Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful retelling of Morgan le Fay's troubled childhood.
Although his many duties as the Duke of Cornwall often kept him away from home, young Morgan loved her father. And when the six-year-old witnessed a man leaving her mother's chamber, a man that looked just like her father but was nothing like him, she knew something was wrong. For her father was dead - killed by the king Uther Pendragon, who then steals Morgan's mother...
Published on February 27, 2001 by Rebecca Herman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More More...
Personally, I finished the book wanting more. Morgan le Fey reminded me of the spoiled girl in the Willy Wonka movie. I love Aurthurian folklore and I was hoping to read more about Morgan.
Published on August 23, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful retelling of Morgan le Fay's troubled childhood., February 27, 2001
Although his many duties as the Duke of Cornwall often kept him away from home, young Morgan loved her father. And when the six-year-old witnessed a man leaving her mother's chamber, a man that looked just like her father but was nothing like him, she knew something was wrong. For her father was dead - killed by the king Uther Pendragon, who then steals Morgan's mother away. Bitter with anger and resentment, the little girl awakens something magical within her - a power that can be used for good or evil. For five years Morgan and her sister Morgause are cared for by their childhood nurse, Ongwynn, and during that time, Morgan's hatred for the king and for her half-brother Arthur steadily grows. When the king dies, Morgan dares to hope that her life will go back to the way it used to be - but instead, she and her sister are forced to flee to Ongwynn's isolated home. There, Morgan's power steadily grows - but so does her hatred. Morgan knows she has a dark fate she is doomed to fulfill - and although she fights it, her struggles are in vain. This was a powerful retelling of a legend, as seen through the eyes of a young woman who fights to control her future, even though she knows deep inside she is doomed to failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Morgan le Fay Book review, October 24, 2001
I am Morgan le Fay
By: Nancy Springer
Ms. Olivet Eng. per.2
I am Morgan le Fay is a spellbinding tale of the enchanted place, Avalon, from long ago. It has an incredibly facinating plot, with impecable details. Together these two characteristics create a captivating novel that reaches into the mind of the reader.
Nancy Springer's use of imagery brings the reader into the mystical Arthurian world of the sorceress, herself, Morgan le Fay. The castles, forests, events, and never-ending emotions are portrayed so well in the story that the reader can clearly picture them in his/her mind. The author also brings you, the reader, into the mind of the spoiled, stubborn Morgan, as she grows both older and wiser. As you read through the book, you feel everything that Morgan feels, and begin to think the way
she does, often forgetting about reality and falling into the words of the novel.
As Morgan grows by learning and gaining powers from the milprieve stone, she begins to understand more about herself, and how her past has formed the person she is now.
Overall, I felt the novel, I am Morgan le Fay, was a fantastic book filled with dazzling events, people, and places that tease the mind for more reading. I would most definitely recommend this book to readers with creative minds, good imaginations, and those who enjoy fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Read!, May 23, 2001
Brilliant re-imagining of the story of Morgan le Fay (though it should be Fey). This prequel/companion to I Am Mordred again deals with Briton's première dysfunctional family. Morgan resents her half brother Arthur from his birth. He is the offspring of King Uther who murdered her father to sleep with their mother. Arthur is the reason she and her flighty older sister Morgause must flee their castle Tintagel with their nurse who is more than just a nurse. Arthur is the object of their mother's obsession when she goes slightly mad after Uther's death. Morgan tries to fight fate and live a happy life away from the world with her true love Sir Thomas, but she loses the fight, her lover, and for a time her mind. The characterizations, especially Morgan's, are excellent as is the imagery and writing in general. Morgan's complex relationship with Thomas not to mention what is intimated at the tale's end to occur between ˝ siblings Morgause and Arthur push this title firmly on to YA ground unlike it's companion volume. The infusion of figures from mythology is nicely handled too. The author has created a wholely believable world! Worth a look see whether you are an Arthurian tale fan or not. There are draggy bits, but the last thirty-forty pages are wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Breathtaking!, May 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: I Am Morgan le Fay (Mass Market Paperback)
This has to be the best book I have EVER read in my entire life. It not only contains magic, suspense, betrayle, and hatered, but it also containes passion,undieing love,and loss.
This story is about a little girl who doesn't really know her destiny, and as she grows up she starts to find it step by step. She finds a magical druid stone one day, and then, before she knows it, starts to start on a never ending adventure- literally. For Morgan le Fay means Morgan the fate, and this fated girl will have to live with the scars of her youth for the rest of her life, and be burdend with the infamous power that brought her those scars. For she is Morgan le Fay...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite powerful, September 2, 2004
This review is from: I Am Morgan le Fay (Mass Market Paperback)
I am Morgan le Fay is about Morgan, the bewitching daughter of Igraine, who will be the one who brings about King Arthur of Camelot's downfall. Morgan le Fay means Morgan the Fate, and she learns about how one cannot change fate, except bring the ultimate result about in a different manner. The impetuous Morgan is bewitching with one purple eye and one green eye and raven dark hair. Morgan finds a mystical stone called a milpreve, and from that day, her life is never the same. Her father, the Duke of Cornwall, is killed in order for Uther Pendgraon to wed the beautiful Igraine. Igraine bears a son, the future King Arthur, by Uther. When Uther is killed, the throne for succession is empty, and wars erupt. For the safety of Morgan and her sister Morgause, they flee with their mysterious Nurse, actually a white witch named Ongwynn, to "Caer Ongwynn" far from their home of Caer Tintagel. There, they live with her for some time, and it is there that Morgan first "awakens" her innate fay powers. When Morgan is fifteen, she is summoned by mysterious forces to go to the enchanted place known as Avalon. There at Avalon, there are many fays, or beings who were once gods, and her mother, Igraine, sitting day in and day out calling for her son, Arthur. In the rest of the book, Morgan grows stronger in her fay/"sorcery" powers while she also falls deeply in love. She also tries to deny fate, but she learns painfully and tragically that it cannot be done. "If I had my way, fate be damned."

