Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 12, 2001
I remember the first day I bought this CD (the day it was released) a chilly february morning in 1996 in uptown Manhattan. When I saw Tupac throwing up the "Westside" on the cover, I thought it was true that he had sold out the east coast. I had seen 'Pac at several clubs in NY and he always had mad love out here but was now claiming Westcoast... When I popped in the CD though, it became clear that although jail hadn't turned him into a saint, it had put his music on a whole new level. This is the album that changed hip hop music almost 180 degrees and every album after this has tried to match this first rap double CD of original material. This album is perfect and can be played all the way through- it has 27 tracks of slammin beats and lyrics. Tupac talks about everything with the best rap skills ever laid down on record. You've probably heard the singles on this double CD- California Love, All About U, 2 of Amerika's Most Wanted, How Do U Want it, I aint mad at cha, etc.... but they are only the beginning of why this CD is so excellent. Remember I said I bought it the day it came out-- I still bump it. If you buy one rap CD *ever*- buy this one. If you are some new kid that listens to rap and think that DMX and Jay Z are good- listen to this CD and find out where they all got their ideas. Except unlike their cds- 2Pac never has a wack song. Too bad he's gone and isn't still coming with new music.
CLASSIC, I'd give it 50 stars if I could. This is the best CD by anyone in any music genre.
44 comments|100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2001
Only every once and a while does a rap masterpiece like this come out (i.e. Biggies "Ready To Die", Eazy E's "It's on 187um killer etc.). This album was Tupac's first with Death Row and he did not dissapoint with songs to get you're head moving, or your brain thinking he did it all on two discs of pure west coast goodness. And I know this is going to get me alot of negative votes but...please let the man R.I.P., no more of these ... "hes alive" theories, he's gone and you have to accept it,sorry.
0Comment|84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 1999
No one can deny the impact that Tupac Shakur had on not justthe rap industry but the music industry as well. This double-cd (kindof rare for rap artists to do this at the time) is a magnificent collaboration of music. It is original, revolutionary and just plain awesome. The reason I say it is revolutionary because after All Eyez on me was released, many rappers brought out double-albums (e.g. Bone Thugs 'N' Harmony, Notorious B.I.G., Master P) There would have been some singles off the second album, but I think they were "too controversial", too many explicit lyrics they had to edit. Unlike his rivals from Bad Boy, Tupac did not rely on sampling to sell his records. He had original beats and fascinating lyrics. Songs like "Life Goes On", "I Ain't Mad at Cha", and "Heaven Ain't Hard to Find" show this. It is not just the serious songs. I thought "Thug Passion", "All About U" and "How Do You want It" were the best songs. They're not politically correct but so what? Hell, the truth can't always fit the mold. Awesome beats, badass lyrics, and hard-hitting songs makes this album a masterpiece. It is not perfect (if there was a 4 1/2, I'd put it). I would have liked the original version of "California Love" and "Hit 'em Up" on here. I can't have everything. Oh, well. There are at least 18 songs I like on this album that will compensate for it. Oh and one more thing. If All Eyez on Me sold at least 7 million copies, wouldn't it be 14X Platinum. Double albums count as 2 don't they, compared to 1 for single albums. Unless the 2 figures in the real count; so in essence he sold at least 3.5 million (double-cd) copies of his album.
22 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2003
Tragically, the life of this poet and rapper has been cut short in its prime. Tupac prophesied his own early demise. And he moved toward that end with fatalism worthy of a Greek tragedy.
All Eyez on Me is a set of two CDs that are among the greatest rap has ever produced. Despite his outward insistence on thuggishness, Tupac was very sensitive, far more so than the average thug, or any average person for that matter. Sensitivity led to originality and an important cultural product. Tupac celebrates thug life, along with its pain and its doom.
The beats and the production on this album are great and go so well together with Tupac's rhymes. Tupac was a genius who made a commitment to live out his life as a thug and kept it. This was his mission, and he felt he needed to fulfill it, with all eyes staring at him, even those who refused to C him...
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2003
Tupac Shakur is hip hop and rap's premier embassador of the ghetto and street life. His profound mother, Afeni Shakur, raised him to be a intelluctual leader to fight against the troubles of the black community living in a "white man's world". All Eyez On Me is Tupac's fourth album and first since his bail from Rikers Island. This CD contains all of Pac's accumalitive thoughts and ideas that he grasped from books and his experiences in his troubled life. Book 1 contains all of the released singles, and demonstrates his Westside style in tracks like "All About U", "2 of Amerikkka'z Most Wanted", and "Cali. Love". The production is good on this CD and his mostly done by Deathrow producer Daz Dillinger. "I Aint Mad At Cha" is definetly the CD's best song. The catchy piano laced background melody cradles Pac's lyrics of his thought of death. "Only God Can Judge Me" and "Life Goes On" are two tracks that embarse Tupac's lyrical capability and also compensate his thoughts on death. Book 2 alone can be sold as a seperate CD. The style and production is a bit different but still keeps that Pac flavor. Tracks like "Shorty Wanna Be a Thug" and "All Eyes On Me" make you realize how unique Tupac was. "Picture Me Rollin" is the best laid back cruisin song that anyone can jam too while riding in their car. Dr. Dre produced "Cant C Me" gives you that Westside feeling with a "bump". All in all, The greatest rapper to ever spit calls himself 2PAC. Nobody will ever surpass his accomplishments and number of songs put out. All Eyez On Me cannot be critiqued or hold one's opinon, yet only one can judge Pac and a world can listen to his talent.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2005
2Pac is one of the most influential rappers ever in this world. Even though he's dead, many people respect him as a great rapper and a great actor. And this classic album "All Eyez On Me" proves why he was so great. It's recognized as a classic in many genres - Gangsta Rap, West Coast Rap, G-Funk and Hardcore Rap. Even if you're not into G-Funk or West Coast Rap, you must listen to this permanent classic. It's loved by everybody and also the first rap double-album.

