All You Could Ask For: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $25.99
  • Save: $10.00 (38%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
All You Could Ask For: A ... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Ex-Library. Former library book. Dust jacket in Has dustjacket condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

All You Could Ask For: A Novel Hardcover – April 2, 2013


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$15.99
$3.95 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014
$15.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

All You Could Ask For: A Novel + Why My Wife Thinks I'm an Idiot: The Life and Times of a Sportscaster Dad + Mike and Mike's Rules for Sports and Life
Price for all three: $43.05

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow (April 2, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062220756
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062220752
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.9 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (293 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #396,783 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

A seemingly incongruous choice of subject matter for author Greenberg, well-known ESPN anchor, All You Could Ask For examines the lives of three well-to-do women from Greenwich, Connecticut. Part 1 of the novel introduces us to Brooke, the young mother still very much in love with her husband; Samantha, the newlywed shocked to discover evidence of her husband’s infidelity while they’re on their Hawaiian honeymoon; and Katherine, the powerful banking executive who still works for the man who broke her heart years ago. Part 2 goes on to reveal how the women come to know one another and how their lives change for the better through shared friendships. Although the novel comes off, at times, as manufactured and cloying, Greenberg’s heart is in the right place. The shared adversity these women face is portrayed realistically and tenderly, although a storybook ending ties up the individual stories a little too neatly. The three women are well drawn, and Greenberg displays an admirable ear for realistic dialogue. Fans of Deborah Copaken Konan, Sarah Pekkanen, and contemporary ensemble fiction will enjoy this debut novel. --Stephanie Turza

Review

“Funny and moving.” (Connecticut Post)

“Delves with authenticity and compassion into the lives and minds of three female characters . . . This well-written page-turner by a surprising author . . . features true-to-life characters who are entertaining and compelling. A must read for fans of smart women’s fiction.” (Library Journal)

“Upbeat [and] snappy.” (Publishers Weekly)

“The shared adversity these women face is portrayed realistically and tenderly . . . The three women are well drawn, and Greenberg displays an admirable ear for realistic dialogue. Fans of Deborah Copaken Konan, Sarah Pekkanen, and contemporary ensemble fiction will enjoy this debut novel.” (Booklist)

“Mike is as clever, astute, and perceptive as he is brilliant. He has beautifully pulled off the three female voices in this novel -- a rare feat for a man -- with tremendous wisdom and insight. I can’t wait to see what he does next.” (Jane Green, New York Times-bestselling author)

“Who would have guessed that a guy who works for ESPN could write such a terrific novel for women? . . . This book, and these women, surprised me all the way through, and moved me to tears and laughter both.” (Dorothea Benton Frank, New York Times-bestselling author)

“I’m proud of Greeny. His characters could be anybody’s mother, sister or best friend. We can all relate in one way or another to their relationships and lives.” (Chris Golic, aka Mrs. Golic)

“He may be the ‘king of guy talk,’ but wait until you read the way he writes women.” (Stacy Steponate Greenberg, aka Mrs. Greeny)

“I read All You Could Ask For with slack-jawed admiration. Hands-down rookie of the year!” (Bruce Feiler, New York Times bestselling author of The Council of Dads and The Secrets of Happy Families)

“ESPN radio host Mike Greenberg makes his living on guy talk, but who knew he had a gift for girl gab, too?...This novel celebrates women and the bonds that tie them together. Readers looking for a page turner about friendship, and finding meaning in one’s life, will be satisfied.” (Associated Press)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Related Media


Customer Reviews

Very well written story.
Bob Marcantonio
My thoughts after reading this book... My first thoughts are that Mike Greenberg...the ESPN sports guy...wrote a lovely lovely book.
PattyLouise
It is a story that weaves together the lives of three very different women in a most unexpected way.
kthompson1004

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful By Mary J. Gramlich VINE VOICE on March 29, 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Brooke, Samantha, and Katherine are women that are leading successful albeit flawed lives. They move in different circles, which have never offered an opportunity for them to cross paths. They are successful in their own right at what they do and each day has a unique twist or turn that they resolve as it suits their personality. Brooke is a stay at home mother who still has sizzle in her marriage; Katherine is a powerful force in a company that keeps her rich; while Samantha may have made a poor relationship choice right now she is running as fast as she can toward her latest goal. Occasionally the question does arise as to whether the correct path was chosen, but overall life is good or so they have convinced themselves.

