Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Already Compromised
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 29, 2016
The availability of material on this subject is extremely rare. It is honest, hard, direct, and real. If more Christians would read this book I am sure like myself, would immediately stop and start evaluating where our families are and where we need to build our faith stronger. Dr John Nordman Th.D., Ph.D.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
A must read. Quite eye-opening if one wants to know some of the beliefs of colleges and some things that are taught. This book is quite eye-opening and informative. This book is not just informative and relevant to Christian colleges but to public and private colleges, public schools in general, and even churches.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2011
It wasn't all that long ago I finished reading Ken Ham's book, Already Gone: Why your kids will quit church and what you can do to stop it. Already Gone is about Christian students who grew up in evangelical churches who are leaving the church at alarming rates. Answers in Genesis partnered with Britt Beemer and did a though statistical study to figure out why this was happening. Already Compromised is much like that original study, but it is a study of Christian colleges and the compromise taking place in those institutions whom parents are trusting their children with.

The basis for such a study is that "when parents and students willingly submit themselves to a teacher, accepting him or her as authoritative, accepting what he or she says as truth, they will become like that teacher" (p. 19). I think Ham is spot on with this idea. Much of the way I think, study, and apply theology to my life has been shaped by those I have learned from.

The book is full of facts, figures, and explanations. Many of them are helpful for understanding the place of colleges and universities, but I found many of the numbers sound similar to how students answered questions in Already Gone. Some of the numbers that stood out to me the most are:

*49% of those surveyed believe in an old earth
*Only 24% of the 312 people interviewed actually answered all the questions correctly
*Almost 25% of those in the theology and Bible departments don't believe Gen 1 and 2 are literal accounts of creation
*Science departments tended to be more biblical in their understanding of creation than the theology and bible departments

One of the things that was uncovered in this study and helpful to understand is that people don't always say what they mean. So a good level of discernment needs to be exercised in actually understanding what a person means when they say something in particular. Ham uses the example of "conservative evangelical" to demonstrate that we don't even know what this means anymore. Postmodernism and the rejection of absolute truth has fueled a culture of what Ham identifies as "newspeak." Some of the questions were fashioned in a way that they should show similar results. For example, they asked "Do you believe in the flood of Noah's day?" 84% of those in religion departments (theology, Bible) said yes. When asked if they believed the flood was worldwide, local, or nonliteral, 12.3% said nonliteral. One would have expected this percentage to match the 16% that didn't believe there was a flood. So do people really even know what they think they know?

There is so much more in this book! I would highly recommend picking up this book and diving in. Ken Ham and the folks at AIG have done a tremendous service to the church in pulling this data together. Part of what they are doing with this study is launching a new website that has a list of creation colleges. You can also find the schools that were a part of this study. You can find that site by hitting up the Answers in Genesis site.

As a person who is prepping to teach a course on the theology of creation this fall, this book couldn't be more timely. At the root of the argument is biblical authority--and biblical authority is always worth fighting for.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
This book really opened my eyes and heart to what has been happening in the church. It has changed dramatically my objective for my lesson plans, how and what I teach. When you only have children once a week for an hour in a class room setting, it is precious time. I started the Answers in Genesis series for children in February. It has been great. Drawing from what I read in the book Already Compromised, we dig deep into the Scriptures and the children ask more questions. I highly recommend this book for every church member, not just teachers or leaders in the church.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
This is a good book. I really like the author and the ministry he represents. I think that the stats here are accurate, but I think that they are presented with a little bit of sensationalism. The truth is scary enough. Doesn't require any extra drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
Dr. Ham does a thorough job getting to the underlying causes of the lost generation of youth leaving the church. Any church leader who is serious about evaluating his Sunday School programs or children's ministries should read this book first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2011
In their recent book Already Compromised, authors Ken Ham and Greg Hall sound a warning call to parents enrolling their children at Christian colleges around the country. Why the alarm? As it turns out, not every Christian academic shares Ham's view on creation and Earth history. Presumably, students and parents alike opt for Christian higher education to avoid the influence of 'secularism' (i.e. evolution and 'millions of years'), but what "they don't know," according to Ham, "is that, like the secular schools they wish to avoid...a growing number of the Christian schools they attend are...Already Compromised" (p. 8).

The book begins with a rather simple overview that chronicles the transition of Ivy League seminaries in America to secularized universities. Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Dartmouth--all began as modest institutions designed to raise up ministers in the Puritan and Protestant traditions. But to meet the demands of a growing and diversifying economy, and preserve their stature as major beacons to American intellectuals, these universities adopted principles of academic--and hence religious--freedom in their curriculum. Mr. Ham is correct about one thing: it is mildly disheartening to see the spiritual foundations of our university system blurred in a fog of relativism. But if schools such as Harvard had maintained the narrow disciplinary focus and guidelines that Ham envisions, they would not today be known to us as Harvard, etc., but as 'that little old seminary in Massachusetts'.

