Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: All Else Failed
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 7, 2004
This is an album people would either love or hate, and much of the disagreement is related with the preference over which singer-- Dan Weyandt or Eric Reeder. Personally, I think this CD should not be seen as a target for comparison but a simple rerelease that adds a new dimension of listening to what was already a successful album.
Objectively, All Else Failed is a dark, heavy, spiritual album with roaring vocals by Dan Weyandt and guitars that add some clarity to the disoriented tunes of hardcore. The whole package is artistic, especially with the addition of the mysterious and ironic outro. For Christians reading this review, the outro somewhat reminds me of the Book of Job where the rain and thunder symbolize struggle, and the laughter at the end symbolize that it was all a test.
This CD is probably suited for Zao fans. If you're new to Zao, you're probably better off buying other albums by the band like "Liberate Te Ex Fenris" or preferably the greatest hits compilation, "Legendary".
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2003
I'm glas they re-recorded there old stuff, because this is alot better than the first and I think Zao has vastly improved over the years, so if you have any common sense, you'll buy this now, especially if you want REAL hardcore/death metal CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2003
All Else Failed. The 1st full-length Zao album. Although there were EP's, this started it all. Now it's back with Zao's newest and "final" line-up of Jesse, Scott and Dan. If you have heard the original, this has definitly a more metal sound then before. Although Jesse's drumming was no were near as technical in the original, it's far better then his work on Parade of Chaos. Although I shouldn't really be commenting on his dumming, he's one of the best. And I have to say, Dan's vocal diversity on this album is incredible. He goes back to his older high-pitched shrieks, then to his deeper more throaty growls like those in "Self-Titled". The only downside is that there are only 8 songs. They're all amazing of course, and it still manages to hit over 44 minutes despite the lack of tracks. All in all, it's a great buy, especially for those who didn't like Shawn Jonas' vocals in the original. I personally liked them, but thats just me. Anyways, if you like Zao, buy it, if you haven't heard Zao, buy Where Blood and Fire Bring Rest.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2008
Zao covering Zao... thats what this album is (The band has gone through several member changes where they now have NO ORIGINAL members). The original is far better than this and these are not my words THEY'RE THE BANDS! They did not want to do this album at all and they barely learned the songs to it hoping they didn't have to record it. Why did they do that? Because they thought the original recordings were OUTSTANDING and when you compare the two THEY'RE RIGHT! This album has a lot of slow chugging and mediocre drumming. If you want to hear the amazing guitars and drums that made Zao what it is get SPLINTER SHARDS THE BIRTH OF SEPARATION! Jesse Smith (the original drummer who did both recordings) sounds so much better on the original (faster, more complex, and just all around solid drumming. Take it from the band: THE ORIGINAL IS SOOO MUCH BETTER!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2008
If you think they sound the same as the Zao today, they don't. It's kind of like a while different band. Don't think I don't like this CD and songs, I love them and I think this is one of the best Albums ever made. I'd definitely recommend this CD to anyone. I'm just saying though, don't expect them to be the same Zao as today. When this album was made, all the original members were still in Zao. With the latest album(The Fear is what Keeps Us Here, which is great, there are no original members. So, it actually is a whole new band.

So:
- Great Songs
- Great members
- Amazing sound
- Good genre

All and all, it's a great CD, you all should buy a copy. ZAO FOR LIFE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
if you did not like this album you do not deserve to call yourself a Zao fan. i just wish i could bve able to give 6 stars....very very good work. iafter hearing this, there was no regret in my heart for paying retail price for this album, i agree that the downside was that there was only 8 tracks, and there was a RRRRRRRRRREALLY long wait for this album. i just hope that Zao also remakes The "Splinter Shards the Birth of Separation" EP and the very rare "Outcast" demo. very very VERY good work guys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2003
This is a remake of the original with Dan Weydant doing vocals (and I assume bass too because he is the bass player in his new band), Scott Mellinger on guitar, and Jesse Smith (as always) on drums. The albums sounds like "Parade of Chaos" but with the old music. It is nice, but almost nothing like the original. The songs are slower and much more metalcore-ish than hardcore. That said, I love Dan Weydant's vocal style and the album is much "heavier" than the original so it is worth getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2003
i can tell that all the people at cornerstone are going to have some fun with this, but we need more songs! dont get me wronge,ZAO is one of the greatest bands ever. with the wicked lyrics and crazy guitar rifs, they paved the way for any band to come after them. this still isnt one of the best zao cd's but like all of them they are all awsome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2003
All else failed was better the first time for sure, but this was a fairly good album. Most of the songs are a lot slower then to original, and the vocals have that computer sound that At Zero had. All in all it's gets a 4
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2003
Man I just got the Remasterd (3) of All Else Failed, I think the newer Band gives it a great life, and new sound. I think it is sad That ZAO broke up again, I really would like to see em get back together and RE-cover the other two older albums and see what they come out like.
I would defantly recomend this to ANY ZAO fans out there, Fans of the old and new ZAO should love this album, remake or not. it is not the same thing as some may think, I was expecting it just to have a different voise, but the whole thing is new, New singer, new Guitars, just everything Really well done!
ROCK ON ZAO!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.