Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional and dark Superman story!
Lex Luthor (Anthony Lapaglia) had made a plan to poison Superman (James Denton) with solar radiation as the man-of-steel is dying. He has weeks to live as he must fulfill everything he's always dreamed of including revealing his secret identity to Lois (Christina Hendricks) and must do everything he can to live his life through the weeks of dying for he also must do...
Published on March 2, 2011 by John Lindsey

versus
22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing Tale Not Up To DCAU's Standards
Allow me, for the sake of justifying my complaints about this piece from the onset, to say that I am a subscriber to the theory that the DCAU crew is responsible for the absolute best incarnations of the DC comic characters of all time. Whenever I begin to burn out on the whole animated comic hero industry, a trip to my Batman the Animated Series collection or through a...
Published on August 28, 2011 by ONENEO


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional and dark Superman story!, March 2, 2011
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Lex Luthor (Anthony Lapaglia) had made a plan to poison Superman (James Denton) with solar radiation as the man-of-steel is dying. He has weeks to live as he must fulfill everything he's always dreamed of including revealing his secret identity to Lois (Christina Hendricks) and must do everything he can to live his life through the weeks of dying for he also must do battle against his old foes besides Lex like Parasite (Michel Gough, Atlas (Steve Blum) and even Samson (John Dimaggio).

Nicely done adaptation of Grant Morrison's graphic novel is an emotional and exciting Superman animated adventure and one of the better DC animated movies. The designs are quite different on the characters as if they appeared to look more like Peter "Aeon Flux creator" Chung's designs and i also like how this was the first appearence of Superwoman to appear. The animation is very good and so is the music, there is plenty of great action here and a great ending.

This Blu-Ray offers crystal picture and sound quality with terrific extras like featurettes, commentary, all-star Superman digital comic, sneek preview of "Green Lantern Emerald Knights" and two bonus Superman episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took me of guard, February 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I never read the comic series of All-Star Superman so I didn't no anything about it except what I saw in the trailers. I saw Public Enemies and Apocalypse, the Superman/Batman team-ups, they were very good. The mood and the action in the story were driven by emotion and that was something I've never seen in a superhero story before, it was true to the character of who Superman is in my mind. It's heart felt, its funny, it has action and romance, its one of the best works from Dewayne McDuffie who recently deceased. The best Superman story I have ever seen a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All-Star Superman (Single-Disc Edition), February 6, 2012
This review is from: All-Star Superman (DVD)
If you ever wondered how Superman could possibly die? If he did die, what would happen to his essence? Is it possible for Superman to have children? Would Lex Luthor ever use his intellect for the good of humanity? Who would write Superman's obituary for the Daily Planet? Would the meek and mild reporter named Clark Kent perform a heroic act?

All Star Superman answers those questions and many more. It is a love story. It's a hero story with some nasty villains besides Alexander Joseph Luthor.

The main story takes place on Lois Lane's birthday where Superman whisks her off to the Fortress of Solitude. There she discovers more about Superman and Clark Kent.

The Fortress is a museum, workshop, laboratory and most of all a homage to an ancient planet known as Krypton. This hermitage is where Superman pursues his various interests and vocations. Except for his robot helpers it is a lonely, isolated place.

Perhaps this is the core of the film--Superman's unique loneliness and isolation. Growing up in Smallville he had his earth parents and special friends like Lana and Pete. In Metropolis he had Jimmy and Lois, but all in all Superman's existence was a lonely plight of a strange visitor from another world untouched by humanity's mortality.

The various battles, the inspiring music and the sad overtones of a demi-god facing his end are wrapped into a neat package. The poignant conversation between Superman and Lois about their genetic incompatibility is touching.

The conversation between Clark and Lex as they fight for survival in a prison riot reveals how Lex feels about Clark and how Clark feels about Lex. Lex and Superman could have been great friends.

There are many elements in this film as well as many characters. Bottom line: it's a great story if you look pass certain plot and voice nuances.

The ending leaves one speechless and saddened, but a special book holds the promise. It is that promise which makes what went before easier to accept--that the cosmos has a plan for its special beings, its protectors of planets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Superman movie, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't have the same emotional connection some wrote about, but felt this was very well done considering the increasingly annoying run-time limitations the WB imposes. The primary reason I didn't connect is that movies worth watching need more time to develop (especially one that attempt serious subject matter). Big reveals are meaningless when there's no time to let them sink in, and react naturally. How can you seriously appreciate anything with rushed progression?

That being said I think this is one of the very best DCAU movies to date. I didn't think I'd like the look of this movie (felt the preview art was soft, etc), but quickly took to it and the voice acting was excellent (including the first Lois Lane I liked that wasn't Dana Delany). Overall, in good company with Under the Red Hood, BB Return of Joker, JL Doom, and Wonder Woman.

