Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book ... Kindle edition ok
Super story about the true nature of monsters told in an exciting and engaging way. The kindle edition has the illustrations, but is not as well formatted as it could be. The chapters are not separated by page breaks, it lacks a linked table of contents, and many conversations are not appropriately broken into paragraphs. If reading aloud take your time to be sure where...
Published on November 14, 2011 by Anniepoo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsuspecting and Unusual Spooky Characters
I thought this book was interesting.
Not your ordinary children's book, the characters were very unusual and unsuspecting.
I did enjoy the theme of mystery detective.
I think the series will surprise you and entertain kids with a quirky side.
Published 16 months ago by cleo


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book ... Kindle edition ok, November 14, 2011
This review is from: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective (The Chronicles of the Monster Detective Agency Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Super story about the true nature of monsters told in an exciting and engaging way. The kindle edition has the illustrations, but is not as well formatted as it could be. The chapters are not separated by page breaks, it lacks a linked table of contents, and many conversations are not appropriately broken into paragraphs. If reading aloud take your time to be sure where the speaker changes. Definitely worth a buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a Positive Message in a Book, September 9, 2008
The book has positive messages intertwined with laughter, mystery, and suspense to make for one fun, exciting, uplifting story. I would recommend this book for any parent to read with their children in fourth and fifth grade as well as teachers in fourth and fifth grade who want something positive for their classrooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & A Good Read, November 24, 2007
Reading to your kids,grandkids, nephews, nieces. It's a fun book with fun Characters and life lessons. I had recommended to some of my friends that have kids and so far all the kids love it. I enjoyed reading it and I'm not a kid, but a kid in Heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for reading together, or solo, November 30, 2010
My 4th grade daughter and I have been reading the Will Allen books both together and separately, and we are both loving them. The message about young people having the power to conquer their fears is presented perfectly for the younger set, and the story moves well for an adult reader. Will Allen is not your typical storybook hero, but IS a typical kid, and that makes him both appealing and accessible. The writing is modern, engaging and not pedantic. Great for reading aloud, just for fun, or to spark a conversation about the fears we all have and how to deal with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter Recommends this book, January 8, 2012
By 
Diane Rapp (Trinity, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective (The Chronicles of the Monster Detective Agency Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We read this to my 8-year-old granddaughter and she rated it herself. The story was so interesting that even grandpa sat and listened. I wondered about the vivid monster descriptions at bedtime but no ill effects or nightmares were reported. If you want a good babysitting book, download this one to your Kindle. Granddaughter approved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun with a great message..., November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective
By: Jason Edwards
ISBN: 9780978951207
Published September 15, 2007 by Rogue Bear Press
Available Format: Paperback, ebook

My Rating: '''''

Goodreads' Synopsis: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective is the story of a smart but timid 5th grade boy haunted by fears that have literally come to life. He searches fruitlessly for help until a strange business card mysteriously appears in his book bag, instructing him how to summon Bigelow Hawkins, The Great Monster Detective. With Bigelow's help, along with the use of a very special flashlight and magnifying glass, Will must learn how to conquer his monsters and uncover the secret of the dreadful Hidden Beast before it's too late...

The story starts out innocently enough. Who hasn't had a monster under their bed at some point? How handy would a Monster Detective have been back then? Pretty soon, however, Will finds out these aren't your run of the mill monsters. I love how the author works some really serious issues (bullies, abuse, insecurities) into such a fun, entertaining story. What a great way to approach tough subjects.

Some of the monsters did scare my six-year-old a bit. And I'll admit my husband and I had a fun time teasing him a little, but then discussed with him about how monsters are really just our imagination. In the end, however, he really did enjoy the story, and I love seeing him engaged with reading as much as he was with this book.

After finishing the Great Monster Detective, he signed up on the website to become an honorary Monster Detective. He thought that was super cool. There are other neat activities that he can do on the site, and we'll be checking those out soon.

This is a great chapter book with a great message. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the awesomest books in the whole wide world!, July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective (The Chronicles of the Monster Detective Agency Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This review was first published on Kids Corner at Kindle Nation Daily by my eight year old son:

Will Allen and The Great Monster Detective is about a boy named Will Allen and a monster detective named Bigelow. Will has a monster under his bed. Well, not just one monster...lots of monsters! Will is a really great detective but he needs help. Then he finds a business card in his backpack for Bigelow's Monster Detective Agency. Bigelow and Will work together to catch all the monsters.

I thought this book was totally awesome! I didn't think the monsters were too scary. I thought most of them were funny. My favorite character in the book was Bigelow - he has a lot of surprises up his sleeve! Will Allen is a series and I plan to read more of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book shows the origin of fear and how to oevercome it, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective (The Chronicles of the Monster Detective Agency Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
While this book was written for children ages 7 to 12, adults may find it enjoyable, because the plot is based on uncovering the psychology of fear; but it is written in a way that children will enjoy and learn about fear from it. The story is part of close to a dozen books about Will Allen. It is filled with clever humor and has nice pictures.

Will is a short, scrawny kid in the fifth grade. He is frightened by a monster that is under his bed and needs to find a way to get rid of it. An unusual “very very small” monster detective, Bigelow, shows up and offers to help Will. Only Will can see Bigelow. Bigelow offers to help Will if paid an unusual fee.

Among much else, this story discuses the difference between the monsters seen by adults and those spied by kids, how a toy teddy bear can help fight monsters, why kids are frightened by monsters, and how they can overcome this fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best monster book I've ever read, August 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective (The Chronicles of the Monster Detective Agency Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This review is by my 6-year-old daughter:
You should read this book because it tells you that if you think you have a monster in your bedroom then it's probably not what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Allen and the Great Monster Detective (The Chronicles of the Monster Detective Agency Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is such a fun book! Perfect for that 6, 7, or 8 year old who is scared of the dark and what might be in it, from the monster under the bed to the wolf lurking in the closet. Especially fun when used as a bedtime story and reading one chapter a night draws out the suspense, the anticipation, and the surprise, although I have to admit I did let myself get talked into more than one chapter once...or was it twice?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.