Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick Lit goes Bizarro
All Encompassing Trip explores the age-old question of "What five CDs would you want to be stuck on a desert island with?" when its main character, Nikki, finds herself transported to an alternate version of our world where the only music that she has to listen to are the three desert island disks that she's able to make up her mind about. Nikki must complete certain...
Published on May 12, 2007 by Bradley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bizarro
Nikki our main character takes us a wild journey in an alternate world of ours. Her best friend by her side and a dog wearing a doo rag as their guidance. Oprah and American Idol re-runs all day darkness, and bizarre things.
Overall the story has its ups and Downs. Filled with laughter recommend for stay at home moms.
Published on September 20, 2011 by Donald Armfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick Lit goes Bizarro, May 12, 2007
By 
Bradley (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
All Encompassing Trip explores the age-old question of "What five CDs would you want to be stuck on a desert island with?" when its main character, Nikki, finds herself transported to an alternate version of our world where the only music that she has to listen to are the three desert island disks that she's able to make up her mind about. Nikki must complete certain tasks in order for her life to return to normal. But why would Nikki want to go back to the mundanities of our world when she has the fantasy world of Del Sesto's vast imagination to have adventures in? It probably has something to do with the extinction of light and coffee, the disappearance of any useful object that Nikki tries to put her hand on, and the Lucky Charms cereal reject that wants to pop her eyes out of her sockets.

All Encompassing Trip entertained me from start to finish and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an entertaining trip, August 1, 2007
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
What a trip...

The main character of this book, Nikki, wakes up one morning and the world is completely dark. Everything she touches disappears (well, except for the things that were on her bed while she slept) nobody can see her, she can't make coffee, and there is a (British) talking coyote on her front steps. This is how the book begins, and it only gets crazier from there.

Nikki is neurotic, intelligent and obsessive; yet she's completely adorable and has so much of each and every one of us within her. Her best friend Amber is a more down to earth and organized woman, who helps to balance Nikki's chaos and help them through their journey. Ultimately this book is about self discovery, but there are a lot of entertaining things that happen on the way to reaching that point. Nikki finds out at the start of the story that there are a series of tasks she needs to complete before her world can resume its normalcy. Part of the task is even figuring out what the tasks are, since Lefty, her talking coyote companion only sings segments of songs as hints. Nikki needs to decipher his messages and complete these tasks, all while staying one step ahead of Luke, the bad guy, who wants Nikki's eyeballs. Seriously.

I can't even begin to sum this book up accurately--you need to read it for yourself. I was giggling by the end of the first page, and I honestly didn't stop until the last page. It's creative, original and highly entertaining. I recommend it to any of you who enjoy something a little different...think Douglas Adams ("The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy) meets Christopher Moore (highly satirical author) and you have Nicole Del Sesto
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trip the Light Fantastic, April 12, 2007
By 
Lisa Murray (Norfolk, VA , (sometimes known as Tidewater)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
So, you wake up one morning to discover it is dark, you can`t make any coffee, and there is a coyote wearing a do-rag on your porch. Oh, and a very tall, bald green man in your backyard. This is the beginning of All Encompassing Trip, and what a journey it is.

All Encompassing Trip is richly imagined. Nicole Del Sesto, in addition to a hugely creative mind, has a delightful sense of humor. She has penned a fun adventure that takes Nikki and her friend Amber from California to Chicgo, Disneyland and San Francisco. Their reality is populated by an assortment of characters, each of whom is quirky and almost iconic.

Del Sestos prose is snappy and entertaining. Parenthetical asides spice up the story and many are water-out-the-nose funny. What impressed me more, however, is the author`s sense of the world, women, and life`s journey. Wake up. Seek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremedously entertaining, June 14, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
This is such a fun and addicting book. Nikki goes on quite a ride on her quest to bring light back to the world. The three main characters are wonderful. My personal favorite is good old Lefty, the do-rag wearing coyote that sings clues throughout the journey. Close on their heels is a seven and half foot Rastafarian with his evil leprechaun henchman and a wise cracking crow. Along with the leprechaun is a motley crew of some of the craziest characters ever put on paper, yet somehow a little too similar to someone you've run into at one time or another.

