Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Indie for the Holidays in Prime Music Outdoors Gift Guide on HTL

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 16, 2015
This unusual dark mystery is engrossing and atmospheric and it avoids easy answers and cheap thrills. A temporarily disabled police detective is asked by a relative of his dead wife to find a woman who has vanished. The search itself is fascinating, as is the detective and the people he meets in the course of his search. Amazon recommended the book to me based on my appreciation of Natsuo Kirino's novels. This book isn't quite as hard and pitiliess as her work, but it has some indelible moments and is worth a read for fans of Kirino and unconventional mysteries.

The translation is graceful and unobtrusive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
thoroughly enjoyed this intriguing story. I admit, I wanted to see the final interrogation, but I was utterly engrossed in the detective work and in learning about the ins and outs of Japanese culture that could lead to an event like this. Really absorbing, very tight writing. Excellent--recommend it highly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
That was a fascinating insight into fraud and intrigue. I liked this one. I wish there were more fiction mysteries that dealt with organized crime and all of its different flavors. I learned a lot about scams and the Japanese people.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 1, 2014
A decent police procedural this, with lots of good touches but a few flaws. On the plus side of the ledger are the sleuth, a widower with an adopted son and a gammy leg; an ingenious believable premise of stolen identity; and the completely authentic setting of the seedier side of 90s Japan trying to keep the bubble inflated on borrowed money.

But in the minus column, a couple of pages demand to be skipped where a lawyer spouts exposition on the dangers to, and legal standing of heretofore not aforementioned folks affected by bankruptcy and personal debt that read suspiciously like Miyabe had just discovered an online legal dictionary and the cut and paste function on her word processor. More critically, I thought the novel lacked a little tension. At no point was our sleuth or his kid in any danger; every hunch proved to be correct; and I kept waiting for the twist which never arrived.

It felt like Miyabe could have done more, tested the characters or taken the plot a little further, but had stayed comfortably in the black, instead of pushing for broke. Still, worth a read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
While Police Detective Shunsuke Honma is on leave after he injured his leg, a distant relative of his late wife appears and asks for help. His fiancée Shoko Sekine has disappeared after a bank rejected her application for a credit card, revealing her past bankruptcy. Honma’s investigation reveals the woman’s descent into debt, a common problem in Japan’s consumer driven economy. But soon he finds out the fiancée might have murdered the real Shoko Sekine and taken over the woman’s identity. When he digs out the imposter’s background, he realizes that her family’s financial problems had driven her to assume the new identity.

Though the pace is slow and parts of the novel can be taken out without much loss, the search for the identities and backgrounds of the two women is interesting. But what really holds the story together is the problem associated with debt-driven consumer-oriented economy, the common link between the two women, the real and the fake Shoko Sekine. The desire to escape from debt, driving their lives to the sad ending. The issue is as relevant today as it was in the 1990’s.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
Striking book! Haunting and ghostly - the best of this authors work. Tokyo is portrayed with a savvy and sophistication only a local writer can capture; this lends the characters and eeriness rarely portrayed in other work. Great read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Great movie to stay at home on a weekend and relax with, good for any collections and is always nice to watch again when the mood strikes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
A well written, finely crafted novel that as it tells a riveting story says something about contemporary life in Japan. The author is a prolific, quite popular writer that has been rarely translated.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2012
This is an exceptional book. There are layers under layers of plot and the characterizations are truly brilliant. Miyabe is amazingly deft and I recommend this book highly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2012
After reading this novel several years ago, I went back to it to re-read prior to nominating it for my book club.
It is a fascinating story of a country's registration process, the lengths to which envy and jealousy will drive a person, and a complicated mystery with tangled webs of deceit... unfolding like the layers of an onion...slow but sure.
One impressive fact about the book is that it is not a depiction of a "RUSH" process in tracking information and . This tale does not emulate the "Law and Order" (Dink, Dink) style in which clues fall into place as if ordered at a drive-through window. Impatient Readers Beware!!!
The novel's pace reminds me of a Captain's comment to his crew as his ship works through the straits, "Steady As She Goes" (which is the reality in many detective cases).
There is so much to learn inside these pages...about Japan, greed, betrayal and the plodding hard work of a committed detective.

It is also a book which I think of as 'ahead of its time' in terms of its center theme of an ever-increasing type of theft which was unheard of in the past, but has ruined so many lives in the last two decades. I have a true appreciation of the author for not being tempted to make the culmination of the case be a short-cut, but who takes us on a journey filled with many side trips of means, methods and discoveries.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Out: A Novel
Out: A Novel by Stephen Snyder (Paperback - January 4, 2005)

Malice: A Mystery
Malice: A Mystery by Keigo Higashino (Paperback - September 8, 2015)

In the Miso Soup
In the Miso Soup by Ryu Maurakami (Paperback - March 28, 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.