Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poker = Power
Thoroughly enjoyed this perspective of the game from a diverse group of die-hard poker players who romanticize, idealize, rationalize, promote, defend and battle for the chance to sit, bluff and win.

Oh, and that politician shown, senator Fritz, who banned online poker via dumping an unread and unknown bill at the bottom of maritime port legislation at midnight...
Published 15 months ago by DigitalPaperCut

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed but it was OK
I was very excited when I heard they were making a poker documentary called All In. After watching Rounders when it came out I fell in love with the game of poker. So when I saw All In on Amazon instant movies I was pumped and rented it to watch with my g/f who also enjoys playing and watching poker.

This movie tells the history of poker and how we got to...
Published on July 16, 2012 by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poker = Power, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this perspective of the game from a diverse group of die-hard poker players who romanticize, idealize, rationalize, promote, defend and battle for the chance to sit, bluff and win.

Oh, and that politician shown, senator Fritz, who banned online poker via dumping an unread and unknown bill at the bottom of maritime port legislation at midnight when the senate was empty? Fritz, the Republican Christian who swore he was all about "family values" and who claimed he banned online poker to "save the children"? He was a multimillionaire later busted for massive profits from insider trading related to his own healthcare company, was revealed to be cheating on his wife in an affair he could no longer hide AND was found to have been campaigned financed by...wait for it...VEGAS CASINOS. His online poker ban had nothing to do with saving children and everything to do with sneaking in legislation the casinos had bought and paid for by shoveling cash and comps into his pocket.

So, is poker about skill or luck of the draw? After watching All In, success seems to depend on being able to bluff the appearance of power. During Moneymaker's big WSOP win, you can actually see and feel the fear in his opponent, him thinking there's no way he can beat Moneymaker regardless of his own hand. So he folds and Moneymaker wins it all. Very exciting to watch, and infectious to hear other players still rhapsodize about that moment years later.

I don't play poker, but All In explains exactly why so many people DO live for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed but it was OK, July 16, 2012
I was very excited when I heard they were making a poker documentary called All In. After watching Rounders when it came out I fell in love with the game of poker. So when I saw All In on Amazon instant movies I was pumped and rented it to watch with my g/f who also enjoys playing and watching poker.

This movie tells the history of poker and how we got to where we are today with the banning of online poker in the US. It focuses alot also on the story of Chris Moneymaker who is responsible for the poker boom after he won the 2003 WSOP Main Event. Although it did a good job of telling the history of poker with good detail, I found it to be very boring at parts. My g/f liked the movie more than I did and would give it 4 stars.

Overall this movie is alright and worth watching if you are a poker fan but it fell way short of my expectations. My favorite part was when Howard Lederer says, "The real heroes in poker do not cheat." Anyone who follows the fallout of the FullTilt scandal will see how ironic that statement is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Preaching to the Choir, September 28, 2012
By 
MJG (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All In: The Poker Movie (DVD)
This is hardly more than a too-little-too-late cheerleading exercise for poker. It just could have been so much more.

I might be biased, though. As this movie lionizes a certain guy as a top poker player instead of the (IMHO) lucky stiff who tripped over $2.5 million while wandering in the dark in Las Vegas in 2003. But, as Vic tells Charlie in the movie The Ice Harvest, perhaps I'm being unkind.

The DVD is not terrible. It's just a piece of fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well done, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All In: The Poker Movie (DVD)
Excellent documentary. And i love poker, so was very interesting also. The interviews were well done.overall ,was very satisfied...recommended to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for what it is, December 10, 2014
By 
Randy B (Cedar Rapids, IA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wasn't quite what I expected, but it turned out to be interesting. Kinda dragged in the middle, but then it is a documentary. I thought it would get more into exactly what the government was looking for or what they thought people like Chris Ferguson and Howard Lederer supposedly did that was "shady", but much of that info is publicly available elsewhere. Makes me want to see "Rounders".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of poker this is a must own!!!!, September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All In: The Poker Movie (DVD)
There are not many poker movies out there as it is. This movie talks about the making of the movie rounders as well as the history of poker as well as the hurt black friday caused. If you or a friend loves poker this would make.a great gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars all in, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
spent too much time on a historical perspective -- it would have taken five minutes at the start to tell this story. too little time spent on the thievery of the prof and jesus ferguson.
very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time., January 26, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't waste your time. You won't learn anything and I'll give you the last line. "Where would the godless go? Vegas is a good destination."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great documentary about the boom in professional poker and the dramatic crackdown on online gambling. Definitely worth taking a look if you have any interest in the history of poker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, January 3, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All In: The Poker Movie (DVD)
Item as described. Would use seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All In: The Poker Movie
All In: The Poker Movie by Douglas Tirola (DVD - 2012)
$9.99 $6.59
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.