Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alyce in LaLaLand
Just watched this on demand and really enjoyed it.It was different from most of the horror films coming out as of late.In a good way.Alyce played by Jade Dornfeld is quite the interesting character and I couldn't take my eyes off of her.Her eyes were unreadable which in itself is frightening because you never know if she's going to pet or bite you.

I never...
Published 17 months ago by Dayna Newman/Slasher Diva

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Jay Lee's "Alyce" Kills More Remaining Hope for an American Horror Movie Comeback
How in the world does this crapfest earn four stars? I wish I had seen it was from the director of "Zombie Strippers," a big loser that I didn't bother seeing, so that I could have avoided this one, too. In a nutshell, (SPOILER ALERT--IF THAT MATTERS) two anorexic, potty-mouthed, average-looking young female losers buy drugs from the prototypical black drug...
Published 2 months ago by Doctor Dean


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alyce in LaLaLand, May 25, 2013
This review is from: Alyce Kills (DVD)
Just watched this on demand and really enjoyed it.It was different from most of the horror films coming out as of late.In a good way.Alyce played by Jade Dornfeld is quite the interesting character and I couldn't take my eyes off of her.Her eyes were unreadable which in itself is frightening because you never know if she's going to pet or bite you.

I never really figured out her true motives for doing everything that she did but that's ok because it was so much fun tagging along with her on her journey.
Her relationship with Carroll played by Tamara Feldman was at first playful and almost like she was in love with her then Alyce & Carroll get high on X and Alyce pushes Carroll off the roof of her apartment building leaving Carroll very jacked up to say the least,the make up was great.After the accident Alyce goes into a drug induced stupor and loses it.She does some really strange and unthinkable things and we meet some very interesting characters.

The film has surrealism in it but not so much that you don't know what's going on and the last 25 minutes is a blood soaked gore fest that isn't gratuitous but every bit is needed to get the point across. Jade Dornfeld is amazingly talented and makes an already great film even greater.I was pleasantly surprised and so glad I took a chance on Alyce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT WOULD CARROLL DO?, August 13, 2013
This review is from: Alyce Kills (DVD)
This horror/thriller sets up as a symbol/metaphor for "Alice in Wonderland." There are numerous hints to connect the two within the film including the song, "White Rabbit" which we hear early in the film. This was originally released in 2011 with the title of "Alyce." The addition of the word "Kills" detracts from the metaphor, most likely done by a marketing firm more interested in sales than dark art.

Alyce (Jade Dornfeld) has work and rent issues. She opts to go party with her best friend Carroll, as in Lewis Carroll (Tamara Feldman). They are very similar...like Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee. Alyce is clearly the follower of the two as she was known as SWF. Their desire to party and do drugs escalates until the point of no return.

Alyce descends further into the world of drugs and madness. At one point she swaps sex for ecstasy with a man who is symbolically the Mad Hatter. Then the film goes over the top as the thriller turns into horror.

This was an interesting film. At times the madness is shown as a weave of scenes of the present and future. The acting was especially good for a "B" film, although there were some scenes where I thought they could have done better on the dialogue. Worth a view for those who like their slasher films with less slash and more character.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Jade Dornfeld)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Burn, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alyce Kills (Amazon Instant Video)
Alyce Kills is well done sexy and violent. Jade Dornfeld is terrific in her role of girl going crazy or maybe she already was all along. The film has three distinct sections and the look and feel changes from fun to tragedy to all out F'd up gore. One of my new favorites..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Descent Into Madness!!, November 3, 2013
This review is from: Alyce Kills (DVD)
Wow! Let it be known... I was totally blown away by this mostly unknown indie film! The writing is far superior than what is being produced in Hollywood, the acting is so strong that you are drawn into the disintegrating world of Alyce immediately, becoming a voyeuristic bystander, and the colorful characters are more than three-dimensional in every respect! Alyce as portrayed by Jade Dornfeld, is superb and gives an academy award performance, due to the fact that the script is so tight and intense! The character RX (Rex) was so unnerving, that I actually wondered if the director/writer Jay Lee scoured State penitentiaries and urban skid rows, just to find an actual sleazy drug dealer with tremendous acting skills (is that even possible?)!OK. No more fluff! This movie kicks ass! It is actually a social-horror movie unlike anything you have seen. There is gore, but it is not present until Alyce teeters over the edge of sanity. This is an important film, and Jay Lee could easily become another Sam Raimi. Watch for him in the future. In the meantime, go out and buy this amazing movie! It may just change your outlook on life...forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT WOULD CARROLL DO?, November 2, 2012
This review is from: Alyce [Region B] (Blu-ray)
This horror/thriller sets up as a symbol/metaphor for "Alice in Wonderland." There are numerous hints to connect the two within the film including the song, "White Rabbit" which we hear early in the film.

