Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Aloha, Lady Blue
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Audible Audio Edition|Change
Price:$14.95
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2013
For Travis McGee fans, the choice of reading this book is a no-brainer. Memminger is an award winning humorist whose columns I always enjoyed. This is his first in a series of riffs on John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee character. In the first few chapters, the pace seemed a bit herky-jerky. By the time one gets about a third of the way into it, it becomes hard to put it down. Be prepared to lose some sleep trying to find out what's going to happen next. Given my love of sea turtles I wasn't real thrilled with the protagonist popping a beer cap at a passing sea turtle. However, the two dogs more than make up for that. Kane and Lono are Memminger's homage to Zeus and Apollo from the Magnum P.I. series - just named after more culturally appropriate god. In the vein of Corcoran, White, and Cunningham, Memminger is a powerful new player in this genre. Charley, you just might be my new favorite author.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
Occasionally I browse Amazon to find new Hawaiian mysteries....Sometimes I am lucky in finding a truly engrossing and Hawaiian feeling book. This is one of those times....I am hoping this author is already working on his second novel. And as soon as he referred to his two dogs as 'the gods" I knew I was going to love him.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
Aloha, Lady Blue I have been a long-time fan of John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee novels, so this was a real treat - flavored like a McGee, but with distinctly Hawaiian overtones. Memminger has a sure grip on both plot and character; you can sense the backstories of the subsidiary characters and sidekicks. Memminger hits the sweet spot that many writers miss - presenting people who act and talk as though the live in Hawaii, and are not someone's generic island cartoon buffoons. More Aunty Kealoha and Tiny Maunakea, please!

The plot lines were both ripped from the headlines and from some of Hawaii's shameful past; no mean feat to have them both resolved in the satisfying present. This story wrapped up well, with some poignancy and no loose ends, and it just whetted my appetite for the next one. Great read! Hey, Charley (gotta love an author cool enough to use the name "Charley," not "Charles" or "Chuck")! When's the next one coming out?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
Not many authors are able to set a book in Hawaii and have it feel natural. Charley Memminger does an impressive job of writing a book that is fun to read, has a story that is relevant to current issues in Hawaii, and accomplishes this with a smile. I enjoyed the entire book, and hope there are many more to come.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
i loved the hawaiian lore in this book. i have to confess that i never knew much much about the heady blend of cultures in our fiftieth state, both indigenous and imported, and the purchase they have on the psyches of hawaiians. what an exotic place! after reading ALOHA, LADY BLUE, i'm eager to visit, and not just for the beaches.
thank you, Charles Memminger, for this rollicking and fascinating read!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
Thankfully, someone has taken up the similar writing of John D. MacDonald. The story was fun and the reading was easy... but it was a good book and I look truly forward to another one very soon. I hope that Mr. Charley Memminger writes one real quick. Anyone a fan of John D. needs to read this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
I love the humerous style to his writing and the story line was interesting and flowed well. I loved the dogs, too, and I hope he keeps them in future novels. I had read in an article that there will be more books coming and I'm anxiously awaiting them. Lots of good Hawaiian atmosphere which is important to me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
I give this book four stars as it is well written by someone who knows Hawaii. Memminger's writing is similar to another favorite author of mine, Charles Knief who has written several mysteries set in Hawaii. The original title was Kahala Road and it should have been left at that, but the editors changed the title to highlight a HPD female officer killed early in the story. A real page turner with lots of twists and turns in the plot. The descriptions of the locations are real as the author lives in Hawaii and did his research well.

Jim Husing
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2015
Anyone who likes Hawaii can relate to the context of this interesting mystery. True and fictitious geography and history form a backdrop for murderous cover-ups and retaliation, secret societies, local and international threats, genetically modified materials, and finally problem solving. The laughable parts reflect insider and outsider perspectives on the culture(s) of Hawaii. Some of the "humor" seems outright irreverent. Good to have active canines involved.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
Fans of Charley Memminger, Hawaii's national-award-winning humor columnist ("Honolulu Lite"), will love his first novel, "Aloha, Lady Blue." Although the intricately woven plot of this thriller will keep you turning the pages way past your bedtime through a series of bizarre and entertainingly crafted episodes, the author's funny streak will keep you smiling too. The elderly Chinese victim of the crime that Memminger's hero, Stryker McBride, is trying to solve is called Wai Lo Fat. McBride describes his "first meal of the day, which I had come to refer to as Honey Bunches of Budweiser because it sounded healthier than `swigging beer for breakfast.'" The appeal of the novel is deepened by its ample serious side: the insights it provides into the not-always-pretty history and delicious multi-ethnic culture of the Aloha State, as well as its look at the seamy side of paradise, something Memminger knows well thanks to his years as an investigative reporter (unparalleled training for a future humor columnist!) who had his share of up-close-and-personal encounters with some of the more notorious denizens of the Islands' underworld. Two thumbs up for "Aloha, Lady Blue" - and if I had more thumbs, they'd be up too!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.