Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great behind the scenes info...
This book, much like the original AVP art book, is perfect for anyone who finds the process of monster making fascinating as well as the movies they inhabit.

Very cool behind the scenes art, exposition, and photography illustrates the creative process that brought the creatures to life. A must for any fan of either series, or monster fans in general.
Published on April 14, 2008 by Michael Rook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cover fell off :(
Great book, but the cover came unglued on the spine and just fell off :( great looking book with lots of great pics.
Published 15 months ago by Paul Alvis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great behind the scenes info..., April 14, 2008
This book, much like the original AVP art book, is perfect for anyone who finds the process of monster making fascinating as well as the movies they inhabit.

Very cool behind the scenes art, exposition, and photography illustrates the creative process that brought the creatures to life. A must for any fan of either series, or monster fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for fans and pros, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fun to flip through as a professional or fan. I am both a model maker and a huge fan of the original franchises. While the film was hands down the weakest of all Alien, Predator & AVP films, the cinematography and effects were striking. There is plenty of photo fodder pre and post production, with practical effects displayed in juicy, colorful detail & explained simply from conceptualization to production. The films redeeming factor is basically this book. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great behind the scenes title, May 15, 2011
I loved the first one, and I loved the second one. It's mindless entertainment, I agree, but seeing all the creativity and work that goes into making the creatures seem life like is amazing. I liked this as much as the first title, The Creature Effects of ADI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing amount of depth, November 25, 2008
Length:: 0:20 Mins

------------------------------------------------------------------

This message is for people looking for the "Alien Race" art book published by Design Studio Press. Amazon is having some problem listing the book so you're seeing the wrong review from another book.

To read my review on "Alien Race", just visit the link in the comment section.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Below's the review for "Aliens vs. Predator Requiem Inside the Monster Shop".

If you enjoyed the first making-of book Aliens vs Predator: Creature Effects of ADI, this book has plenty to offer.

Included are hundreds of photos and captions detailing how scenes in the movie were shot, such as what's used on location. This book is like a production diary explaining the things that happen during shooting.

The second half of the book is more interesting. There are sketches, photos and miniatures showing how the creatures and weapons in the movie were made. The photos are high resolution and zoomed in close to show subtle details.

There are captions all along, same goes for every page of the book. It's an incredibly in depth look behind the scenes.

(More pictures are available on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fx work!, July 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book give justice to a great work in design and visual effects, more thand the movie did. At the end: AVP2 was a bad movie, with great effects, with great design and here the design and fx production process are very well reported. Great book and art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cover fell off :(, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aliens Vs. Predator: Requiem: Inside the Monster Shop (Paperback)
Great book, but the cover came unglued on the spine and just fell off :( great looking book with lots of great pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book!, July 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aliens Vs. Predator: Requiem: Inside the Monster Shop (Paperback)
This book is simply amazing! i loved the movie and i love this book! so many great pictures and looks behnd the scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can you go wrong with an artbook?, September 3, 2009
By 
Caetis "Caetis" (Portland, Or United States) - See all my reviews
For someone like me, these are invaluable, being an artist myself. I've been in love with the Predator films since I was a kid, and Aliens was the first film I ever saw, as a young lad of 5 at the drive in. It sparked in me a deep need to be a part of something bigger, and as I have made my way through school, and into the real world now, actually making films, I find that inspiration is still something that can not only be gained everywhere, but most especially by the things you remember as a kid.
I will always remember these films, and this look into what went into making them, from sculpting the creatures, to designing them and the concept art behind it, is an invaluable tool. All of the pictures are accompanied by an explanation, which is wonderful in gleening an inside glimpse into just what went into making it, be it materials, time, or some tool you never thought to use.
I highly recommend this for anyone that even remotely loves these series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this, July 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this item for my daughter because she loves predator and aliens, etc. Well we got the book and it was in a package with clear plastic wrap on it. Well soon I found out why. When you take the plastic off and open the book to look at it, the book detaches from the binding, just falls apart! I sent it back once and got a new one hoping it would not do it again but lo and behold, the second one did the same thing. Dont buy this product, it is made very poorly and kids will be disappointed. We kept it and my husband glued it with some special glue he had because she was broken hearted and I didnt have the heart to send it back for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Aliens Vs. Predator: Requiem: Inside the Monster Shop
Aliens Vs. Predator: Requiem: Inside the Monster Shop by Alec Gillis (Paperback - December 1, 2007)
$24.95 $20.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.