Customer Reviews


409 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (64)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Killer, A Little Filler
Sum 41 does basically does the same thing here that they did for Half Hour of Power. In fact, they even recycle the song "Summer" from their first disc. It's a bunch of pretty catchy 2 or 3 minute songs filled with power chords and standard main-stream punk mentallity. Good Stuff. Half Hour may have succeeded a little more as far as pure catchiness goes, but...
Published on May 8, 2001 by PxPx

versus
28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok so it's a good cd...
So what the hell are a bunch of canadians doing on this cd? Playing a great mix of pop and skater punk, thats what. I really didn't expect much on this cd. The low price tag didn't do too much to reverse my opinion either. I went in not too familiar with the band. I heard their single Fat Lip and thought it was a good, catchy song. The video for it was great too. At any...
Published on June 13, 2001 by tre mazzo


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Killer, A Little Filler, May 8, 2001
By 
PxPx (St. Louis) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
Sum 41 does basically does the same thing here that they did for Half Hour of Power. In fact, they even recycle the song "Summer" from their first disc. It's a bunch of pretty catchy 2 or 3 minute songs filled with power chords and standard main-stream punk mentallity. Good Stuff. Half Hour may have succeeded a little more as far as pure catchiness goes, but this one expanded their sound a bit more and they succeeded at it for the most part. Check out the hilarious mpeg video included on the disc for the minute and a half long hair-metal inspired 'Pain for Pleasure.' Standouts include 'Nothing On My Back,' 'Fat Lip,' 'Rhythms,' and 'Heart Attack.' If you liked Half Hour of Power, then by all means go for All Killer No Filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok so it's a good cd..., June 13, 2001
By 
tre mazzo (South Barrington , Il) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
So what the hell are a bunch of canadians doing on this cd? Playing a great mix of pop and skater punk, thats what. I really didn't expect much on this cd. The low price tag didn't do too much to reverse my opinion either. I went in not too familiar with the band. I heard their single Fat Lip and thought it was a good, catchy song. The video for it was great too. At any rate I got the cd and heres my take on it. To start with I think the lyrics are good. They go well with the music and such. I like the mix of topics. Sum 41 doesn't try to be The Ataris and do the bitchin' about girls in every song nor do they try to be Blink 182 with stupid potty humor. Again, good mix of topics. Fat lip is your basic punk rock theme song. Rebelling against anyone who ain't down with us. It's a good song. Shows the bands intentions. I don't hold Fat Lip in the highest regards on the cd. That goes to Handle This. Good lyrics and great use of vocals and guitar.
Theres something about the way the cd sounds that is just awesome. The guitars come thru all nice and crunchy. The bassist is pretty damn good. The drummer is decent. I like on the vocals how everyone gets involved. This is a trend I like. Breaks up the monotony. Pain For Pleasure is a great sounding song, even if it is a joke song. Fat Lip is great to listen too. It builds up the intensity till an almost orgasm-like effect on the last chorus with the guitars. These canadians let their guitars hang out and it's for the best
Good cd. Nothing that will win any awards. It's fresh and isn't as nice to the general public than Blink 182. I doubt any 14 year old girls are going to be wetting themselves to get to this band. A nice, bright future for the boys of Sum 41. Can't wait till the next cd, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wait! I Didn't Know Blink 182 Had Kids!, September 11, 2001
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
I thought they did when I first put "All Killer No Filler" Into my CD player cause their style is straight out of "The Big Bumper Book Of Punk Rock (Volume 41)" this is not to say that Sum 41 are unoriginal, far from it, it means that punk rock: "if it aint broke don't fix it" Sum 41 twist the genre a little bit however as they are a bit more of a rap/punk group, not in the same league as Limp Bizkit or Linkin Park, but just imagine Blink 182 songs with the Beastie Boys rapping over them then you're kind of getting what I mean. On track 4, the highly successful single, "Fat Lip" the vocals are very similar to the Beastie Boys, the fact that Sum 41 are on the Beastie Boy's old record label (Def Jam) may be a connection here but I am yet to discover this as true. The track originally at the end of the "Fat Lip" music video can be found as the last track of "All Killer No Filler" and is called "Pain For Pleasure" Backed up by a very funny video, i think it is a mischeivous and rebellious way of Sum 41 saying repeating the line from "Fat Lip": "Judas and Priest were the gods that we praised!". This is to remind us of how it all began and not to forget the groups who started the game "Back in the day!"
Sum 41 pull out all the stops and give us something that you can really head-bang to (Dude ranch style) and basically something to make you feel young again (if you're old that is.) This is a fresh mix of new, youthful talent and experimental techniques. They may be all killer! but "Killed off" is something you wont see in regard to Sum 41!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD CD, November 1, 2004
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
This is the cd that got me listening to Sum 41 and I always been satisfied with all 4 of there cd's. This was a great cd for them and made them known more then what they were when they released there first album. This was a change for them kinda being more punk/rock then there first,and fourth cd that were more punk/metal. This is a great cd with awesome vocals, guitar and drums in every song. I don't think there were any solos on this cd. We all know that Dave can play the guitar well though. The drumming on this cd is good but not as good as what is on there other releases. The songs for Motivation, Fat Lip, and In Too Deep are cool. Overall this is a great cd to own. Almost every song I can listen to anytime and never get bored listening to it. Well worth the price.