I would have loved to see how Dwayne McDuffie could handle the subject with more time, but considering WB seems to find little merit in the storytelling benefits of longer DCAU features, this will be a about as good as they get. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing Tale Not Up To DCAU's Standards, August 28, 2011
By 
ONENEO (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: All-Star Superman (DVD)
Allow me, for the sake of justifying my complaints about this piece from the onset, to say that I am a subscriber to the theory that the DCAU crew is responsible for the absolute best incarnations of the DC comic characters of all time. Whenever I begin to burn out on the whole animated comic hero industry, a trip to my Batman the Animated Series collection or through a few Justice League Unlimited episodes are all it takes to remind me of everything that is right about the concept of turning static comic panels into animated life.

That said, I've noticed many of the crew responsible for the aforementioned properties (Bruce Timm, Alan Burnett, the late Dwayne McDuffie and company) have since shifted gears from weekly serial production to animated feature film work exclusively. While a few of these features have been pretty darn impressive (I enjoyed Batman: Under the Red Hood, Superman/ Batman Public Enemies and Justice League Crisis on Two Earths to mention a few) but All Star Superman is one of the oddest animated films I've encountered, DCAU or otherwise, in quite some time.

All-Star Superman, on which this picture is based, is a twelve-issue comic book series featuring Superman that ran from November 2005 to October 2008. The series was written by Grant Morrison, drawn by Frank Quitely, digitally inked by Jamie Grant and published by DC Comics.

The film incarnation is actually the tenth in the DC Universe Animated Original Movies line released by Warner Premiere and the first in the line that is rated PG (as opposed to the usual PG-13 rating).

The plot goes like this: Dr. Leo Quintum and his P.R.O.J.E.C.T. Team are exploring the Sun when they are sabotaged by a booby-trapped, genetically enhanced Lex Luthor clone. Superman saves the doomed crew, but it turns out that in the process has been overdosed with radiation that, while responsible for increasing his power initially, is actually slowly killing him. Luthor, having orchestrated the death of Superman while under the employment of General Sam Lane, is arrested thanks to Clark Kent's article and sentenced to death.

Playing off the unique angle of the arch nemeses responsible for the inevitable death of the other, there is a lot of potential in this plot structure. Sadly, I felt as though the delivery of these ideals never manages to live up to the possibilities.

For starters, this 76-minute film suffers from the undeniable feeling of trying to fit entirely too many key moments from the 12-issue book run into a little over an hour's worth of narrative. As expected, this mash of plot threads often comes off as completely disconnected from one another. Characters appear frequently, do something completely contrived, then vanish for the duration of the film. Detours like Superman's encounter with Samson and Atlas and even the Kryptonian scientists will leave even the most diehard fans of the franchise scratching their heads in "what in the world was that?" theatrics.

These threads work out in the books on which this film is based simply because they are given due time to develop. Perhaps had they been integrated here more subtly earlier on and allowed to play out in the background to the seriousness of the larger issues at hand, they may have worked out here as well. Instead they come off as unnecessary plot devices.

However, in all fairness there are a few qualities here that prevent this one from sinking like a cinder block. Among these are the opportunity to witness Frank Quitely's bright crisp art work come to animated life and a modern take on the Lois Lane character.

In all though the end result here is quite a muddled mess. The story itself is interesting and arguably tragic enough to warrant looking into the mini-series but the film will most certainly under-whelm both fans of the books and of past DCAU efforts alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As It Gets, February 24, 2011
By 
Todd S. Burroughs (Hyattsville, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It will be difficult for Bruce Timm and Co. to beat three of their last four: "Batman: Under The Red Hood," "Justice League: Crisis On Two Earths" and now, this, the adaptation of arguably the best Superman story in the character's long history.

Even Timm admits that this 12-chapter-but-each-issue-stands-alone tale was hard to adapt. Dwayne McDuffie (now an Ancestor) did a great job, focusing the often metaphysical, mythological story on the main three (four): Superman/Clark Kent, Lois Lane and Lex Luthor. Lovers of the amazing story by Grant Morrison (one of the top writers in comics because even when he falls short, his work is more interesting that others' successes) will be disappointed to know what was cut--the Bizarro storyline, the Jimmy Olsen issue, the "Earth Q"/What-does-Superman-mean story and the Smallville/Supermen Squad story. But what was kept in was extremely faithful to what Morrison and artist Frank Quitely created.

Contrary to many opinions here, the voices, in my opinion, are great and appropriate to the project. James Denton (Superman) is strong and vulnerable, Christina Hendricks (Lois Lane) shifts from caring to flirty to cynical to faithful, and Anthony LaPaglia (Lex Luthor) is consumed by jealousy and power. Luthor just wants to win, regardless of the costs. And he does. Then he loses more than he ever thought he would. And under McDuffie, involved in an ending/beginning that is as thought-provocating as it was under Morrison.

