Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can almost smell the wet, grass stained uniform.
Having grown up and played football in Western Pennsylvania, every bit of "All The Right Moves" brings back emotions, thoughts, memories and even smells. Even if you are not from Pittsburgh, you can appriciate the frustration this film captures of just wanting a better way of life. I hope any body viewing this film, at least can appreciate what the backbone...
Published on January 14, 2000 by Scott Altimus

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "All I have to do is maintain my fantastic 2.0 grade-point average and everything is cool."
Because "Risky Business" gets all the attention for being Tom Cruise's breakout film, Michael Chapman's "All the Right Moves" has often been unfairly overlooked or just outright forgotten. That is a shame because Cruise's "other" coming-of-age film is a highly entertaining effort that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as his more high profile projects...
Published on September 30, 2003 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "All I have to do is maintain my fantastic 2.0 grade-point average and everything is cool.", September 30, 2003
This review is from: All the Right Moves (DVD)
Because "Risky Business" gets all the attention for being Tom Cruise's breakout film, Michael Chapman's "All the Right Moves" has often been unfairly overlooked or just outright forgotten. That is a shame because Cruise's "other" coming-of-age film is a highly entertaining effort that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as his more high profile projects.

Cruise plays Stefan Djordjevic, a high school football player who dreams of being awarded a college scholarship in order to escape a future in the steel mills. However, Stefan's short temper often gets the best of him and his relationship with his high school coach (Craig T. Nelson) becomes strained after he participates in an incident that leaves the coach's house vandalized. With the help of his high school sweetheart, Lisa (Lea Thompson), Stefan starts to get his act together and ultimately gets his life back on track.

"All the Right Moves" proves that Tom Cruise had tremendous screen presence from the very beginning. His scenes with Nelson and Thompson provide dazzling hints of greater things still to come. Nelson, who may be better known for his comedic side, turns in an especially strong supporting performance as the coach who is both Stefan's tormentor and supporter at the same time. The story of the small-town kid dreaming to escape his surroundings for better things has been told so many times on television and film in so many different ways that it would be easy to dismiss "All the Right Moves" as just another tired re-telling. However, a familiar story is still engaging if told well and this film is proof of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 4...., August 11, 2000
By 
casualsuede (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Tom Cruise was a busy man in 1983. With the success of Taps 2 years earlier, he took a year off, then came out with 4 movies in the next year. They was Risky Business, The Outsiders, Losin It and All the Right Moves. My fav of all those was All the Right moves.
Cruise plays Stefan, a kid who plays for the Ampipe HS football team as a cornerback, in backwoods Pennsylvania. It is a one industry (steel) town and if the kids can't get away from there, they usually end up in the steelworks. Cruise doesn't want to work there. He has higher goals of being an Engineer. And football is the only way out, and a few schools have offered him a full scholarship.
His girlfriend is played by Lea Thompson, and she is a smart, insecure girl who is also talented in music, but trapped because schools don't give scholarships to music students who aren't brillant. There is always a hint of jealousy in her mannerisms as she watches the "dumb jocks" ride to the schools that she will never get into..and it is smartly portrayed near the end of the movie.
The "dumb jocks" here are the anti-stereotypes that are seen in movies today. They aren't slick, omnipotent acting jerks. Stefan and Brian (played well by Christopher Penn) are sensitive, uncertain and shy people. The other players become sidetracked as well, such as Salvucci who becomes a criminal, rather than a star or Shadow (played by Leon) who is so worried that he won't get in anywhere (but gets into Virginia Tech).
The core of the movie is the relationship between Coach (Craig T. Nelson) and Stefan. It is rocky in the beginning. Coach (who is also the typing teacher), is nervously waiting to see if he will be a defensive coach at CalTech, and is on a blaming streak against anyone messes up his chances. One person he blames is Stefan for losing the game to another school (it wasn't really his fault). It gets worse when (after kicking Stefan off the team), he catches him with a posse of local idiots vandalizing Coach's home.
In a derivative movie, Stefan would have blackmailed him, burned him into getting back on the team. Or he would ruined Coach's chances to being accepted at CalState. Coach would have become another one-dimensional badguy. But here, at the end, they resolve their differences like real people and work things out.
The only problem with the movie is that the genre has been copied so many times, by the time I saw it for the first time (7/2000), it seemed very derivative. Another spoiler for me is the ending, while upbeat, seemed a little too Hollywood. Rating: B-
Notes: There is full frontal nudity between the two leads! Also, the director of Photography was Jan deBont, who went on to better (Twister, Speed) and worse things (Speed 2, The Haunting).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can almost smell the wet, grass stained uniform., January 14, 2000
By 
Scott Altimus (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Having grown up and played football in Western Pennsylvania, every bit of "All The Right Moves" brings back emotions, thoughts, memories and even smells. Even if you are not from Pittsburgh, you can appriciate the frustration this film captures of just wanting a better way of life. I hope any body viewing this film, at least can appreciate what the backbone of this country experiences. I never realized it until I moved to Los Angeles, the respect I have for my home town. I will very soon be moving my family back. Every time I see this movie I remember who I am and how proud I am of my heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the right moves, October 6, 2009
By 
Elroy W. Cooper "Roy Cooper" (Hubbard, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the Right Moves (DVD)
Sent the movie to a grandson. He needed to see the message in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruise + Lea Thompson= Great viewing, August 12, 2000
By A Customer
You get to see Tom Cruise before he exploded and Lea Thompson like you will never see her again. Add Craig T. Nelson as coach Nickerson (what a stetch) and you can't help but have a very good movie. The plot is pretty predictable with a couple sad twists. The only thing I was disappointed in was there were not as many football scenes as I would like. But anybody who grew up in a blue-collar small town where football was king will appreciate this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, January 23, 2006
This review is from: All the Right Moves (DVD)
This movie really is a great watch. I would have to disagree that Risky Business is the better flick. Risky is very unrealistic and can be drab at times.