Disc 1

1. Ambitionz Az A Ridah (5/5) - CLASSIC. Daz produced it and 2Pac does it crazy on this one. The hook is really addictive and catchy.

2. All About U (5/5) - It's one of the most popular songs on this album. Snoop Dogg on the outro, Nate Dogg sings the chorus, and Fatal and Yaki Kadafi of Outlawz rap with 2Pac. Great sample from Cameo's "Candy".

3. Skandalouz (5/5) - Daz produced it and Nate Dogg featured on it. Very addictive beat and the lyrics are interesting.

4. Got My Mind Made Up (5/5) - It's like a West-East collaboration song. Tha Dogg Pound from the West and Redman & Method Man from the East make this song great.

5. How Do You Want It (5/5) - Ranked 1st on the Billboard Single Chart. K-Ci & JoJo featured on it and 2Pac drops it crazily. Everybody would love this song.

6. 2 Of Amerikaz Most Wanted (5/5) - CLASSIC. Daz produced it and Snoop featured on it. This track is one of the most gangsta tracks on this album and 2Pac & Snoop both drop some bombs.

7. No More Pain (4/5) - Very dismal song. I would give 5 stars if it were not too long. 2Pac quotes the notorious line "I came to bring the pain / Hardcore to the brain" from Method Man's "Bring Da Pain".

8. Heartz Of Men (5/5) - DJ Quik produced it. The beat is fresh and 2Pac raps really well on this one. You can notice how Quik's beat can be fresh on it.

9. Life Goes On (5/5) - It's very popular, too. Not only in America, but in every other country. 2Pac dedicated this song to his friend Mental and Kato. The mood is sad.

10. Only God Can Judge Me (5/5) - Great G-Funk track. Rappin' 4-Tay featured on it. They both rap well and if you're deep into G-Funk, you'll definitely love it.

11. Tradin War Stories (5/5) - A serious-mood song. Outlawz, CPO and Storm featured on it. Contains a sample from James Brown's "It's A Man's Man's World".

12. California Love (RMX) (5/5) - Dr. Dre produced, mixed it and featured on it and Roger Troutman on Talkbox. Actually the original version of this song is better but for a G-Funk fan, it's a treasure.