Regardless of how one thinks the Ivy League schools should have responded to intellectual movements of the past 400 years, we can still ask whether Christian colleges today should follow a similar path. Ken Ham thinks not. In fact, he believes the transition has already begun, and that it's time to take a stand. Ham and Hall polled 312 faculty/administration from ostensibly Christian institutions to assess 'how bad' the situation really is. "Christian colleges took a test on the state of their faith," reads the subtitle, "and the results are in!" If you read the back cover, you might expect the results to be "revealing and shocking!"

But if you've paid any attention to the origins debate in recent years, then prepare to be utterly unsurprised.

Not far into the book, I felt that I was reading inside of an echo chamber. Years ago, I became interested in the field of textual criticism, which seeks to reconstruct the original text of the Bible using variant manuscripts. Most Christians ignore the issue of textual criticism, or see it as unfruitful. Others, however, are disturbed that we can't know with 100% certainty the original words of Scripture, and even repulsed by the idea of a 'critical text'. This sort of skepticism in Christianity is fertile ground for what is called the King James Version Only movement. Reacting to what they perceive as a threat to the authority of God's word, KJV Onlyists have posited that God inspired an English translation of the biblical text for our day and age. Which version is that? Well, the 1611 King James Authorized Version, of course!

After the King James Version of the Bible has been dogmatically defined as the standard for God's word, rational discourse effectively comes to a halt. Likewise, Ken Ham and Greg Hall have dogmatically defined their own version of Earth history as the final standard for a 'biblical worldview'. So this poll is not so much about understanding the diversity in Christian opinion as it is exposing educators that would dare disagree with Ken Ham or Answers in Genesis.

Contributing to my frustration is the manner in which Ham crafted the poll and mishandles the results. Question 8 asks, for example, "Do you believe the Bible is literally true?" In reality, any answer to this poorly worded question will die the death of a thousand qualifications. But Ham comments (p. 22): "83 percent said that they believe Genesis 1 and 2 are literally true. But when we asked whether they believe God created in six literal days, only 59.6 percent answered yes. That means about 23 percent are either confused, wrong, or just haven't thought this through."

Ken's fiat declaration that a literal reading of Genesis requires a 24-hour day, young-Earth model--though well intentioned--is but an artifact of his own hubris. These results merely imply that respondents do not agree with Ken on what the 'literal' reading of Genesis is--not that they are confused or "wrong"! Nonetheless, he continues (p. 34): "nearly four in five who adhere to an old-earth theory believe the Bible is literally true. Keep in mind these two concepts are polar opposites." Like those who limit God's word to a 17th-century translation of the former, Ken has limited the meaning of God's word to his own interpretation, and then acts surprised to find that not everyone follows his line of reasoning.

The authors spend the rest of the book explicating rather uninteresting poll results, defining their own worldview, and belittling various Christian professors for taking a 'compromising' stance on Genesis. In the appendix, Mr. Ham paints misleading caricatures of his opponents with selective quotes. Guest authors Terry Mortenson and Bodie Hodge refute the Documentary Hypothesis by calling it 'liberal' and refusing to engage the past century of research.

On the bright side, this book is an easy read (I finished it in less than 2 days while taking 7 pages of notes), and contains real data from polls of faculty/administration at Christian colleges around the country. For that reason, I give it two stars.

If you regularly use Answers in Genesis as a science/faith resource, you will enjoy this book. My hope, however, is that you will find it in yourself to think critically through this work, and consider that Ham and Hall may have overstated the case.
1010 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
Already Compromised by Ken Ham and Greg Hall from Master Books (a division of New Leaf Publishing Group) is an examination of Christian colleges and the state of their faith. Ham and Hall evaluate Britt Beemer's America's Research Group's poll of 200 Christian colleges and universities on core faith questions, and the results are startling.

College staff was interviewed to find their stance on core Biblical issues with a heavy emphasis on young Earth Creation. The college's curriculum is examined for topics such as the literal Genesis account of Creation, the flood of Noah, evolution and the depth of evolution taught, the inspiration, inerrancy, and infallibility of Scripture, and whether or not the Bible is literally true, and many more. These same questions are asked across campuses. The results reveal the confusion among students and faculty alike.

There are many charts and graphs showing how all these topics line up and where the problems are. Ham and Hall give the student's tools to prepare them for their many battles they're bound to find themselves in, including topics such as how to be ready to give an answer and how to choose the right college.

In the back are several appendixes that provide great tools for students. Appendix B is an explanation of what a worldview is and examines the Christian worldview. Appendix A explores some of the compromises that some theologians and Seminary professors have developed to co-exist with evolution. Appendix C is a rebuttal to the `Documentary Hypothesis' - the idea that Moses did not write the first five books of the Bible, but he was just an editor that compiled various writings. Appendix D is a questionnaire that can be given to a college or church to discover what they truly believe and stand on.

