Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELUXE REVIEW: DVD is a secret alternate album!
While the sophomore slump sinks a lot of artists, The Airborne Toxic Event sneaks past it with the 2-disc version of All At Once. If you're a fan of the first album, you're likely asking - is this one as good? Yes, and no. If you're a new fan, you're asking, should I start here? No - definitely start with the euphoric, engaging, self-titled debut.

All At Once...
Published on April 26, 2011 by Falsetto Prophet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Pretty good music here..
Published 7 days ago by Rambo1


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELUXE REVIEW: DVD is a secret alternate album!, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While the sophomore slump sinks a lot of artists, The Airborne Toxic Event sneaks past it with the 2-disc version of All At Once. If you're a fan of the first album, you're likely asking - is this one as good? Yes, and no. If you're a new fan, you're asking, should I start here? No - definitely start with the euphoric, engaging, self-titled debut.

All At Once is a darker, slower, denser, more textured, more personal, more emotional album. While the first album showcased massive, melodic pop that aimed for the stadium rafters, this one is more of a sit-down in your seats, theater album. Some of the arrangements recall the melodies of Somewhere Around Midnight and Gasoline from album one. I also heard echoes of Pink Floyd (Money), Billy Joel (Piano Man) and lots of Bob Dylan as the album progressed. In many ways, Airborne's album 2 is to album 1 as The Killers' rootsy, gutsier Sam's Town was to the slicker, more successful Hot Fuss.

The real treasure here is Disc 2, a DVD that features the entire album re-imagined as one-take, live acoustic videos. Dare I say, these versions sound better. They breathe more. They're not as thickly produced. Every vocal and instrument is crisp and crackles with energy. And the one-take videos are very imaginative: see the band perform on a city bus, in a sleeping girl's bedroom, on a white background, in a club, in a cathedral, on a stairway, on a carousel, on a soundstage, with the Calder quartet and children's choir from All I Ever Wanted. The dancers from their official video add percussion - even crystal wine glasses are added as instruments. Sonically, it is incredible (the sound has been mixed to studio-quality) and since they're all simple performances (the camera locks in and rarely moves), it doesn't hurt that every member of the band is easy on the eyes - no matter what your preference. Now HOW will I get Disc 2's superior soundtrack onto my iPod?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2nd Big Release, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
The Airborne Toxic Event produces an excellent follow-up to their self-titled previous effort. They explore many of the themes they explored in their last CD, but much more emotionally and deeper. The music also reflects this and has less of the jumpy/peppy feel and guitar riffs that represented their last effort. The band goes deeper most incredibly though, especially in highlighting the changing nature of life and many of these changes that one must deal with in youth and love. The lyrics don't necessarily go into deep metaphors or contain hard-to-dig-out meanings, but this is to their credit. Effortlessly and simply grand feeling is brought out with infinitely accessible words and magically rising and falling music which is an excellent mix of sounds and instruments. The band does go fairly deeply into political statements in this CD with some pieces, but the songs are good and do not overpower the overall broad scope of the album.

The overall gem of this album I would definitely consider to be All I Ever Wanted. Filled with such determination, love, and realism. Other incredibly notables are Changing and Numb.

It's an incredibly well put together album with excellent songs and that I'd recommend to both fans and newbies alike. You will definitely feel something listening to this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sweet Symphony Of Sound, May 2, 2011
By 
Call it compelling rock with a sophisticated tongue in cheek attitude. I love the arrangements and the artful addition of the violins and cello. Really lovely music that dances and floats about you like an energetic sprite.
Songs like *numb* and *Welcome To Your Wedding Day* and *Half Of Something Else* highlight the bass and percussion with a galloping rhythm that takes you away. Beautiful arrangements stand out on *All I Ever Wanted* and *Half Of Something Else*.
This album is a great addition to your collection especially if you enjoy stellar musicianship with a bit of storytelling thrown in the mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like A Punch In The GUT!, April 27, 2011
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
1.All At Once 4.5/5...good thundering track to start things off.
2.Numb 3.5/5...sounds very similar to All At Once and with a similar topic.
3.Changing 3.5/5...Catchy toe tapper, not the greatest lyrically.
4.All For A Woman 4.5/5...Beautiful song, bottom line.
5.It Doesn't Mean A Thing 3/5...kind of a punk rock feel to this one. Shortest track on the disc.
6.The Kids Are Ready To Die 3.5/5...a haunting accoustic track about war.
7.Welcome To Your Wedding Day 3/5...This a rocker and a good follow up to the last track. Not a great track, but not bad either.
8.Half Of Something Else 2.5/5...This song seems almost like an attempt at another "Sometime Around Midnight", but not nearly as good.
9.Strange Girl 2.5/5...this and Half Of Something Else are the weakest tracks.
10.All I Ever Wanted 4/5...An upbeat gem
11.The Graveyard Near The House 4.5/5...Fantastic ending for the disc. Another accoustic track and a similar subject matter as All I Ever Wanted. I really hope these guys do an accoustic disc, it fits them well.

Overall I can't say I like this disc as much as the debut, but it's still very listenable and worthy of a purchase. The instrumentation and lyrics are stronger, but the first disc felt looser to me. With all that happened to the band while away, it's no suprise this album feels so serious. I just hope they loosen a bit on album #3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!, May 2, 2011
I showed their first self titled cd so much love; I never thought it possible that this second album could rival it. I have been playing it none stop since I got it and love it more than their first album if that is even possible. The music itself is amazing the way all of the members blend together for something that touches your soul. Thoughtful lyrics by a masterful writer. I can not say enough about how much I love this band!!!! Most enjoyable at max volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Great, Great!, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All At Once (MP3 Music)
Been waiting for years for the new album and it doesn't disappoint! Best band of the last 5 years without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album! Never a dull moment, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
I think this is their best album. All the songs are distinct and each builds on a story. Great job, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All At Once (MP3 Music)
I first discovered this band when I heard a track from their new album on the radio. I listened to their third studio album pretty heavy and then decided to check out their second album. There are a lot of great tracks on All At Once. My favorite are probably track 10: All I Ever Wanted and track 11: The Graveyard Near The House. Even with those two I listen to the full album all the time. The fact that the lead singer is a novelist makes it so that the lyrics have more depth to them than a lot of other bands. Some may not like or care about that bit, but it is a big win for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing musicians, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
No matter what style of music you like, this group will be enjoyable to you. Rock combined with classical stringed instruments is magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Band Name, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All At Once (Audio CD)
Heard these albums in my "son in laws" car and absoluetly loved the band. told him if he gaVE ME THE ALBUM IT WOULD BE MY PAYMENT FOR HELPING THEM IN THEIR RECENT MOVE. hE HESITATED. wENT ONLINE AND ORDERED ALL THREE. nOT DISAPPOINTED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All At Once
All At Once by The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.