Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect First Tea Book
A great general introduction to the topic of tea. The title may be a bit misleading as the book broad-brushes tea on a worldwide basis not just Chinese tea. It covers origin, history, production, health and techniques. Well illustrated, with plenty of useful lists in the back of the book including names of many teas in both English and Chinese.
Published on June 24, 2004 by Fredrik W.

versus
53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much information on Chinese tea
This book might be useful to someone looking for a book with general information about tea, but for someone who wants to learn about the real art of Chinese tea, this book is useless . The book does not go into any detail about important elements of Chinese tea drinking such as Yixing teapots and the gongfu brewing method; it just tries to explain them in a few sentences...
Published on June 6, 2002 by Phan Rik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much information on Chinese tea, June 6, 2002
By 
Phan Rik (Amherst, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
This book might be useful to someone looking for a book with general information about tea, but for someone who wants to learn about the real art of Chinese tea, this book is useless . The book does not go into any detail about important elements of Chinese tea drinking such as Yixing teapots and the gongfu brewing method; it just tries to explain them in a few sentences. After reading this book, you will hardly have gained any knowledge of Chinese tea at all.
The book is obviously an imitation of John Blofeld's "The Chinese Art of Tea", which is an excellent book on the subject of Chinese tea. This book even copied the format of "The Chinese Art of Tea" by inserting small drawings in the margins, and they also copied the teahouse section of "The Chinese Art of Tea". The only thing they forgot to copy was all the good information.
The section in this book on tea brewing, entitled "How to Make a Nice Cup of Tea", provides instructions on making tea that could only be used to make tea for your dogs. The book does not explain any of the Chinese brewing methods, it seems like the authors just read the back of a Lipton box and copied into their book. If you are interested in Chinese tea, it is much better to find a few good websites on Chinese tea than to buy this book. Anybody who has even a small amount of knowledge of Chinese tea can see that this book is very badly made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect First Tea Book, June 24, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
A great general introduction to the topic of tea. The title may be a bit misleading as the book broad-brushes tea on a worldwide basis not just Chinese tea. It covers origin, history, production, health and techniques. Well illustrated, with plenty of useful lists in the back of the book including names of many teas in both English and Chinese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toteally Impressed, June 2, 2000
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
I was indeed totally impressed by the content of this book. Though it focused on the black, green, and oolong teas of the Orient, it was thoroughly informative about the history,processing methods, health benifits of teas in general. It included and extensive chapter on flavor descripitons and origins of oriental teas ( much like a wine guide). If you want to know what you are drinking and why you should continue, this book is for you! If you want to be inspired to discover many new teas, this book is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Tea Books, Period, February 20, 2008
By 
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
I have a dozen or so tea books, but this is pretty much my favorite. Partly because I prefer Chinese teas, but also because it covers the production of tea in great detail. It also has a good overview of many famous tea varieties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tea reference book, July 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
I found this tea book to be a very good reference book on tea's origin, how and when it's popularity spread to other realms, how to enjoy tea and what kinds of utensils are used to make and drink tea. I would have enjoyed more pictures and the ones that are here are in black and white, but this is an information packed read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, but possibly superceded, May 26, 2010
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
It's rather hard to believe how much Chinese tea has changed, at least from an American perspective, since this book was published. At the time, this book was likely to introduce the reader to teas he had never heard of and would likely never be able to try, such as yellow tea, which wasn't available Stateside for any price. Twenty years later, yellow tea is available even from some lower-end tea vendors.

The reader of 2010 may find it difficult to forgive the occasional innacuracies and miss the sense of wonder the book originally carried. Reading this book even in the late 90's was like reading the account of Marco Polo's journey: learning about strange and wonderful teas you never knew existed, that you couldn't find attested anywhere else and for which you had only Chow & Kramer's word. That said, it is a wonderful little book that covers most of the basics of Chinese tea, and, if the reader will forgive the occasional minor inaccuracy or somewhat outdated fact, he will likely find it very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical significants of Chinese Tea, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
World history is about human behavior over the ages. The authors carefully examine our humanity through the eyes of Chinese Tea. Wars have been fought over the cost of tea, the authors carefully and comfortable teach you about the worlds most endearing beverage.
Rediscover teas roots and you will see where our society is going, the behavior of man does not change but the history as told by the authors explains ancient practices, in trade routes and it's cultural impact.

I like to read a few pages with my morning Puh-er Tea and think of ancient Chinese tea traders, their customs and behavior over the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tea for Two - China and the World, December 31, 2011
By 
Walter W. Ko "Walter Ko" (St Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
This is one of the modern classic on this national drink - tea. It is true that tea help start a revolution and a new country. But Americans chose coffee over tea afterwards.
However, in recent decades, people find out the health benefits of drinking tea, green, oolong or black. It help create bottle tea industry.
This book gives a comprehensive overview on the tea tradition from the creation, to history and the tea ceremony. With the knowledge from the book in making a cup of nice tea, the reader will surely duplicate and elevate the tea drinking pleasure in the same poem:

The first cup caresses my dry lips and throat,
The second shatters the walls of my lonely sadness,
The third searches the dry rivulets of my soul to find the stories of five thousand scrolls.
With the fourth the pain of past injustice vanished through my pores,
The fifth purifies my flesh and hone,
With the sixth, I am in touch with the immortals.
The seventh gives such pleasure I can hardly bear.
The fresh wind blows through my wings
As I make my way to Penglai (Paradise)
The Story of Tea: A Cultural History and Drinking Guide
Tea: Bioactivity and Therapeutic Potential (Medicinal and Aromatic Plants - Industrial Profiles)The Classic of Tea: Origins & Rituals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect blend, November 10, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the Tea in China (Paperback)
No fetishism nor fussiness in this volume, just excellent information and tips for the tea drinker and interested historian/gardener/travel buff/philosopher/health-seeker. If anything, this book demystifies Chinese teas with its clear and readable presentation -- instructive but not school-bookish. If you think there's more to life than powdered iced-tea mixes -- or even if you don't -- this book will tell you the rest of the story of your favorite brew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All the Tea in China
All the Tea in China by Kit Boey Chow (Paperback - Sept. 1990)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.