Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shining and sensitive Bossa Nova album from master Castro-Neves, May 15, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
Oscar Castro Neves comes from the early Bossa Nova era (60s). He is an inspired composer, guitar player and arranger of so many Bossa Nova classics. He's the author of 'Onde Esta Voce' and 'Morrer de Amor', both Bossa Nova standards in Brazil.

BTW, Brazilian singer Luciana Souza performs a beautiful rendition of 'Morrer de Amor' in this album.

Typically a musician of musicians, Mr. Castro-Neves is one those artists who virtually touches a song with such delicate sensibility. He's surely one of those underrated artists who acts mainly behind the scene.

Soon he moved to the USA and began working in the local studios mainly as an advisor for Brazilian music on albums by some American artists like Dianne Reeves. He is claimed to be responsible for the Bossa Nova version of 'Something' which Sarah Vaughan sings in her 'Songs of the Beatles'.

His fans are gifted a new album from Mr. Castro-Neves now and then and this is another gem, his second one for label Mack Avenue.

As usual in his albums, Mr. Castro-Neves offers some Jazz standards here and also some Brazilian hits like traditional samba 'N?o Me Diga Adeus' and Tom Jobim's 'Double Rainbow'.

He also offers an extraordinary rendition of Chopin's Prelude n? 28 and a sensitive version of bolero 'Historia de un Amor' which sounds like a slow Bossa Nova, very good taste.

Jazz standards include Thelonious Monk's 'Round Midnight' and a beautiful Bossa Nova uptempo take of John Coltrane's 'Naima'. Two standards from the Great American Songbook are also played 'There Will Never Be Another You' and Ray Noble's 'The Very Thought of You', both played with their rare verse.

Some great and intelligent compositions by Castro-Neves himself completes this must-have program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite blend of Brazilian rhythms, jazz and popular songs, August 19, 2006
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
This album has a balance of vocal and instrumental numbers, with exquisite arrangements by master Oscar Castro-Neves, wonderful vocals, great new original songs, as well as new interpretations for old classics. I listen to it non-stop. It's a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesante trabajo, April 30, 2011
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
El productor, arreglista y legendario guitarrista brasilero Oscar Castro-Neves nos entrega una producción fresca y variopinta como ésta llamada "All One".
Participan grandes músicos como Don Grusin en el piano y teclados, Briam Bromberg en el contrabajo, Alex Acuña y Mike Shapiro en las baterías, entre otros para darnos una larga seleccion de temas propios como arreglos de standards del jazz, muy interesantes, estas últimas. Interesante la participación del violinista Charlie Bisharat con histriónicos solos y del multi-instrumntista Gary Meek. Interesante la composición "More Than Yesterday" llena de virtuosismo para la guitarra y la flauta. Su versión cantada del bolero "Historia de un amor" y de la balada "The Very Thought of You" no es muy convincente que digamos a excepción de su arreglo instrumental. Excelente el arreglo en latin-bossa de "'Round Midnight" con un solo extraordinario del Briam Bromberg y Charlie Bisharat. Muy bueno tambien el tema "One Bad habit" con que cierra el disco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very well done, April 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
Really some top notch players from the L.A. studio scene. It took me a couple of listenings before I realized, this is pretty finished. The arrangements, though slightly commercial, were cool with excellent musicianship. Nice string arrangements also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Brazilian Jazz, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
A well crafted album from a legendary performer-guitarist. I personally enjoyed the vocals of Luciana Souza.A pleasure to listen to,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oc neves, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
Almost perfect, arrived today, so in due time, no scratch, no scuff, actually new. thanks a lot! I appreciated the included spare box with which the original broken one can be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful mix of styles and sounds, April 10, 2006
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
I can't stop playing the album. Morrer de amor is beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL ONE - OSCAR CASTRO-NEVES, May 26, 2007
By 
Ivonne (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
Absolutely beautiful. Oscar Castro-Neves always brings joy to those that listen to his music and All One is just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my new favorite CDs, March 25, 2007
By 
Geoff Brandt "JackFrostNFL" (Quintana Island, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
That sez it all -- one of my new favorite CDs. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All One is and all in one favorite, January 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All One (Audio CD)
Hard to say which selection is our favorite. Each one sounds better then the one before. We have played it a good dozen times and have not tired of it yet. We are in our late 60's, not teen-agers.

Jelcy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All One
All One by Oscar Castro-Neves (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.