Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars103
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 22, 2011
In addition to containing authoritative blues and roots music, this two-CD set comes with an attractive, low-cost retail price, 160 minutes of completely re-mastered music, 38 recordings released between 1978 and 2011, and cleverly-written mini-biographies about the artists in the 32 page liner booklet.

With a guitar that is loud and in-your-face, Coco Montoya delivers a kickin' and killer track. Lil' Ed Williams' rollicking energy is boundless, and his guitar is a fireball. You'll experience images of live wires crackling while Johnny Winter's slide guitar is explosive. Guitar Shorty's savage blues are angry with fierce attitude. Tinsley Ellis is fueled on rock power. The Holmes Brothers emit redemptive vocal harmonies. Luther Allison releases an emotional and expressive lament. Rick Estrin's nimble as a cat vocals and classic harp are the core of The Nightcats' bouncy sound. The Queen of the Blues, Koko Taylor, dishes out traditional, electric blues with commanding sass while her throaty vocals roar.

If you want to know what pure Chicago Blues sounds like then listen to the aggressive music of Son Seals. Lonnie Brooks' booming voice, sassy guitar, and enthusiastic rhythms are as fulfilling as a bowl of gumbo. Like a spontaneous, wild party thrown by your College roommate, Hound Dog Taylor creates a welcome racket that you can't resist joining. Two of America's roadhouse kingpins - Roy Buchanan and Delbert McClinton - create the definitive version of a Willie Dixon standard. New Orleans piano master, Professor Longhair, creates a party out of the great Louisiana pastime of cooking. Albert Collins and guests are represented via a track from the best-selling disc Showdown! Alligator's varied roster of remarkable artists isn't bursting with acoustic performers, yet Buddy Guy and Junior Wells prove acoustic blues can be rejuvenating. Although there was no room in the liner to list all the impressive sidemen on these sessions, they include: Billy Branch, Johnny B. Moore, Sammy Lawhorn, Pinetop Perkins, Abb Locke, Johnny B. Gayden, Ken Saydak, and countless others.

Driven with a fervent passion for music and using the same hard work ethic as its artists, Alligator Records has begun the careers of new stars e.g., Corey Harris, rescued the careers of existing stars e.g., Lonnie Mack, and ensured the careers of living legends e.g., James Cotton, continue to evolve. This collective body of works celebrates the legacy of their "Genuine Houserockin' Music" artists.

Tim Holek
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2011
Alligator Records is a national treasure, providing a forum for musicians whose music does not neatly fit into radio categories. The Collection provides a showcase of releases over the past 40 years; it should also be used as a launching pad to explore each artist's individual catalogue. Check out the power riffs of Son Seals, the fire of Luther Allison, the strength of Lonnie Brooks, the brittle ice picking of Albert Collins and the subtle string bending of Roy Buchanan (yes, considered to replace Mick Taylor in the Rolling Stones). If funky rhythms and nasty grooves are more to the liking, turn to Anders Osborne and JJ Grey & Mofro. Tommy Castro, Smokin Joe Kubek & Bnois King - the list goes on. Most importantly, use each of these incredible samples to explore the past releases and current concert tours of artists who don't cut corners and give their best with every song.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2011
This was a suggested purchase and i took a chance and WOW!!! The best purchase I've made in over a year-and I buy a LOT of music. These 2 CD's are amazing-they haven't come out of my player since I opened them up. If you enjoy blues than you need these 2 great CD's in your collection. The only problem I would see with this cd set is that it doesn't come with any pictures.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2011
15 years ago, I came across the Alligator Records 25th Annivesary Collection. In short, it sold me on the blues. I've been a fan ever since and love hearing new artists and old favorites. The Alligator collections deliver every time. If you are interested in a sampling a wide variety of excellent blues artists and styles, you cannot go wrong here. Virtually every song is a keeper, and at the price, it's a steal. A wonderful disc.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2011
With an allstar list this is the perfect way to get your blues in 2011. great from start to finish!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This collection is a masterpiece...the best American blues singers and musicians of the past four decades...their best songs recorded by engineers who capture the passion of a great live performance.

If you enjoy American blues music this is likely to become your most played and most treasured cd. British music magazines like to do polls where they ask: which 100 cd's would you take to a desert island? This belongs near the top of that "desert island" list.

The Smithsonian Museum collects the best of American history and culture. The Smithsonian should license this CD from Alligator Records and feature it as "the best American music of the last half of the 20th century".

At a price of $40, this set would be a bargain. At a price of under $15, is a gift from Alligator Records.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2014
Koko Taylor is a mad woman and she kicks it out on this cd. Years ago, I had this set on cassette as Alligator Record's 15th anniversary. Now, it's a bit repackaged and looks nicer. It arrived today. Excellent arrival speed and I'll buy from this seller again. Well packaged, too, though the CDs were rattling around a bit.

These are the good rocking' blues that anyone can learn to enjoy. Just put them on and your friends will be tapping their toes and nodding their heads, if not outright dancing. You don't think of the blues as dance music, but most of the tunes on her are danceable.

Dick, they have a great beat and you can dance to them. Right? American Bandstand anyone? Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2011
I ordered this CD twice,,,had to send the lst l back,,,,received the 2nd l and some of the songs skip on it....Must just be how it comes from the factory or something,,,,im very careful with all my cds,,,,but i like this l too much to send it back...CONNIE
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
I am not a professional product rater such as appears on Amazon so much (are they paid by companies to do this?), just a regular person. As such I am not going to tell you every little detail about this compilation, one because I don't have the time and 2 because why don't you just listen to it. But I will say this has been one of the more enjoyable purchases of music i have made in the last few years and if you are a music lover and like this type of music you won't go wrong buying this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2011
If you like the blues, this album is for you. It is a compilation of blues hits from some of the greater blues players and singers in the past six decades. A great variety of songs and blues styles. Very easy listening and keeps you rocking.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.99
$5.19

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.