The Two-Disc Special Edition includes a documentary on Morrison's ideas about "All Star Superman," the now-standard "sneak peek" into the forthcoming "Green Lantern: Emerald Knights," and "Blast From The Past," the "Superman: TAS" two-parter about Kryptonian fascists who fight Superman after leaving the Phantom Zone.

A great effort that more than makes up for "Superman: Doomsday," which, like the live-action "Superman Returns," doesn't work no matter how many times I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Side of Superman I Have Never Seen Before. (Book 3 Pt. 1), February 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Superman is one of the most recognizable icons in the world today. He has many adoring fans of all his media. He has been seen in comic books television and films and heard through radio serials and word of mouth. In the mid 1990s Bruce Timm, after much success with his animated series of Batman, decided to move his talents to Superman. What he gave us was a true strait off the page Superman that was yet to be seen in visual media. This was a Superman that showed weaknesses just as deep as his strengths. His ability to care as well as his ability to slug it out with super natural threats. Most importantly this was a Superman that the fans have wanted to see brought to life Still, over time this vision remained in the shadow of its film counterpart which lacked his characteristics we still had yet to see that were as authentic as Bruce Timm's vision.

Bruce Timm's DCAU film projects have featured Superman doing what he does best, saving humanity and punishing evil. Now we have the newest film `All Star Superman'. This was a film I was eager to see much like all the others, but what I got was something I never would have expected. I was aware of the plot and aware of the films basis, but this was the first time I have ever seen a specific side of the Man of Steel . That was a side of his I always knew was there, but this film brought it right out into the open and that is the Man of Steel's heart of gold. This film is very different from all the other films as a matter of fact, it is a work of art. The film touches on Superman's want to love and care for others. In the moments where he feels the most vulnerable are the moments he wears his heart on his sleeve for all to see. We see his relationship to Lois taken to brand new heights, his caring for his parents and even the urge to save the fallen like his arch nemesis Lex Luthor. Of course we are not without some amazing battles, but even in the bloodshed there is a deep emotion thrown into every punch that Superman throws. The voice cast for this film is amazing. While so many want the regular voices of the DCAU greats, they are not always perfect for the films. Anthony LaPaglia was a perfect Luthor for this film because he was able to show a heartless Lex as well as one who seeks redemption. Christina Hendricks brings a brand new spunk to Lois with her perfect comedic timing as well as her most vulnerable of moments. James Denton could not have been a more perfect Superman for this project. He gave his all to bring out the Superman you see in this film. He gave Superman a heart and made this Superman so real and that is why I think I enjoyed this film.

There was a lot of negative feedback about this film so far, but I think it's because in order to love this film, you need to have a true love for Superman. You have to remember all the major factors that made him who he is from his origin story to the legendary quote "Look...up in the sky!" You have to have know, not just the names Clark Kent or Lois Lane, but Christopher Reeve, George Reeves and Teri Hatcher. This is a movie that will lift you possibly make you cry, and make you feel emotions of love, loss and hope. 'All Star Superman', is a film that we Superman fans have secretly been waiting for, because it shows us fans of the DCAU and its creators that there is so much more than can be brought to a superhero besides the powers and flashy costumes. Because under the mask and the symbol, we all share the most important similarity of all, we are all human.

Also this was a perfect final project for DCAU writer Dwayne McDuffie who passed away one day after this DVD release. He gave us some of the DCAUs best work and this is couldn't be a better send off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Superman you never see, December 12, 2011
By 
Cincinnati, OH (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have kind of parted ways with Superman and most of the DC universe outside of Batman, but I really enjoed this story. It's the Superman we have never seen. The art is really good, but the story is the real catch here. It's that question all of us fantasize about at one time or another, "What would I do if I only had X time to live ?? Add to that "If I had Superpowres" and you get the idea. It also paints Lex in an interesting light, but I don't want to give too much away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite DCA Movies Yet., February 22, 2011
I went into this movie not expecting a whole lot, mainly from the negative reviews I've read, but I was happily surprised with this film. I only read the first volume of the graphic novel and thought it was an interesting tale for Superman. I never did get volume 2, but after watching this I really want to. It's one of my favorite DCA movies yet. It's right behind "Batman: Under The Red Hood" for me. I thought the animation complimented the graphic novel nicely, actually thought they improved on it. The beginning and end are definitely some of the best parts of the film. I loved the scenes with Clark and Lex, and when Clark visits Jonathan's grave site. It definitely has some emotional scenes in it, which I thought was great.

Can't wait for Green Lantern: Emerald Knight & Batman: Year One!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SUPERMAN EVER, September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All-Star Superman (DVD)
I'm a big Superman fan and was this has to be the best animated superhero film I've ever seen. I would've paid to see it in theaters it was that good. From the artwork to the storyline - 5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All-Star Superman (Amazon Exclusive Limited Edition with Litho Cel) [Blu-ray]
Used & New from: $38.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.