Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Mudcrutch Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars54
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 23, 2010
I love this book and the predecessor, "Mortal Coils." The characters are fun, the gods are made human (which is a nice touch) and the story is refreshingly different even while falling in the genre neatly.

My one complaint is, what did I spend $16 on this book for if the editors and copywriters are going to damage the authors fabulous writing with CONSTANT typos, misspellings, and errors? I could see finding this plethora of mistakes in a cheap book but this is a $16 large paperback book, and should have been actually READ by the publishing company before being, you know, published. If I were Nylund, I would fire Tor and get a new publishing company. I am continually annoyed by sentences like "This wasn't like when he had Fiona had fought Beelzebub." "Canon" instead of "cannon". And the like.
66 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2011
This was a brilliantly conceived novel by the author. It truly is worthy of five stars. Imaginative, action-packed, thought-provoking, and rip-roaring fun are all appropriate descriptions of this novel. So why did I give it only 3 stars? The novel is almost ruined by the inability of the publishers to hire a competent proofreader. I usually pick up on misspellings and common typos in books. Most books I read have several--after all nobody is perfect. I have never read a book with so many errors that it actually detracts from the author's intent. But this novel takes the cake. There are almost as many obvious errors as there are pages, and this is a 700 page book! It is maddening and infuriating to pay nearly $20 for a book these days only to find that the publishers were so woefully negligent. Being unemployed right now, I almost want to go through this book with a red pen like an old-school English teacher and send it to the publishers as a resume for a proofreading job. It really is that bad. Shame on you Tor. I will start buying your books second-hand from now on so that you never see my hard-earned money again. You cheated me.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
I haven't read a young adult book since I was... a young adult. This series is pretty good. One big problem. It's cancelled. Yes, Tor cancelled the series. As it stands, there will be no third book in this series. Really puts a downer on things as this book goes from being a good start to a legendary series to a prequel "second chapter" to nothing. What has happened to publishing. If your series is wildly successful, you can't ever finish it and must continue writing book after book until you die akin to The Wheel of Time and Song of Ice and Fire series. If your series isn't wildly successful yet still apparently profitable, then you must upset the people who actually bought the books thinking there would be followups by cancelling it. Nothing is worse then reading a story or watching a movie with a huge gaping hole in it that a future book/movie is meant to plug into regardless if that media ever gets created. He didn't put an entirely terrible hole at the end of this book. It actually ended well and interestingly. Problem is, it definitely does set up for a sequel and leaves many threads unresolved in preparation for it.

Thing is, this series seems to have done well, but just not enough for Tor. Is this Eric deciding he doesn't want to continue the series and pawning the decision to suspend it on Tor, or is it Tor betting that Eric can make them more money doing other work? Who knows. Who cares. I'm going to just make a new rule for myself. Don't read "The first book in xxx series" until that series is complete no matter what the rave reviews are. Maybe the next rule will be just to not read Tor series and stick to their self-contained novels.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2011
This book was awesome. From the moment I started to the moment I finished I was completely enthralled. Unlike 'Mortal Coils' the pace is set right from the beginning and it doesn't slow down. I found myself much more glued to this installment of the series than I was to the first, not to say there is anything wrong with 'Mortal Coils'. I also agree with other reviewers that the publishing company was grossly incompetent in not fixing grammatical errors before printing, but I don't want that to take away from the rating of the story itself. I would highly recommend reading this series partly because you'll enjoy it, and also because as far as I know the rest of the series has not been green lit by the publisher's yet. So please help this amazing series come to fruition by purchasing the series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2011
Just as refreshing as the first one. I'll be looking forward to the third installment "What Fools These Mortals".

My only negative comment ,as others have noted, are the errors found in the text of even the Kindle Edition. It is as if it was never edited before being published. Common misspellings and wording througout the book that seem to become more frequent towards the end. I started to highlight them as I was reading, but there were too many and I gave up!

Regardless of that, this is a fantastic story and I hope that the entire series is published.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2010
I need a time machine in order to go back in time and never start reading the Mortal Coils Series.
Why would I so something so stupid you ask? Because my life is in utter and complete disarray. Ever since I read the back cover for Mortal Coils I have wanted nothing more than to jump into this world feet first and never come back. The moment I finished reading Mortal Coils I placed it on the top shelf of my bookshelf (which is reserved for only my favorite books) and went straight to the computer to pre-order All That Lives Must Die.
The day I open my mailbox and All That Lives Must Die was waiting for me, I walked back in the house, took off my shoes, called off summer school, and started to read. I finished almost a quarter of the book in the first day. Every time I put it down I felt like I was having withdrawals and needed my Eliot/Fiona FIX!! This installment takes you down roads that seem almost too good to be true. With Nylund's writing style I felt as though I could see every inch of this amazing world he has created right before my eyes.

The story of Eliot and Fiona is great, filled with twists and turns, and emotions that I am not sure I could endure. It makes you laugh, makes you cry, makes you hold your breathe while reading. Their relationship evolves throughout the story and takes turns and bumps that most siblings would not survive through. Both Eliot and Fiona go through individual growth that has yet to be seen before. But one of the most interesting areas in this series is finding out more and more about who the twins' Uncles and Aunts are, or were throughout the history of the world. Nylund brings together so many different cultures and mythologies and rolls them up in a tortilla to make the most delicious idea-burrito ever.

I had the great pleasure of emailing Eric Nylund to inquire about the next installment in the series and was greatly excited when I actually received an email back. It is always nice to see an artist actually caring about their fans and wanting to interact with them.

Please please please please please go out and purchase Mortal Coils and All That Lives Must Die and simply immerse yourself in something never seen or heard of before. These books are a must read for anyone and everyone. They are more than worth every penny you will spend and you may even end up purchasing another set for a friend or loved one. I know I did!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
Love Eric Nylund. Unfortunately this story is cut short by the fact that there is no third book. It's supposed to be a series but the publisher pulled the plug and won't give Eric the rights to the story back so now we don't know where or how the story ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
This book kept my interest. I am a speed reader and the author slowed me down. I enjoyed reading both books in this series and I know the author will never publish the remaining books, which makes me sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2012
This is an amazing series so far. Witty, inventive, original, and engaging. This author has made a major step into refreshing the fantasy genre. I could not recommend it more. The dialogue is well written and the characters are unique and engaging while still relatable to by the reader. I do not like to summarize books in reviews as that is what the blurbs are for but the stories and plots remind me of "American Gods", "Anansi Boys", and other works by Neil Gaiman. I am excited to read the upcoming third installment and perhaps other works by this author. Happy Reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
Eric Nylund spins an engaging tale in his sophomore effort of the Mortal Coil Series and leaves us wanting more. As a fraternal male twin myself of a male/female pairing, his "twin" characters don't always ring true, but they are close enough to be believable as brother and sister. Let's hope Book 3 gives us some sibling rivalry and a satisfying conclusion to this modern day fable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.