When Samantha, Katherine, and Brooke are handed the same diagnostic fate the plan of action may be different but the goal is survival. The only hesitation in their plans is the question resounding in their heads; has my life been worth talking about? The battle they are about to embark on reminds each of them with a huge blow that they share a common enemy that is trying to take everything away and how are they going to stop that from happening. Facing diversity each will respond, react, and choose to survive, as it deems appropriate. Plans are formed, treatment options decided, and futures secured with each one forced to answer where I go from here. When you reflect upon your life, the one constant does come down to the legacy you are leaving and how you will be remembered.

Mike Greenberg has created three wonderful characters, wrapped around a moving story, topped off with a not so subtle reminder that money does not buy happiness.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
To be honest, I would not even give the book 1 star, as I hated the book. Hated it. And, to be fair and give full disclosure, I could not force myself to read beyond page 80. Let me put it quick and straight... IF you are a smart woman (or man), I'm sure you have been in a situation where you are required to converse with a really dumb person. Within seconds you know it's going to become painful, and it does. Within minutes you want to stick a needle in your eye if you can't walk away. Now imagine how you'd feel if you were forced to sit next to this person at dinner for hours, and had to converse with him/her the whole time? OUCH, yes, you'd want to kill yourself.

That was what it was like reading this book. I was encouraged to read the book by people saying how "amazing it is for a man to write women characters so accurately, in such real voices." Now, I can't tell if this book reflects one or two realities...? #1) The author is a really dumb man, and so the only thinking he can write/reflect is dumb, inane chatter. OR #2) The author is not dumb, but he thinks ALL women are dumb, and his characters reflect this belief.

I mean, one character is supposed to be a woman turning 40, a CAO (chief administrative officer, a position created for her), 2 Harvard degrees. So smart, experienced woman. But he has her going on a blind date, and she has such thoughts as "Oh, my God! Will I spend my whole life with him?" Jesus, what intelligent woman, with that much life experiences, has such an inane thought?

And then you have the married wife, giving her husband a gift - yes, photos of her naked.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By M Denise C on April 2, 2013
Format: Hardcover
I would say Mr. Greenberg's first foray into the genre of "women's fiction" is a winner!

I began reading All You Could Ask For and had work not interfered, I would have finished the book in a day. Engrossed in the story right away, this easy-to-read yet serious story is the kind of book that is hard for me to break away from--I could not put it down.

The novel is written from the point of view of three women, all of whom are connected before they even meet or hear of each other. The first part of the book is an introduction to the three women and their life stories. The second part of the book deals with each of their stories as they all cope with the diagnosis of breast cancer. I believe Greenberg hits a home run because I would not have thought the book was written by a guy, much less a sports guy. But if you listen or watch the simulcast of Mike and Mike, then you know what an outstanding guy he is and how he could definitely be successful and sensitive in this endeavor.

I enjoyed the well written vignettes by Katherine, Brooke, and Samantha as their lives are presented and their stories progress. Each vignette ends sooner than you want or ends with a surprise and/or hook that keeps you wanting more. At the beginning of many of the short chapters narrated by one of the three ladies, the first sentence by one of the three often relates to the last sentence by one of the other two in some way.

The only format I rolled my eyes at was that of emails to an online forum, but I suppose there was really no other way to present each woman seeking support from other breast cancer patients anonymously and online. Regardless, the subject was important and the story moved forward via these online emails.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?