews to outsourcing the game in general, they should be ashamed of themselves.

If Amazon were smart they would pull this product from their website for reason of it being defective.

I wish there was an option of rating a product with a sub-star because even giving it a half of one would be far too much.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
I got lured in for 2 reasons: it's Gearbox and it's Aliens.

Sadly, come to find out, much of the game was not made by Gearbox. There are at least 4 others dev teams listed in the opening credits. It's not unusual for a game to have more than 1 dev team working on it, but rarely are they all listed up front for all to see. What this means to me? Others devs were instrumental in the development process.

As for it being an Aliens game... it's really not. I know some have said they nailed the look and sounds of the films, but in this regard, I say they failed. Other than a few weapons and the titular alien, the game doesn't evoke Aliens at all.

Overall, it's a mediocre to bad shooter with ugly sound and visuals. It's super short with little to no replay value. If you're a hardcore Aliens fan, wait for a massive price drop. If not, pass altogether.
1313 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
The worst disappointment I've ever had playing a game. Do yourself a favor and stay far away. I love the alien franchise and this was just a huge slap in the face
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
I will have to agree with all the other reviewers. This game sucks. How in the world can people go to work every day, draw a paycheck and put a game like this out on the market? I had hoped for a little pride in a persons work. Maybe a little consideration for a person who is paying $60 plus tax for a game. If those people at Gearbox had any character, they would refund everyones money and say they were sorry. R. Lee, Rochester, NY
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
Well now that I've had the chance to play through the campaign and do more multiplayer over the weekend, heres the rundown by section.

1. Audio - Surprisingly one of the bright spots of the game. Incorporating the Aliens original soundtrack made it at least "feel" immersive. Even those spots where something crashes in the darkness or moves quickly out of sight and you hear that orchestra pipe up was nice. I played with my turtle beach headphones and it definitely gave it a good feel. Scenes where the music came up got you pumped up for whatever was coming.

2. Graphics - Well... as with alot of us who saw that 11 minute demo stating "Work in Progress" on the screen and saw how sharp the effects were with the Pulse Rifle, fire effects and the level of detail on the aliens themselves made us crave it. I just could not believe how unfinished the levels looked once I got deeper in to the game. The computer consoles that are showing information, although irrelevant, look so blurred and distorted it looks like it was airbrushed. The alien "webbing", that black stuff that is coated all over the walls and ceilings looks more like chocolate fudge was thrown on walls. It looks nothing like the demos we were shown at all. The lights and reflective surfaces look downright awful. Your weapons you wield look sharp and have good detail, but aside from that the rest of the game is unpolished at best. A graphics update (moreso a major overhaul to even update them) is highly needed. Even playing on my 60" 1080P with HDMI the graphics are subpar, thats just not acceptable. The cutscenes while good, are horribly laced with issues like screen tearing and graphics lag. Cutscenes like that are usually rendered 30FPS or more (the human eye only discerns up to 30FPS) and that makes those scenes very smooth. These seem like they were cut together quickly to fill in gaps and would run probably at maybe 18-21FPS. Very bad indeed.

3. AI - At times the teammate AI is helpful, but suffers from bugs like getting caught in doorways, walls and sometimes I had one just get flat out stuck while walking. Usually as you progress the AI will "warp" to your location to fix this which is fine, just not a good thing to see. Enemy AI isn't too bad really. They will try to swarm you, jump away from fire and regroup and come at you or try to use the environment to go around and flank you (although it rarely happens which keeps most of the action right in front of you without having to turn around and watch your back) and takes some of the suspense out of their attacks. An AI update is more than welcome to fix these issues if it ever happens. Gun targeting was shoddy. You could have a Wey-Yu merc or Alien centered on the pulse rifle and have to almost empty a clip to take it down. Seems like the AI hit boxes were never really squared away properly and was very hit or miss on targeting. The smart gun (when you use it) is the only thing that felt on point as when you were locked on and fire it, you decimated the alien into an acid splatter pool.

4. Story - For being marked as "Canon" ... I can't explain this one. I won't go into spoilers but those who've played through probably did a "wtf" like I did at a certain point. It starts out good, but it just gets lost and seems like it couldn't get back on its feet at any point later on. Just to add... fighting Wey-Yu Mercs was painful in that you could unload half a clip with them dead centered in your sights and still not hit them. The marine "bravado" dialogue in this game is horribly filled with non-sensical jargon that doesn't fit with the scene or events taking place at that point in time. Certain parts, yes... most everything else... no. The cast of characters was interesting but they soon became just bit parts of a story lost on itself. I felt no connection to anyone and didn't really care what happened to who as we went along. Thats shameful for any game but moreso for a franchise like Aliens which the films made you feel a connection for those marines trying to survive a desparate situation in the movie.

5. Multiplayer - The part where they got it right. This part of the game feels like a Gearbox title as they did such a great job with BL2 coop. Seems like this is the only part of the game they developed as it felt fleshed out, interesting and creative. Leveling up your Marine or Xeno and using the loadouts was nice and with a ranking system as well. Playing as an alien is alot of fun, just don't go off on your own. I liked to lure marines into areas and since you can walk/crawl on walls and ceilings, make use of them. Drop behind and bam! You can really have alot of fun just with the MP aspect of this title.

In review.. this game had so much going for it yet it really fell apart. The one redeeming part is its MP. Otherwise, this is definitely not a $60 AAA title by any means. If they perhaps issue some patches to update the graphics, AI it would at least be respectable.

I would say this is a $14.99-$19.99 title. Not a full price buy.

(I played this on the Xbox 360, not PC).
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
The only good that can come from this game is the multiplayer & the customization. That's it. The rest is just a poor attempt to make a game. The "Aliens: INFESTATION" for the DS is better than this game by a mile and it has lesser graphics/is a side scroller lol. They shoulda got Ubisoft to work on the game...wtf were they thinking getting SEGA for? lol
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.