13. I Ain't Mad At Cha (5/5) - CLASSIC. Danny Boy featured on it. 2Pac raps truly as if he were writing a letter on this Daz-produced song. Perfect sample from DeBarge's "A Dream".

14. What's Ya Phone Number (4/5) - Good. 2Pac raps well and Danny Boy sings well, too. But it's too long. 2Pac only raps 2 verses and the outro which 2Pac and a woman talk is too long and it gradually makes you get bored.

CD 2

1. Can't C Me (5/5) - CLASSIC. Dr. Dre produced it so gangsta and funky. Even George Clinton did the additional vocals. Perfect sample from Funkadelic's "(Not Just) Knee Deep". Well, Dr. Dre sampled this song 4 times but this is the best of them.

2. Shorty Wanna Be A Thug (5/5) - The beat and lyrics are kinda sad. So the mood is sad, too. Very meaningful song. You've got to listen to this song at least than once.

3. Holla At Me (5/5) - The mood is a little bit down but very bouncy. 2Pac's rapping is crazy again and the chorus is catchy.

4. Wonda Why They Call U B**** (5/5) - Typcial G-Funk track. It's a great song that contains 2Pac's great story. Very addictive.

5. When We Ride (5/5) - Outlawz Immortalz featured on it and DJ Pooh produced it. This beat and lyrics are very gangsta.

6. Thug Passion (5/5) - It feels kinda comfortable. Maybe it's because it contains a great sample from Zapp & Roger's "Computer Love".

7. Picture Me Rollin' (5/5) - This song is similar to 2Pac's "Death Around The Corner". But this is much better than that. Great sample from Kool & The Gang's "Winter Sadness".

8. Check Out Time (5/5) - One of the most comfortable song. Kurupt and Big Syke featured on it. The lyrics are kinda interesting and the beat is perfect.

9. Ratha Be Ya N**** (5/5) - Richie Rich featured on it. It's gangsta-love song. Creative sample from Bootsy Collins' "I'd Rather Be With You".

10. All Eyez On Me (5/5) - Big Syke featured on it. 2Pac dissed Nas because Nas's "Street Dreams" was almost the same with this song.

11. Run Tha Streetz (5/5) - CLASSIC. Typcial smooth G-Funk song. Michel'le sings great and Mutha and Storm rap well, too. One of the smoothest G-Funk tracks ever.

12. Ain't Hard To Find (5/5) - E-40, B-Legit, C-Bo and Richie Rich featured on it. They all go well with 2Pac and the beat is kinda gangsta and addictive.

13. Heaven Ain't Hard To Find (5/5) - Perfect song to finish this album. Quincy Jones' son QDIII produced it. 2Pac's rapping is the best on this one. Cotains a sample from Bobby Caldwell's "What You Won't Do For Love".

I'm Korean who's only 15 and recommending this G-Funk classic to everyone. This album will make your ears hot.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 1998
If anyone doubted Pac was the greatest ever then this album says it all. 2Pac comes outta jail filled with energy and anger and he takes it all out on this double CD. Every single song on that album is produced on the highest level possible in the rap game as only Death Row can. Guest rappers iclude not only his fellow Death Row inmates (such as Snoop Doggy Dogg, Tha Dogg Pound, Dr. Dre, michel'le and more) but also some of the Bay Area Ridahz (E40, Richie Rich, C-Bo and more) and homies from the East Coast (The East Coast kings - Method Man and Redman). The album deals with many topics, the variety of styles will keep this album alive for ever. Noone can compare to Tupac - The lyrics, The heart he put into every single thing he made, the charizma. This album will take you to many places and situations and that's what Tupac Shakur the most talented person in the rap game did. R.I.P. Pac. There's a heaven for a G.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2006
It is rare to be on a soap box like this but I have read about people dissing Tupac's album All Eyes on Me and saying that it is overrated but this is most likely to a generation gap. I can understand why some younger people feel he is overrated because there have been so many people using his style and iambic meter that the sound is sometimes not as exciting to the younger generation of hip hop fans (this is for the most part...but not always). But for a guy like me who was in his late teens/early twenties, the sound is so hip and fresh because it was new. Nobody sounded like him. When he dropped, nobody rapped with such emotion and embodied much of the struggle that many of us was going through...his raps more than empathized with our emotions. When I see evaluations of the album by people I wonder how old are they. Because the day his album dropped, every car that went by on my college campus was bumping that album! I was almost broke and my room mate and I scrapped up the money to both go in and buy it. A Person has to remember, when this album dropped, the now 17, 18, 19 year olds were 6, 7, 8 year olds and really couldn't understand what he meant to the Rap Game. So by the time many of that age group gets into hip hop really deep, they wonder, "what's the big deal with Tupac?" because they have been listening to people imitating his style for years. But in 1993-1996 he was the only one coming so provocative. Who was putting down sounds that rivaled his? People argue that Biggie did. OK that's fine. Now who else? Only one rapper was on his level. It is like comparing Steve Young or John Elway, who is better? You could argue either way so let's drop that for the moment (cause I like them both). So when people talk about how great this album was it is in reference to the emotion that he exuded. Nobody...I mean Nobody was screaming the word "Thug" before Tupac...Nobody! Now everyone is a thug? He changed the game. But this generation gap holds true with me. I liked some of the early rappers but I did not think them special and older guys (5-10 years older) think that I am crazy. They feel that those were the best rappers. Regardless, I feel Tupac was like Wilt Chamberlain to Basketball, and people loved the guy. He said what many of us wanted to say. That's why people are emotional about this album. Whether you like or hate Tupac, if you were in the mix (college campus or on the block) when this album dropped, you can clearly remember the buzz! I haven't seen that kind of a buzz since. Synopsis: the album is very good and emotional. If you really need a recommendation about 2upac's best album you probably missed the bus on this one. But if you miss the bus on the big deal, I can understand.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2003
I purchased this album with the hopes of being able to enjoy it at home and also use it to DJ on-the-air and at school dances. Unfortunately, I am doing neither. Although the album itself is one of the greatest hip-hop records ever recorded, the new "edited" version makes it almost unlistenable.
Most times, I don't mind when an edited version "drops out" the offensive lyrics (while the backing track continues to play). However, on this album, the editors decided to reverse the curse words and the music together. This editing technique has been used quite frequently on songs with one or two offensive words. But when every few seconds 2Pac is dropping the "f" bomb, the edits become very annoying and really detract from the songs. You might get just as much enjoyment out of listening to the whole thing backwards.
If you want edited 2Pac, try the clean version of the "Greatest Hits" cd. It collects most of the original radio versions, with the exception of a few tracks that are poorly edited.
Bottom line: watch out for any of Death Row's "Remastered" edited cds. I had a similar bad experience with Snoop Doggy Dogg's "Doggystyle" (Remastered/Edited Version).
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2003
Without question 2pac is the greatest rapper who has ever lived, if you weren't convinced by "Me Against The World" this album pretty much proves it. This is 2pac's most commercial album without question it produced 6 hit singles and sold millions of copies. There are also many underrated tracks on this album; Ambitionz Az A Ridah, Got My Mind Made Up, No More Pain, Only God Can Judge Me, Can't C Me, Holla At Me, Ratha Be Ya N..., All Eyez On Me, and Ain't Hard To Find. This would still be a great album even without the hit songs; All Bout U, How Do You Want It, 2 Of Amerikaz Most Wanted, Heartz Of Men, Life Goes On, California Love, I Ain't Mad At Cha, and Picture Me Rollin' all of which are featured on 2pac's "Greatest Hits". If you weren't keeping track that's 17 excellent songs, even the ones I didn't mention are still good. The production is great throughout the entire double disk set thanks mostly to Daz, Dr. Dre, and Johnny "J". There are also plenty of great guest artists; The Outlaws, Nate Dogg, Daz, Kurupt, Method Man, Redman, KC & Jo Jo, Snoop Dogg, Rappin' 4-Tay, Dr. Dre, Danny Boy, Big Syke, CPO, Richie Rich, E-40, B-Legit, and C-Bo. It's hard to say if this is indeed 2pac's best album, personally I like "Me Against The World" a tad bit more, but anyone who considers themselves a fan of Rap music should have this classic album.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.