Alyce (Jade Dornfeld) has work and rent issues. She opts to go party with her best friend Carroll, as in Lewis Carroll (Tamara Feldman). They are very similar...like Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee. Alyce is clearly the follower of the two as she was known as SWF. Their desire to party and do drugs escalates until the point of no return.

Alyce descends further into the world of drugs and madness. At one point she swaps sex for ecstasy with a man who is symbolically the Mad Hatter. Then the film goes over the top as the thriller turns into horror.

This was an interesting film. At times the madness is shown as a weave of scenes of the present and future. The acting was especially good for a "B" film, although there were some scenes where I thought they could have done better on the dialogue. Worth a view for those who like their slasher films with less slash and more character.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Jade Dornfeld)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Take A Ride On The Crazy Train", June 21, 2013
This review is from: Alyce Kills (DVD)
Meet Alyce, a young beauty with some troubling issues! I really didn't know what to expect so I had no pre-conceived notions about "Alyce", I dove in blindly. To my delight I was pleasantly surprised with how good a film this really was. The acting and production was good and Jade Dornfeld did a great job playing Alyce.

After a night of heavy partying with her best friend, Alyce accidentally pushes her off the roof of her apartment complex. Thinking she's dead, Alyce lies to the police about what happened only to find out that her friend is still alive but in critical condition. As Alyce tries to figure out what to do next, her life begins to unravel as she spins out of control in a drug induced spiral. Her plan to fix things though is simple enough, murder and the best way to dispose of dead bodies.

As I stated earlier, Jade Dornfeld did an excellent job playing Alyce, the "single white female" stalker she was referred to as in the film. She really had some major issues and I'm not to sure if she did push her best friend off the roof accidentally. She seemed fragile, innocent, truthful, dark, vengeful, crazy, and psycho all rolled into one amazing character you couldn't take your eyes off of. In the end "Alyce" turned out to be a gory type of revenge film in which the main character was obsessed with finding the best way to dispose of a dead body.

The only thing I disliked was how it ended which seems to be a growing issue for me as of late. The gore and body dismemberment were excellent and the way she tries to get rid of the remains is classic! Jade Dornfeld again is one hell of an actor and has made a new fan out of me, again Bloody-Disgusting Selects has picked up a nice little gem of a film with "Alyce" and I would say is their top selection right along with "Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects)". I recommend you do yourself a solid and watch this film, its a damn good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Jay Lee's "Alyce" Kills More Remaining Hope for an American Horror Movie Comeback, August 30, 2014
By 
Doctor Dean (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alyce Kills (DVD)
How in the world does this crapfest earn four stars? I wish I had seen it was from the director of "Zombie Strippers," a big loser that I didn't bother seeing, so that I could have avoided this one, too. In a nutshell, (SPOILER ALERT--IF THAT MATTERS) two anorexic, potty-mouthed, average-looking young female losers buy drugs from the prototypical black drug dealer, get drunk and high, one falls and/or is pushed off a roof, leading the other to even more drugs (this time bought with the prototypically-disgusting sex acts with the prototypically-nasty black drug dealer), and, finally, to her going insane, killing the drug dealers, and inviting everyone else to her apartment where she kills, grinds-up, and forces their bloody body parts down the garbage disposal. In the end, after a week-long killing spree, the cops finally show up, and she looks them in the face and simply asks "what?" I guess that's supposed to be clever. Please don't waste your money on this disgusting and boring piece of trash. It's too bad Jay Lee wasn't one of the ground-up bodies flushed down the disposal so that we could rest assured that he's finished. Bad, bad, bad, bad, bad movie (that's five-star bad).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The movie., January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alyce Kills (DVD)
I like this movie.one of those thrillers,horrors,which many times you don't know what is going to happen next. Just watch it and have your own opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. A descent into madness on a runaway ..., December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alyce Kills (Amazon Instant Video)
Sick and Twisted. Loved it. A descent into madness on a runaway train. One of the better indie horror movies with a art house feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alyce Kills (Amazon Instant Video)
Great movie! Thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to my friends! No known actors but that made it even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alyce [Region B]
Alyce [Region B] by Jay Lee (Blu-ray)
Used & New from: $28.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.