Prime Music
Buy Used
FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Kings Emporium
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Overall Very Good Condition - Guaranteed To Work Perfectly!! - Eligible for Amazon's FREE Shipping programs!!!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Alpenlander: The Organ in the Renaissance & Baroque
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Alpenlander: The Organ in the Renaissance & Baroque

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, September 8, 1998
"Please retry"
$29.99 $0.01

Product Details

  • Performer: Gustav Leonhardt
  • Composer: Various Artists
  • Audio CD (September 8, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Sony / Seon
  • ASIN: B000009MN5
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #790,668 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. The Mulliner Book: Pavan - LEONHARDT, Gustav
2. Orgel - oder Instrument-Tabulaturbuch: Wer das Tochterlein haben will - LEONHARDT, Gustav
3. Dublin Virginal Book, ca. 1570: Pavan & Galliard - LEONHARDT, Gustav
4. The Mullinar Book, No. 51: Eterne rerum - LEONHARDT, Gustav
5. Bublin Virginal Book, No. 21: Pavan & Galliard - LEONHARDT, Gustav
6. Intabolatura Nova di Balli, Venice: Galliarda - LEONHARDT, Gustav
7. Intabolatura Nova di Balli, Venice: Galliarda - LEONHARDT, Gustav
8. Toccata & Fugue In B-Flat Major - LEONHARDT, Gustav
9. Chorale - LEONHARDT, Gustav
10. Toccata con durezza e ligature - LEONHARDT, Gustav
See all 18 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. 'Selva': Ballo Della Battaglia - Gustav Leonhardt
2. Canzona In G Minor - Gustav Leonhardt
3. Ricercar No. 1 - Gustav Leonhardt
4. Capriccio No. 8 - Gustav Leonhardt
5. IX Toccate e Fughe: Toccata e Fuga tertia - Gustav Leonhardt
6. Sonata quinta (Adagio - Allegro - Adagio) - Gustav Leonhardt
7. Praeludium And Fugue In C Minor - Gustav Leonhardt
8. Praeludium And Fugue In B Minor - Gustav Leonhardt
9. Praeludium And Fugue In D Major - Gustav Leonhardt
10. Ariadne musica neo-organoedum: Praeludium And Fugue In E-Flat Major - Gustav Leonhardt
See all 15 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

Setting aside Gustave Leonhardt's excellent reputation as harpsichordist and conductor, the Dutch-born musician has been one of the most important organists of this century. His large expressive palette and wide stylistic range serve him well throughout this two- disc set. In the early '70s, he recorded these selections on some famous instruments located in Austria, Switzerland, and the Italian Tyrol. They include a 1559 organ owned by the Trapp family, the organ of the parish of St. James in the Swiss village of Compatsch, a baroque-era instrument in Wilten at the Premonstratensian Abbey, a rococo-style organ at Stams, a baroque organ from Muri in the Aargau in Switzerland, and an instrument at the Cistercian Abbey near Linz in Austria, built in 1746. --Gwendolyn Freed

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Leslie Richford on March 26, 2009
The Organ in the Renaissance and Baroque: Organs of the Alps. Gustav Leonhardt plays works by Ammerbach, Blitheman, Eberlin, Fischer, Froberger, Fux, Kerll, Krebs, Merula, Gottlieb Muffatt, Newman, Pasquini, Pachelbel, Storace, Taylor, Zachow and Anonymi on the following organs:
1. Organ built in 1559 by Michael Strobl at Churburg Castle in Schluderns (it. Sluderno), near Bozen, South Tirolea.
2. Organ of unknown origin at St. James's Church, Compatsch/Grisons, Switzerland.
3. 18th century "gospel" organ, built 1743/44 by Joseph and Victor Ferdinand Bossard and restored in 1961/62 at the baroque church of the former Benedictine Abbey in Muri/Aargau, Switzerland.
4. Mid-17th century baroque organ at the Premonstratensian Abbey at Wilten near Innsbruck in Austria.
5. Rococo organ built in 1746 by Nikolaus Rummel the Elder at the Cistercian Abbey of Wilhering near Linz in Austria.
6. Rococo organ by an unknown master and including "string" stops at the Cistercian Abbey in Stams/Tyrol in Austria.
All recordings were made in the respective buildings between 1970 and 1972. Recording supervisor: Wolf Erichson. Engineer: Dieter Thomsen. Digital remastering: Andreas Stange and Stephan Schellmann. Originally published on LP in 1973. This Sony-Seon re-release 1998 as Sony SB2K 60364. Total playing time: 92'43".
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
This is an excellent recording, but the point of my review is this -- anyone interested in obtaining this disc should first take a look Sony's box set, which is a much better deal (spectacular, actually).

Gustav Leonhardt -The Edition [Box Set] is a collection of 15 discs, originally released by Sony or one of the Sony family companies, which have now been packaged together and released in a box, for a remarkably low price (at the present time). It includes the disc shown on this page.

I've reviewed the box set itself, so you can take a look at the link above to see the full listing of recordings included.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in