The book is so much fun it should come with a warning. You may not be able to stop reading it once you start it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trippy!, February 27, 2007
By 
Puma3hawk (Ashland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
All Encompassing Trip is a face-paced adventure filled with lots if humor and general weirdness. It's sort of Bridget Jones meets Wizard of Oz, with a cast of characters both unique and engaging. There are many laugh out loud moments, and even a few touching ones. The perfect book for an afternoon escape. Light and utterly original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bizarro, September 20, 2011
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
Nikki our main character takes us a wild journey in an alternate world of ours. Her best friend by her side and a dog wearing a doo rag as their guidance. Oprah and American Idol re-runs all day darkness, and bizarre things.
Overall the story has its ups and Downs. Filled with laughter recommend for stay at home moms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I want to read more of her works....well done!, March 22, 2007
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
Reviewed by Louise Landeta for Reader Views (2/07)

This book is in a relatively newly termed genre called Bizarro. I say newly termed because the genre itself is not new but it never had a classification of its own before. Nor is the bizarre genre new to me--I have enjoyed many other stories such as this for the weirdness of them. Ms. Del Sesto's did not disappoint.

Put more positively, "All Encompassing Trip" is one of the most delightful Bizarro books I have read in years. The characters are original and well drawn and the story underneath all the strange behaviors and occurrences well crafted. Perhaps what appeals to me so much is its similarity to some of my more memorable dreams.

Imagine a leprechaun running around with a baggie filled with eyes plucked from folks who have the gift of "sight," trying to please a 7-1/2 foot Jamaican man covered head to toe in green tattoos, a Berkeley-ite very gassy vegan woman around whom no one can breathe and a coyote in a do-rag and you will get a sense of what I mean.

Indeed, there is a serious message tucked within these pages. Like any of our dreams, it is couched in symbols and metaphors and is most entertaining. The author's main point is that each of us has a unique purpose in life. We must listen to the word and look for the light within us. We must love ourselves and others. Some people find one piece of truth or partial truth and so focus on it to the exclusion of everything else they miss the whole picture they are meant to live. Some people are so self-centered they spend their whole lives looking for love in all the wrong places.

The book manages to convey these serious adages with such aplomb that the reader never feels "lectured to." The core story is presented as a puzzle. The protagonist and her friend must put the pieces together in order to regain their "normal" lives.

The author weaves an enchanting story with the skillful use of puns, witticisms and wry humor. She is obviously well educated and highly intelligent. I want to read more of her works. "All Encompassing Trip" was such a page-turner I didn't want to put it down. Well done!

Received book free of charge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not your mother's leprechaun tale . . ., April 9, 2007
By 
Lynn Dalsing (SF, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
Someone has already said that All Encompassing Trip is a trip, so I find myself bereft of words because someone else got to read the book first. So what to say?

If you're looking for a funny, touching story about seeking enlightenment (hey, I can play on words too!), learning your own worth, and the value of learning your own path in life, you've found it. Similarly, if you're looking for a wacky story about leprechauns, missing eyes, and musical coyotes, this is it. If you're looking for none of those things, I don't think we'd get along (on the plus side, you are probably in complete compliance with the Patriot Act, so, you, go you).

All kidding aside, kiddos, this is a great book. So buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and funky read from cover to cover., July 8, 2007
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
The debut novel of California author Nicole Del Sesto, All Encompassing Trip is a fantastically bizarre and whimsical story about the literal breakdown of reality. Caught amid a world of darkness in which nothing is on television but reality TV rerun, animals are talking back, and simple coffee is beyond mortal reach, stressed-out forty something woman Nikki Nasco and driven aerobics instructor and lesbian Amber Lawson must join forces with a singing Coyote in a do-rag to bring back the light. Irreverent to the point of being quixotic, All Encompassing Trip evokes the wild and crazy atmosphere of a world where normal is Missing in Action. A fun and funky read from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great, July 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Encompassing Trip (Perfect Paperback)
The book was okay. It wasn't as good as the description on the back made it sound like it would be. It took me at least halfway to even begin getting into it. It all finally made sense at the end, but I don't think a lot of people will be able to stick with it that long to find out what was going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All Encompassing Trip
All Encompassing Trip by Nicole Del Sesto (Perfect Paperback - March 6, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.