New Leaf Publishers provided this book free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
I have been reading this book for the last few weeks, and let me say...Wow. It is so good. If you have a child that is considering going to college, you must read Already Compromised.

Ken Ham and Greg Hall do an amazing job of revealing what the professors in Christian Colleges really think.

You would be so surprised at how many don't believe in a literal translation of the Scriptures, and how many even believe in evolution!

In the survey used for this book they interviewed 312 people. All from Christian colleges.

Some of the questions asked were:

*Do you believe in God creating the earth, but not in 6 literal days?

Response: only 47.1 % said yes. Can you believe that?

*Do you believe in the inspiration of Scripture? 98.1% said yes.

*Do you believe in the inerrancy of Scripture? 74.0% said yes.

*Do you believe in the infallibility od Scripture? 80.8% said yes.

This means that there are 26% that don't believe in the inerrancy of Scripture, and 20% that don't believe in the infallibility of Scripture. And that is just from these 312 people. Imagine how many more there really are.

There are many more questions in the book, but something I found very interesting was the fact that in this survey, the science department seemed to have a stronger faith than the religious department.

The religious department was more likely to believe in evolution, and reject the idea of a six literal day creation.

I never would have thought that, but I guess it makes sense. The science department can see that the data actually backs up creation, and not evolution.

There was a lot in this book that really made me think harder about sending my kids off to just any old college.

And just because your college is a Christian college, does not mean that your kids will be taught the same beliefs that you have taught them.

There is a list of colleges that they do recommend, however, if you are looking for a good Christian college.

I don't plan on my kids going to college, at least not to a public college. In my opinion they are no better than public school, and I wouldn't send my kids there.

I also wouldn't send my kids to a Christian school, because I beleve that Scripture mandates parents to teach their kids.

But, if after they are adults, and they need, or want to go to college, I would definitely be very careful of which one I chose.

This book gives you a list questions to ask your colleges, to see where they really stand on their beliefs.

Greg Hall says "The ultimate goal of thinking Christianly is to present God as Creator and Father of everything that He has made and build our entire worldview on the foundation of His written revelation. He is the maker and owner of everything that is made. Here is where humankind is made to realize we owe our very existence to something (someone) other than ourselves. Here is where hubris is put in it's place. Here is the beginning of knowledge and wisdom. In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth...and that is the only foundation for clear thinking ever made available."

This is what we need to teach our children, and what the Christian colleges need to be teaching our children. Unfortunately, many are not.

There is so much more to this book though than just what is going on in Christian colleges today.

I leaned so much from this book on faith and worldview. It is so refreshing to see someone write about standing strong in your faith, and not afraid to speak the truth.

I highly, highly recommend this book, even if you don't have a child headed to college. As Christians we need to be aware of what is going on in the church.

I would even say, let your kids read this book. There is a chapter secifically for students, but I think they would gain so much knowledge from reading the entire book.

If you read this book let me know what you think. I really liked it, and was very impressed by Ken Ham.

You can find Already Compromised here for $13.99.

* I received this book from New Leaf Publishing, free, in return for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given to me. *
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2011
I'm giving this book five stars for the content. Although I must say I didn't learn much. In other words, I expected the results cited in this book based on the reading that I have done on this topic over the last few years. This book is partially a report based on a survey that was taken of "Christian" college Presidents, VPs, and department heads (specifically the religion and science deans). A lot of the book is about the truth of creation, the global flood and the age of the earth. Lastly, there is good information that helps a parent and/or student defend himself/herself against the propaganda that is being spewed forth at most colleges. The biggest surprise to me was that the science departments seem to endorse the truth more consistently than the religion departments. Overall though, there is much work to be done to educate the educators. Unfortunately, academics with terminal degrees (PhDs, etc...) tend to usually be "puffed up" and in general often have an inflated sense of self-worth. Many of these professors claim that they continue to read and learn, but they are more often set in their ways and immoveable in certain areas of presupposition including this important area of creation vs. evolution and the age of the earth. This means that either they are not reading the right books and papers or they are not reading critically or both. Another important topic (perhaps the most important) that is addressed quite well in this book is the fact that we live in an age of disconnected logic (post-modernism run amok) and shifting word definitions (by the way this is a specific tactic that has been recommended by some of the leaders that hold to the macroevolutionist worldview). An example of disconnected logic cited in the book is that many Presidents, VPs, and deans state that they believe in a literally true Bible and yet they turn around in the next sentence and say they don't believe in a literal creation as is written about in Genesis 1 or in a global deluge as detailed in Genesis 6-9 (and consider that Jesus Christ Himself cited the book of Genesis on several occasions assuming his hearers would understand it as truth NOT as allegorical). An example of shifting word definitions is that of the word 'evolution.' Evolutionists like to state that we can see change within species (we do) and then shift to the non-fact that we supposedly see change between kinds of beings (we do not). I highly recommend this book to any Christian parent who is considering sending his/her child to college and to all students.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse