Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the movie, but poor transfer and misleading package
I highly recommend this wonderful comedy, which I somehow missed when it first came out. Lots of slapstick, as you'd expect from Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin (and director Carl Reiner) in 1984. But there's also great chemistry between the leads, and even more importantly, a wonderfully warm and touching story. I recommend it highly to anyone who enjoys a good laugh and...
Published on August 30, 2010 by Harry Goldhagen

versus
57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best to wait for a new release
For what it is, this really isn't a bad film. Steve Martin is absolutely incredible as an up-and-coming lawyer possessed by the spirit of his cranky, rich, dead client. The story may be silly and the characters over-the-top (especially the "Tibetan swami"), but I found myself laughing at Martin's antics enough to keep me entertained from start to finish. Martin especially...
Published on March 5, 2010 by "Gimpy" Peach Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best to wait for a new release, March 5, 2010
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
For what it is, this really isn't a bad film. Steve Martin is absolutely incredible as an up-and-coming lawyer possessed by the spirit of his cranky, rich, dead client. The story may be silly and the characters over-the-top (especially the "Tibetan swami"), but I found myself laughing at Martin's antics enough to keep me entertained from start to finish. Martin especially shines in scenes where he has to physically show that his body is under the command of two competing minds -- his left side walking and gesturing "like a man" and his right side walking and gesturing "like a woman." It's not a truly great film, but it makes wonderful B-movie Saturday matinee fare.

My real complaint is that the DVD itself is downright lousy. It's a "full-frame" pan-and-scan DVD (where sides of the widescreen original image were chopped off to fully fill an older TV screen), and the image quality is only fair at best. The picture looks washed out and film dust and a handful of scratches remain. The sound is especially bad -- the dialogue sounds muffled and the overall volume is low so that I had to crank up my stereo's volume to hear everything (and got a nasty shock when the full-volume studio logo appeared at the end). The DVD presentation gives the film the look of a cheesy low-budget educational film of 15-20 years earlier. This film really deserves a better presentation. Since it's now out-of-print, it's probably best to wait until the studios can give it a proper DVD or Blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great movie, terrible DVD, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
This is a great movie, one of my favs. Unfortunately, the DVD I received appears to be a bootlegged version. The film is grainy, as though someone recorded it off of a VHS tape and then burned that onto a DVD. There are several scenes where a fiber appears on the left side of the screen, and there's a continuous white line on the top border. The audio is subpar, and there are times where there's a split second delay between audio and video. It's a bit surreal, which would be ok if this were a Stanley Kubrick film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the movie, but poor transfer and misleading package, August 30, 2010
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
I highly recommend this wonderful comedy, which I somehow missed when it first came out. Lots of slapstick, as you'd expect from Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin (and director Carl Reiner) in 1984. But there's also great chemistry between the leads, and even more importantly, a wonderfully warm and touching story. I recommend it highly to anyone who enjoys a good laugh and can still watch a movie that lacks explosions, shaky cam, or fast cuts and oversaturated colors. However, be prepared for a less than high-quality transfer. It looks like a 16:9 movie panned and scanned to 4:3, and transferred from a not especially clean source -- you can even see a fair amount of dirt on the screen in two scenes. Also, the disk lacks the special features listed on the box, such as subtitles, trailer and cast & crew info. In fact, the chapter list on the box doesn't match the chapters on the disk (24 listed on box, 16 on disk with different names). The box lists Trimark Gold Reel Collection, but the rather generic looking disk says Lions Gate.
Nevertheless, this seems to be the only copy around, and it's certainly worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best American Comedy, November 6, 2009
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
This 1984 Carl Reiner comedy is one of the best film showcases of Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin's sundry talents. Tomlin plays a sickly spinster who is given the chance to transfer her soul to the body of another woman, and thus go on living. But the magic man who is supposed to make this happen goofs up and locks her spirit inside a bachelor lawyer (Martin)--or, more accurately, within the right half of the poor fellow's body. Suddenly, the swinging man-about-town is literally at odds with himself, unable to make a self-determining decision without a huge internal struggle. Martin's physical comedy, always remarkable, is absolutely inspired this time around, as he convincingly portrays a man split down the middle between opposing sensibilities. This is also one of the best films by Reiner, a filmmaker whose novel ideas are sometimes more striking than their execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars C level DVD production of a C+/B- movie, January 7, 2010
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
I've seen funnier Steve Martin movies. With Dirty Rotten Scoundrels and The Jerk as benchmark 5-star Steve Martin (in my book), Housesitter around 4, this picture rates about 3 - 3.5 stars. New generation fans of Martin may want to see this blast from 1984 with Steve still looking quite young (only 5 years after The Jerk), but the DVD on offer here is pretty bare bones. It includes all of "play" and "scene index", in spite of the "special features" touted on the back of the case - supposed "cast and crew information" and "subtitles" - there are NEITHER of these (at least there weren't on the one I ordered through Amazon).

It's full screen and the video quality is average - dull colors and 80s television picture. No wonder this DVD seems to have gone out of print, though how anything Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin could go out of print is anybody's guess - is this really all that's left of this film?

Whatever you think about the movie, the presentation on this DVD won't impress you much in the production department, though it ought to sate your curiousity about the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obvious 5 stars, December 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
Obvious comedy classic. Full of laughs and good times. One of Steve Martins most memorable rolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, July 3, 2014
By 
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
Very funny! Only Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin could have done this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
This is a classic film - very funny, wonderful to watch, and highly recommended! My wife & I both loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny movie!, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
I have always loved Steve Martin and this is one of the best. Lily Tomlin is perfect as his better half, literally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Steve Martin Acting, January 2, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All of Me (DVD)
Steve Martin really knocks this role out of the park. This is so funny that Steve Martin can manage the silliness required to deliver this role. If you like Steve Martin you will like this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All of Me
All of Me by Steve Martin (DVD)
$17.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.