Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great snow day story, nothing more than that, January 27, 2005
By 
A. Alexander (Washington state) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 3 yr old son absolutely loves this book and I was pleasantly surprised with the simple rhyming story and how nice it reads aloud. I couldn't disagree more with a previous reviewer's insinuation that this book is depicting a hidden sexual message simply because the two snowmen are male at the end. Last time I checked two men ("snow" or of any other type) can be friends without it meaning anything else. Ridiculous. Like I said, a great inexpensive read - words flow beautifully and the pictures are sweet and great for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All You Need for a Snowman, December 14, 2004
PreS-K. "One small snowflake fluttering down- that's all you need for a snowman. EXCEPT." Alice Schertle uses rhyming, catchy text in describing how to make a snowman. The use of the word "EXCEPT" encourages children to listen closely as they wait for the page to turn. The watercolor paintings help tell the story of neighborhood children working together to build a larger than life snowman. The children, dressed in colorful clothing "pat them and pack them and roll them around," and then, that "one big ball," seems to be larger than a house. The finished snowman is so large the book needs to be turned sideways to see it. These beautiful paintings along with the fun text keep the energy alive in this book. A great book for a snow or snowman themed storytime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and charming, March 1, 2010
This review is from: All You Need for a Snowman (Paperback)
We start with one snowflake, which is ALL you need for a snowman, except... more snowflakes. And a snowball. And more snowballs, and clothes and all.

Love the artwork, love the bouncy rhymes, this is a great book, nice and short for the preschool set. I'm going to pass it off to my local pre-k, I think they'll get a lot of use out of it - and I'm *definitely* buying "All You Need For a Beach" to go with it later this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to classroom books, January 1, 2014
By 
CCShoaf (HAGERSTOWN, MD, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All You Need for a Snowman (Paperback)
This will be a great book to use in the classroom with pre-k students as we study winter and snow. The children will find it easy and fun to make their own snowman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All You Need for a Snowman (Paperback)
A really lovely Winter story to share. My 2 year old loved talking about the illustrations and really enjoyed discussing what you need to make a real snowman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cute Story, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All You Need for a Snowman (Paperback)
I read this story to my pre-school class they loved it. After the story they made their own snowmen. They especially liked the illustrations in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1 thing BETTER than A SNOWman & that's 2 SNOWMEN!!!, December 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All You Need for a Snowman (Paperback)
CUTE SIMPLY BOOK & EASY & FUN FOR THE KIDS TO READ TO THE FAMILY! IT'S A NICE BOOK & AFFORDABLE... WE LOVE ALL SNOWMEN & SNOWANIMALS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Classic!, January 8, 2003
By A Customer
This book, with its inviting watercolors and wonderful use of words is a new favorite of mine. A snowman, built very simply yet lovingly by a neighborhood full of children is perfect for a warm cuddle with your favorite toddler.
A perfect picture book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reading-Aloud book, March 22, 2006
By 
H. M. Panagos "reader" (Southeastern Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good story to read to a group of children. The illustrations are clear and colorful and there is a nice rhythm and rhyme to the text. As the snowman is being built, and his accoutrements added, there is a teasing "except" or "but" before you turn the page, inviting participation and anticipation from the audience. I was surprised and delighted that when a new snowfall invited the construction of a second snowman it turned out to be, not a pet or a snow-wife, but another snowman. Since this is a clear departure from traditional snow-being groups I suspect the author is making a point, but a point so subtle that is only going to be noticeable if someone chooses it to be. If there is an objection to the implied message, there is no problem interpreting the story as a snowman having a snowguy buddy. The book is well worth reading regardless of how you interpret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All You Need for a Snowman
All You Need for a Snowman by Alice Schertle (Paperback - November 1, 2007)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.