Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done.
Not perfect, but well done. The CGI effects were better than I expected for a grade B sci fi movie. Adrian Paul's acting was quite a bit better this time than some of his past efforts. Richard Greico's acting skills were not taxed by any means in this movie. Chalk that up to directing and how his character was written, any fan of his knows he has done better...
Published 19 months ago by Helomech

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PREDATOR VS. AVATAR
This is an Asylum film (not the one with Will Smith) which incorporates several other films or film pieces. There is a twist 10 minutes from the end which you figure out 10 minutes from the beginning, and I am going to great lengths (ugh!) not to reveal it Scooby-doo, although for most Sc-Fi fans if you know there is a twist, you know the twist. Sorry.

Earth is...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done., June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
Not perfect, but well done. The CGI effects were better than I expected for a grade B sci fi movie. Adrian Paul's acting was quite a bit better this time than some of his past efforts. Richard Greico's acting skills were not taxed by any means in this movie. Chalk that up to directing and how his character was written, any fan of his knows he has done better. Interestingly one new actor (Bali Rodriguez) turned in a good performance (for a lovely lady whose main career is in modeling). This movie is worth watching just to see her run around in camouflage. This movie was better than I expected, and is of better quality than much of the stuff running every week on the syfy channel. I felt it was worth the money to rent this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PREDATOR VS. AVATAR, May 28, 2013
This review is from: Ae Apocalypse Earth (DVD)
This is an Asylum film (not the one with Will Smith) which incorporates several other films or film pieces. There is a twist 10 minutes from the end which you figure out 10 minutes from the beginning, and I am going to great lengths (ugh!) not to reveal it Scooby-doo, although for most Sc-Fi fans if you know there is a twist, you know the twist. Sorry.

Earth is under attack by aliens. A large ship, the Albert Einstein (AE) manages to escape with a handful of people who go into cryo-sleep. The next thing we know they are on a pod, crash landing on a planet. This planet contains a race of invisible hunters called "Chameleons." There are locals and survivors from another space craft. Our group of hardy explorers are aided by Lea (Bali Rodriguez) because Pocahontas would be too obvious. There is also an android called TIM (Gray Hawks) who acts like he came from "Next Generation." Yes, "There are some who call me... Tim."

The goal of our group is to find a craft that didn't crash, get back to the mother ship in orbit and head on back to Earth...and kill as many Chameleons, giant CG bugs, and CG lizards as then can along the way.

The plot sounds great, but the acting and dialouge was dry. They created bad cardboard stereotypes when there was no need to do so. The film appears to be a TV pilot for a SyFy series. The execution misses the mark. Kids and SyFy movie fans might like it.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't finish watching it., November 18, 2013
By 
NuForce (Louisiana, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
This is the first time I've awarded a 1-start to a movie. It is so bad that I had to stop watching it. This movie seem like someone wanted to mix every popular science fiction concept into one movie and do it all with a terrible script, plot, and direction.
It starts off with the end of the world scene from the movie 2012. They have a poor android like Data from Star Trek. They land on a planet like Predator. There was absolutely nothing redeeming about this movie. They couldn't even get the special effects right.

Don't waste you time or money on this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars B Grade story, C grade effects, September 28, 2013
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
Special effects were so awful they were distracting. The story gets a D since it was derivative of so much else, and the setting gets an A+. A beautiful movie because it was made in Costa Rica. Otherwise, not worth the rental cost I paid. Not much of a story, not much of a twisty ending.

The beginning was so confusing I thought I had skipped the first 1/2 hour accidentally. What was going on there? I still don't know. And how they had time to do a lottery during an alien invasion... well it must have been a very quick lottery. The robot assistant TIM is just a copy of Data from ST:TNG in Costa Rica. Most everything is a copy in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really poor movie., October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
In my opinion this movie is a one star. I kept expecting a 80's porn movie to break out. Poor acting, bad techno gimmicks, and a bad plot. It may be a good kids movie. It was all we could stand to watch ten minutes,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The movie is certainly one of the WORST that I have seen. Horrible acting., November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
The movie is certainly WORSE than the reviewers state.
I usually read reviews, and I didn't today because I ordered it on my TV. BIG MISTAKE.

Horrible graphics and even worse acting.
Like others said, a LOT of CG, but the worst part is that if they were already using CG, why use cardboard and aluminum sheet stages, (literally)???

Sorry, but it really sucked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low-budget gem, June 21, 2013
By 
RI55 (Grants Pass, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
This low-budget gem of a story made under the Asylum masthead is not to be dismissed by the snobbery of the bigger studios. Set in the rigorous but breathtaking backdrop of the Costa Rican jungle, it is a fine example of what can be accomplished with less. Some of the leading players are well-known, but it was also nice to see the use of some local talent. This was a great vehicle for Adrian Paul, and it was fun to see his talent and very appreciable screen presence put to good use in this film. Richard Grieco also had some great moments. Newcomer Bali Rodriguez will be one to watch and her body makeup design was outstanding. The special effects were more than decent. The movie's score (by Chris Ridenhour) and it's panoramic cinematography lent a definite big-budget feel to the film. For those of us who are die hard SciFi adventure fans, I would like to have seen the story fleshed out a bit more, as there was the opportunity to develop the very good story line into either a longer, more complex version, or to continue this story in an ongoing sequel. It should be noted that this direct-to-video can be seen under the title "Alpha Earth" on Amazon Instant Video, or a DVD version alternately titled "AE: Apocalypse Earth."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The war is over, we lost.", March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Standard fare, as a thinly veiled rip-off of Planet of the Apes, it delivers just what you would expect. The filmmakers managed to make good use of the jungle environment. The acting is decent; no one strained themselves in the effort. The plot is generic; a group of survivors escape Earth as it is besieged by aliens. While cryogenically frozen they crash on a planet and must adapt or die. The ending is not a surprise. There are very few CGI creatures that they must fight, nothing spectacular. They also do battle with a race of beings called Chameleons, helping in this battle are some local natives. Naturally, the cover art on the DVD case bears no resemblance to anything in the film (this includes the toothy creature depicted on the back cover as well). This film is not nearly as exciting as it could have been but it does the job well enough for a minor sci-fi flick.
I'm keeping it to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A BAD MOVIE, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
I wished the aliens would have killed everyone in the first 5 minutes ! The usual bad writing and acting, they are running around in a forest pretending to be on another planet, but there is no way to get into it, it was ludicrous .....Not even funny kitsch !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, March 16, 2014
By 
A. Black (Sterling Heights, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Earth (Amazon Instant Video)
This is by far one of the worse movies I have ever seen. the acting was sub-par. the plot was a joke. ( really fire arms that work 325,000 years in the future?) I would rather get a root canal then watch this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alpha Earth
Alpha Earth by Thunder Levine
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.