Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hundred Year Old Mystery
Emma Lord, forty-two year old owner and publisher of the Alpine Advocate decides to take a short vacation after a convention. Her son, Adam is spending the summer with her brother Ben in Arizona, so there's no need to hurry home.
Driving along in her trusty Jaguar, she doesn't have a care in the world, until it breaks down in Port Angeles.
Fortunately, Jackie...
Published on May 1, 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digging up a family tree
Emma Lord decides she needs a break from her routine and climbs into her trusty Jaguar to take a road trip. The problem is that her Jag is not so trusty and it breaks down partway through her trip. Emma has problems getting it fixed, so she calls the daughter of a friend of hers. The daughter invites Emma to spend the night and confides that she and her husband have...
Published on December 12, 2001 by Karen Potts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hundred Year Old Mystery, May 1, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
Emma Lord, forty-two year old owner and publisher of the Alpine Advocate decides to take a short vacation after a convention. Her son, Adam is spending the summer with her brother Ben in Arizona, so there's no need to hurry home.
Driving along in her trusty Jaguar, she doesn't have a care in the world, until it breaks down in Port Angeles.
Fortunately, Jackie & Paul Melcher live in Port Angeles. Jackie is the daughter of an old friend of Emma's and she calls her up hoping to kill a few hours. Thinking that's all the time it will take to repair the car.
Jackie is excited to hear from Emma and invites her over. She's especially thrilled to be able to tell Emma about the skelaton they just found in the basement.
The body of a young woman with a crushed skull and some jewlery laying around her was found while renovations were being done. The house, which had been left by Paul's uncle, was the old family home that went back to the turn of the century. (20th)
Who is she, why was she murdered and how was she hidden in the basement and why wasn't she ever missed?
Emma puts on her reporters hat and starts digging for information. Paul has the history of his family as was told to him, and old newspapers and even older senior citizens fill in much of the blanks.
There were three women who could be the victim.
Simone Rowley, the French second wife of Cornelius Rowley the owner of the house, who was said to have run off with a French lover after her husband died.
Carrie Malone - daughter of Cornelius, who had unknowingly married a bigamist, Jimmy Malone and was said to have gone to Seattle to live with him.
Minnie Burke - the governess who just dropped out of sight.
Paul wants to know because if it turns out to be a member of his family, he wants to have a propery funeral.
Emma finds it a good way to kill time while her 1 day car repairs turns into several days of car repairs.
Meanwhile Vida keeps her updated over the phone as to what's happening at the paper. Including the fact that Carla, can't spell any better than she can report, and that Darla Puckett is most upset about the misspelling of her name in a story.
Ed, the advertising manager has just inherited money from his aunt who considered him to the sunniest and happiest person in her family?
I really enjoyed this story. I liked the way Emma discovered information about things that had occurred almost 100 years ago. She used the skills she had honed from her years of journalism. The conclusion made absolute sense.
Only downside. Not enough involvement of the Alpine characters. I missed Milo, who only appears in a couple of phone conversations.
Next book - Alpine Fury. This series is going too fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love all of Daheim's books., April 5, 1998
This review is from: The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of Daheim's books. Once I started, I carefully searched out all her titles and tried to read them in order as there is some carryover. I have lent them to friends, but am keeping them for another read. She writes about Washington state which I have been to but feel that I learn something about her part of the country, as well as being entertained. They are all well done mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series!, December 20, 2004
This review is from: The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
The plot is a real departure from the rest of the books in the series so far, and it was great fun. Yes, some of the premises did seem a bit contrived. Did i mind? Not at all! In fact, I began to look forward to the next "disaster" and quirky plot turn, none of which were overdone. (I really got to like Paul and Jackie, and even Leo.) Daheim uses her considerable skill to weave together a good and unusual mystery story. She's a keen observer of human behavior and has a real knack for good dialogue and coherent, complex characters who grow. I'm reading this series from beginning to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digging up a family tree, December 12, 2001
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
Emma Lord decides she needs a break from her routine and climbs into her trusty Jaguar to take a road trip. The problem is that her Jag is not so trusty and it breaks down partway through her trip. Emma has problems getting it fixed, so she calls the daughter of a friend of hers. The daughter invites Emma to spend the night and confides that she and her husband have just moved into an old family home where they have found a skeleton in the basement. Emma then joins them in their search for answers as to who the skeleton was and how it got in their basement. Many of the premises of this book seemed very contrived to me. Supposedly Emma barely knew her hostess and yet she imposed on her for several days. Also I wondered why the threesome would go to such great lengths to uncover the identity of the skeleton. Also, all of their theories were pretty much only theories, since they could prove none of them.
Of course our intrepid heroine comes up with the solution almost by accident. This was an interesting book, but not as well conceived as some of the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emma Lord Keeps On Going!, June 16, 2000
This review is from: The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow! This is the fifth book in the series, and the books are still exciting! Mary Daheim writes light murder mysteries that are both intriguing and hard to put down. If you like a good challenge, pick up one of these books and try to figure out "whodunit!" This whole series is so exciting because Mary Daheim continually lets all of her characters grow and she introduces new characters with each book! I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not her best, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Too many characters to keep track of and none of them that evoked any sympathy or interest. It seemed to me that the author was really stretching to find a story. I usually enjoy Ms. Daheim's books, but this is not one of her better ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alpine Escape, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even if you are ready to suspend belief, this was really far fetched and disappointng to me. It is too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very Involved Plot, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always loved the Emma Lord mysteries, but this one was a big let-down. It takes place in a town other than Alpine, so the characters that I like from the previous books aren't even in it. Emma stays with a married couple that she hardly knows (and not particularly interesting characters either) that find a skeleton in the basement of the house they just moved into. They then start wondering all kinds of things that finally leads them to decide that they want to try and find out who it is and how the person died (was it a natural death or a murder). It turns out getting so involved, because the skeleton is over a hundred years old, that I didn't find it enjoyable reading. I seriously thought about not finishing the book. I did, though, because I thought it might get better, but I didn't find that to be the case. This is the first Emma Lord mystery that I didn.t like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alpine series, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love this series. reread the whole series again..she is my favorite author love the locale
good good good good good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Would be 3.5 rating if available, August 4, 2013
This review is from: The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Alpine Escape is the 5th book in the Emma Lord mystery series. It takes place away from Alpine. Emma goes on a vacation to sort things out and her Jaguar breaks down in the town of Port Angeles. She stays with a friend's daughter and her husband. They have discovered a skeleton in their basement. The skeleton has been there for about 100 years so they sort through the family history to find out who the victim was.

I like this series very much but this book is my least favorite so far. The family history with all the individuals was difficult to keep straight at first as to who was who and the relationship between the characters. A family tree would have been very helpful at the beginning at the book.

Since the mystery took place in another location, there were new secondary or supporting characters who I found for the most part as somewhat unlikeable or annoying. I did find the new character of Leo Walsh to be the only interesting secondary character and I hope he is in future books.

I did not have the mystery solved until the author chose to disclose the solution. The author put a lot of thought into the plot and leaving red herrings. Will continue with the next book in the series The Alpine Fury to see what new adventures Emma Lord finds herself in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery)
The Alpine Escape (An Emma Lord Mystery) by Mary Daheim (Mass Market Paperback - March 1, 1995)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.