TRACK RATINGS:

1.Intro-(:37)-N/A

2.Nothing On My Back-(3:07)-10/10

3.Never Wake Up-(:50)-10/10

4.Fat Lip-(2:58)-10/10

5.Rythms-(2:59)-10/10

6.Motivation-(2:50)-10/10

7.In Too Deep-(3:27)-10/10

8.Summer-(2:49)-9/10

9.Handle This-(3:37)-10/10

10.Crazy Amanda Brunkface-(2:16)-10/10

11.All She's Got-(2:22)-10/10

12.Heart Attack-(2:49)-10/10

13.Pain For Pleasure-(1:43)-9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sum 41, May 24, 2005
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
The cd is all together really good except pain for pleasure i f***ing hate that song. The Good Songs are Fat Lip, In Too Deep, Crazy Amanda Bunkface, and Motivation. My opinion is if you like skatebording youll like this cd and if you like punk youll like this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily Sum 41's best, December 30, 2004
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
If you don't like this album, you're either a huge snob, or deaf.

Radio-friendly pop-punk, that would be the best and most accurate description of "all killer no filler", which took the world by storm mid 2001 with its single "fat lip". Chances are, unless you were living under a rock, you've heard that song, and their other radio friendly hit, "in too deep". Although sum 41 has shifted their style since the release of "all killer", this band never fails to amaze, and getting any album from them is worth your while.

Upside: "Fat Lip" is perhaps one of the catchiest and most original pop-punk songs I've ever heard.

Downside: The album is a little short, and fails to live up to it's name with the :49 second filler song "wake up".

You'll like "SUM 41" if you like: Blink 182 and Green Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whatever., October 14, 2001
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
If your kid is listening to this drivel (like mine is), then you can rest assured there's worse out there. This is harmless, imitation rebellion of little consequence. If they like it, fine.
Still, you wonder what a bunch of Canadian kids could possibilly have to say about California punk. (About as much as Vanilla Ice had to say about rap, I imagine). The band needs to get their own life, instead of trying to borrow someone else's and sell it.
There's nothing wrong with asking yourself "Where did I go wrong?" when you hear it coming from you offspring's headphones. But hang in there. In a couple of months, he and every other kid with this one will be tryng to sell it back at the used CD section (to raise enough dough for the inevitable "Limp Bizkit's Greatest Hits" disc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best C.D. I've ever got, August 9, 2001
By 
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
I heard Sum 41's "Fatlip" on Mtv and decided to pick it up. It turned out to be the best best C.D. that I have ever got!!! Every song is just as good as "Fatlip". I listened to it over and over until it got stuck in my C.D. player. Now I can't get it out, but if you like punk rock, you should buy this C.D--Wait a minute,back up. If you are ALIVE, you should buy this C.D! It will be the best day of your life!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speed!!, November 7, 2005
By 
Maurizio Surdo (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
So like this album is like crazy fast right. I mean, you can listen the whole thing thru and it gets you sooo pumped up with adrenaline that you feel like you can take on anyone! Have it blasting in your car stereo with some crazy loud speakers and before you know it, the people in the cars next to you are rocking out!! Even grams and gramps!! Totally recommend this album AND any other album released by Sum 41.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This [is not good], July 26, 2002
By 
Lemuel Smalley (Fayetteville, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] (Audio CD)
I have kept hearing people saying this is a hard rock alblum. Well, this alblum [is not good]. Sum 41 are only posers, they wouldn't know what music is if it someone showed it to them in the dictionary. All the songs can be considered whiney. It seems that this is just like all the "rock music" that plays on MTV, its just a bunch of guys with hair that doesn't look like its been washed in a week, pissing and moaning about whatever comes to their minds. Billy Joel rocks harder than Sum 41! If you want real music get Slayer's "God Hates Us All," that is metal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD]
All Killer, No Filler [Enhanced CD] by Sum 41 (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.