Yes, working in a steel mill (its not a factory, people) is not a great place to work, but before the 80's steel mills paid the bills for a lot of Western Pa's workers. What this movie portrays is the fall of the steel mills that can really be appreciated by the people who grew up in Johnstown. Unfortunately, this movie is all to realistic. Yes, the majority of people from this area have no other means to attend college. It is a very poor town and without our steel mills it has become a city in distress. It is nearly impossible for residents to get a part-time minimum wage job that only pays $5.15 an hour. It is downright unachievable to pay college when loans only cover 30% for the first year of college. How is a person to pay for the other 70% without a scholorship? I know a lot of people from this area that are "stuck" in the city and that live in poverty. Some people that do leave the area far too often have to return to their parent's poverty stricken home because of finacial problems.

This movie is very entertaining and a must see. The actors are very likeable and do a great job portraying what Johnstown was really like. Football is by-far more more supported than other sports and extra-curricular activities in Johnstown. The ending is not laughable, but it will put a smile on your face that there is a happy ending to Tom Cruise's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, February 9, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the Right Moves (DVD)
This movie is about Stef Djordjevic, a standout football player for his high school team, who lives in a small industrial steel-producing town in Pennsylvania. Stef has ambitions to leave the town by obtaining a football scholarship at a university, hence, achieving a better life. The steel mill, which seems to employ the entire population of the town, is also laying workers off.

This is a very coming-of-age movie and focuses alot on teenagers and issues that they have to deal with as well as on people, who are "stuck" living in small towns or poor areas with limited future prospects. The title "All the Right Moves" translates really to making the right choices in this state of one's life.

Stef, played by Tom Cruise, has to perform well in football games, impress scouts from universities, and deal with his loving girlfriend Lisa. Other minor characters in the movie are teammate Brian, who unintentionally impregnates his girlfriend which destroys his plan to attent USC on a football scholarship, and Vinny Salvucci, who gets involved in crime and winds up behind bars.

The plot peaks in the movie when Stef gets into a conflict with his coach, who, as a result, uses his influance to discourage other colleges from offering Stef any scholarships. Can Stef still make it out of the dying mill town via a scholarship or will he be stuck in a factory for the rest of his life?

The only thing I didn't like was the supposed dilemma presented by Lisa that she is stuck in the town because her parents have no money and no school offers scholarship in her desired specialty. I believe that is nonsense. Almost any person who wants to attain a higher education, can do so. There are many options such as working part-time, student loans, scholarships, financial aid, military, and others. I find it hard to believe that someone is hopelessly stuck somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All The Right Moves DVD, January 15, 2007
This review is from: All the Right Moves (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my husband for Christmas, He loves it and watches it frequently. Great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost 100% beleivable drama of high school athletectics, April 4, 1999
By A Customer
Tom Cruise in one of his remarkable performances as a high school football player. Craig T. Nelson plays a villian coach who makes a simple coaching mistake during a tough football clash. The coach has a well thought out game plan, until the last play of the game. He ends up costing more than his team's winning against a top-ranked foe, he loses his respect among the team's unsung defensive leader. Cruise works well with co-star Leah Thompson as well as Sean Penn. At times this story may seem unbeleivable, but in many ways it is so true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football glory days, March 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the Right Moves (DVD)
Ah man, it doesn't get any better than this. Tom Cruise was and is a very good actor. This movie never get's old, it get's freaking better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All the Right Moves
All the Right Moves by Michael Chapman (DVD - 2010)
$9.98 $6.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.