Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a revisit/visit if the early bad reviews scared you off.
This got panned in reviews (and rightly so) when it was first released due to Obsidian's unfortunate habit of releasing games in a buggy mess. That being said, their writing and ability to tell a story is top notch, and this game is no exception.

Multiple endings, multiple ways to approach each story, and the actual feeling of being a secret agent a la Jason...
Published 5 months ago by Michael D. Cooper

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Clunky controls and stupid storyline. Hoped it would tickle the same sweet spots as Deus Ex: Human Revolutions, but sadly not the case.
Published 5 months ago by R. Dallas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a revisit/visit if the early bad reviews scared you off., July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This got panned in reviews (and rightly so) when it was first released due to Obsidian's unfortunate habit of releasing games in a buggy mess. That being said, their writing and ability to tell a story is top notch, and this game is no exception.

Multiple endings, multiple ways to approach each story, and the actual feeling of being a secret agent a la Jason Bourne or Jack Ryan is present in gameplay.

I decided to give this game a chance recently, and with most of the bugs fixed and game balanced, now is a good time to enjoy what is really an excellent game. I definitely recommend it, and hope that Obsidian one day releases something that isn't a broken mess because their ability to craft an experience is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good game., November 14, 2014
This review is from: Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Awesome game with interesting interactive options throughout the game play and story line. I would like them to make some type of sequel for the new platforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Clunky controls and stupid storyline. Hoped it would tickle the same sweet spots as Deus Ex: Human Revolutions, but sadly not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the console version, September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The game itself on the xbox is fun. PC....not so much. Slow...even though I'm running top gaming specs plus amazons no refund policy on it made this a fifteen dollar loss. I recommend this for a console but not pc....I only gave it 1 star bc it didn't work...on my brand new computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obsidian Made A Great Game, But Is Very Buggy With Windows 8....., May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I have just purchased this problem yesterday and thus far, it is not a Windows 8 lover. It is fixable, but it is a matter of fiddling with the controls within the control panel of the system. I did this today and it at least smoothed out some of the graphics as well as the movement.

Now, as far as gameplay, it is standard for these kinds of games, the typical point-and-shoot through the bad guys in order to complete missions. Of course, you have the girls like any spy should and so forth. But, where my biggest complaint is the complexity of some of the tasks that are required. No matter what the class you choose, you still have to learn things that my be outside of your skill tree, whether you are a soldier all the way down to the lowliest of freelance rogue agents. Of course, I am referring to such things as deactivating alarms, hacking computers (*which make you feel like you need a PhD in computer encryption) , and so forth. Also, the targeting system in Windows 8 is extremely buggy. You barely move your mouse to target and you are staring at the ceiling while the bad guys are taking you out before you get a shot off.

Coming from the company that brought us ' Star Wars II: Knights of the Old Republic: The Sith Lords', it feels almost like Obsidian and their creators may have tried a little bit TOO hard with this espionage RPG. Instead of there being a fun factor, it feels more and more like a chore trying to become the ultimate espionage agent as you fight your way through things. I am still in Graybox, which is the games tutorial, and I still have not completed it in two days of consistent play. With everything being timed before the alarm sounds, its not a wonder why people are getting frustrated.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars steam game, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I wanted the game and have it for my steam account and it was on sale too.. not played it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alpha Protocol [Online Game Code]
$14.99 $7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.