All Men of Genius and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.79
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Bubble Mailer!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

All Men of Genius Hardcover – September 27, 2011


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, September 27, 2011
$1.23 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; First Edition edition (September 27, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765327945
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765327949
  • Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 1.5 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,156,256 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"All Men of Genius is a true steampunk novel, a romance, a mystery, and a fun romp through an alternative Victorian England...a fast-moving, joyful experience that will leave the reader thoroughly satisfied."
-The Seattle Post-Intelligencer


"A charming and fast-paced debut... Fans of Shakespeare and Wilde will delight in the transformation of the source material into something wholly original."
-RT Book Reviews


"A-: A nimble twist on Victorian romance... he never lets his mesh of relationships overwhelm a sprawl of vibrant, witty characters... Tackling the genre at its root, All Men slyly examines the psychology and the aesthetics behind the act of human invention."
-The A.V. Club


"Lev AC Rosen's debut is smart, thoughtful and even oddly timely. An intelligent, muscular work of steampunk with a strong central female character and a full load of steam. A great balance and a perfect mix...In a year filled with great steampunk, All Men of Genius can be included with the very best."
-January Magazine


“This debut literary steampunk novel fits well on the shelf with Gail Carriger’s “Parasol Protectorate” series, with broad crossover appeal to fans of sf, historical romance, and young adult fiction.”
--Library Journal

“With All Men of Genius, Lev Rosen has constructed a wonderously vivid and dreamlike new world, both utterly original and mysteriously familiar. He writes with great wit, verve and tenderness, and he is without doubt, one of the most exciting and talented young writers of his generation.”
--Dan Chaon, bestselling author of You Remind Me of Me

All Men of Genius is utterly charming. A large ensemble cast revolves around the central character, Violet Adams, as smoothly as gears in a precision clock. Like the best steampunk, it feels as though it were written in a much older time. Witty, dashing, and a little bit dangerous."
--Mary Robinette Kowal, author of Nebula and Locus award nominee Shades and Milk and Honey

All Men Of Genius is filled with a contagious joyful abandon.”
--Angela Zeman, author of The Witch and the Borscht Pearl

From the Author

A 2011 Best of the Year from Fantasy Book Critic, January Magazine, SF Signal, The Booksmugglers, Fantasy Cafe, Slatebreakers, Sci-Fi Fan Letter, The Mad Hatter's Bookshelf and Book Review, Jason Heller, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Skron 3.0 & Karissa's Reading Review
See all Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

The structure of the story, however, is a bit bewildering.
Kurt Joseph Pankau
As someone who can count the books I have finished reading on one hand, I must say this was as close to a couldn't put it down book as I have ever come.
yensjens
The witty banter between the characters is wonderful and lots of fun to read.
Karissa Eckert

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Karissa Eckert TOP 1000 REVIEWER on September 27, 2011
Format: Hardcover
I got an advanced reading copy of this book signed by the author at Book Expo America. I have been looking forward to reading it for some time. It was an excellent book; exquisitely written and creative. It was a slow but wonderful read.

Violet is a genius at building mechanical contraptions and wants desperately to go to the Illyria school for genius students; only problem is Illyria doesn't admit women. So Violet, along with her twin brother Ashton, and their friend Jack, devise a devious plan. Violet will pretend to be Ashton and attend Illyria, if she can get in. Once at Illyria Violet's end of the year project will be the least of her troubles. There are killer automatons in the basements, the Duke of Illyria's ward has fallen in love with Violet-as-a-man, and Violet is in love with the Duke.

Fans of Jane Austen or The Importance of Being Earnest that love a bit of a steampunk twist to their witty banter will love this book. Being that it is written in that more flowery type of Victorian style this is a slow read and things move very deliberately at parts of the book. That being said the description and writing style is absolutely exquisite. The witty banter between the characters is wonderful and lots of fun to read. The mystery behind the school's basement, along with all the crazy "who loves who" twisting of the plot kept me completely engaged.

The characters are wonderful. I loved them all. Especially Violet, Ashton, and Jack. These are smart, funny, heartfelt characters that I really loved getting to know. Even side characters are complex and fun to read about. The book switches viewpoint quite a bit, although the majority of the story is told from Violet's point of view.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By @Julia_ATUF on October 16, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Review courtesy of All Things Urban Fantasy:
[...]
Don't make my mistake of picking up ALL MEN OF GENIUS when you're on your way to bed. Hours later, bleary-eyed and sleepy, I was only halfway through the book and still fighting to keep reading, unable to put it down. Violet, Ashton, Jack and the befuddled Duke captivated me from the get go, and that was before the other Illyrian students even had a chance to win me over.

Even if I hadn't fallen in love with the characters, I would have been a goner for the world-building. Rosen gives science the same flash and dazzle as magic at Hogwarts, but with more adult consequences. Violet's passion is machinery, but her best friend Jack is drawn to the biological sciences. "Animal testing" doesn't even begin to cover the transplants and experiments that the students undertake. While Jack learns new and exciting things in college, he also comes to the realization that an idolized professor has no real empathy for the animals he augments.

Watching Jack find his own confidence was a subtle note in the background of Violet's story, and one of many examples of how Rosen's attention to detail manages to portray some incredibly realistic and important issues amidst all of the hilarity and science. Violet and her friends struggle with gender roles, sexual prejudice, and double standards galore. And while Violet's crusade to enter the all-male Illyria College is a plan with a deadline (Violet is going to reveal her ruse at the end of her first year) her brother Ashton feels that he will always have to conceal his homosexuality from society and Miriam has no expectations that she'll ever be able to marry the man she loves due to her dark skin and her religion.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Christina Paige on December 30, 2011
Format: Hardcover
In a steam-punk era, where technology progresses by leaps and bounds, women still wear corsets, Victoria is Queen of England, and women do not yet have the right to vote, 17 year old Viola Adams is a brilliant inventor who wishes to attend Illyria College, an exclusive, and exclusively male bastion of scientific adventure. Her twin brother, Ashton, agrees to help her disguise herself as a young man and apply to the college under his name. To Violet's delight and terror, she is accepted, and a year that will change their lives and shape the future of science begins.
It turns out Violet is not the only woman at Illyria: the Duke's ward, 16 year old Cecily, herself an astonishingly accomplished chemist, attends classes with the young men of genius; and Cecily's godmother, none other than the celebrated, and notorious, Lady Ada Byron, makes frequent visits and gives guest lectures.
Assisted in her ruse by life-long friend and fellow classmate, Jack Feste, Violet holds her own in friendships with second year students Toby Belch and Drew Pale: the four of them, plus Cecily's governess, the widow Miriam, go drinking in local taverns and explore the dark maze under the college, where invisible cats, hidden chambers of secrets, and an army of murderous mechanisms march the corridors. Violet's plan to prove that genius needs to be recognized and welcomed, no matter the form it wears, is complicated by her unexpected attraction to Duke Ernest, and his for her - in both her forms. To tangle the threads further, Cecily falls in love with Violet's alter-ego; "Ashton" is, after all, kind and friendly, the first young man to take an interest in her as a fellow scientist instead of a pretty face!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

LEV AC ROSEN grew up in Manhattan. He attended Oberlin College and received his MFA in creative writing from Sarah Lawrence. He is author of several books for various ages and his work has been featured in magazines and online. He lives in lower Manhattan with his husband and a very tiny cat.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?