This story is quite lyrical. Powerful imagery is prominent throughout the book. Morgan, telling the story in first person, reveals all of her deepest thoughts, her temper, and her vain attempts to control her own fate and others' fates. Morgan falls victim to love, and the exchanges between her and her beloved are tender and sweet, but she learns in the last part of the book that 1) men cannot be prisoners of love forever and 2) one cannot deny his/her ultimate fate. Although gripping, I must note the outcome is a little abrupt and quick. Everything is building up beautifully, then BAM, it is over in two paragraphs. I am still left a little shocked at the abruptness, but overall, I am Morgan le Fay is a wonderful read, a nice break from all the attention King Arthur and Guenevere receive in literature. Now I appreciate this character of Morgan, no matter how tragic she turns out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Author Speaks, October 28, 2001
By 
I was raised in a world almost as traditional as that of the legends, 1950s-style, in an old-fashioned Middle American family. A little girl was supposed to look sweet and not talk back, so, like many females before me, I became an expert at hiding my disobedience. As far back as I can remember, I knew that I was sneaky and bad; perhaps I was born to write about the misfit, the outcast, the oddling. I was raised in a world of surface smiles and secret truth. Intensely curious about everything my parents hid from me, I spent my childhood unraveling mysteries -- adult relationships, the Tooth Fairy, rudiments of sex, Santa Claus, neighborhood infidelities, the Easter Bunny. I questioned platitudes, I debunked white lies, I became fascinated with exposing what was hidden, finding out, turning over the stone in search of the grubs underneath. To this day, I go fishing in muddy water. I remain obsessed by the substance beneath the surface. It's no wonder, then, that I chose to write about Mordred and, later, about Morgan le Fay. I had to know: What truth lay beneath the "wicked woman" surface? Fate to the contrary, no one is born evil. Morgan was not born a sorceress any more than Mordred was was born a murderer. How did Morgan of Cornwall become Morgan le Fay?
Having been a sneaky, secretly disobedient little girl once, I thought I knew how it might have been for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The infamous Morgan in a new light, November 5, 2004
This review is from: I Am Morgan le Fay (Mass Market Paperback)
Everybody knows Morgan le Fay's reputation of being one of the most evil characters in the Arthurian myth and how she tried to ruin Arthur with her every calculated move. Few see Morgan le Fay as what she is depicted as in Nancy Springer's version in which an innocent young girl meets her demise because of the evil actions of those around her.

Morgan le Fay was a normal girl until she saw a man that looked exactly like her father go to bed with her mother Igraine. However, that man was not her father, who had died hours before in battle, but the king, Urther, who lusted after her mother. Soon Uther takes Igraine to be his wife and little Morgan and her older sister Morgause are left to live with nurse Ongwynn. However as the landscape becomes more and more dangerous Morgan and her sister must escape with nurse Ongwynn to her secret home. There Morgan learns her magical powers and falls in love with Thomas, an intriguing young man. Desperate for answers to her life, the young teenage Morgan sets off to find her mother in Avalon. Along the way she faces many trials and her relationship with Thomas deepens. Yet in the end rejection and selfishness leads to Morgan's ultimate demise and her fall into darkness begins.

Morgan comes off as a very powerful character who you feel sorry for because a lot of things in her life were uncontrollable. The path to her demise is hard to read because the reader wishes every step that Morgan had made a different decision to save herself. The romance between Morgan and Thomas is the shining part of the story and its bittersweet ending is hard to swallow. Besides Morgan and Thomas, other characters were weak, with probably the exception of nurse, who came across as a very motherly figure. Igraine hit a sour note with me. I just didn't really see much in her. The ending was a bit odd but hints at the future of Morgan. The villian in the story was very weak and you feel a bit betrayed in the end with the demise of the romance. In the end Nance Springers version of Morgan was very insightful and will be a hit with all fans of Camelot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explain, don't excuse, August 20, 2002
Nancy Springer's "I Am Mordred" is still one of the most original and intriguing retellings of Arthurian legend. Now there is a prequel to that work "I Am Morgan Le Fey," a haunting story of a young girl's gradual downhill stumble.
Morgan's father died the night she saw a strange man going off with her mother Igraine. That man, the king, soon took Igraine to be his queen, and her little daughters went to live with the nurse Ongwynn. During that time, Morgan falls in love with Ongwynn's doomed son Thomas, and learns of her own blossoming magical powers.
But things take a nasty turn when she is a teenager. Armed with a druid stone and the aid of gods and fay, she goes on a quest to find her traumatized mother in Avalon. But losses and rejection will spur her on to a destiny that she was desperate to avoid...
Like its sequel, "Morgan" is ultimately a psychological work. Springer avoids "it wasn't his/her fault" traps, instead focusing on explaining rather than excusing. The romance is bittersweet and well-written, which makes the violence and darker undercurrents even more disturbing. And though Morgan's glimpses of the future, we also see a few facets of what we also saw in "I Am Mordred" -- Morgan as she would be about twenty or thirty years in the future, and what she would do to her family.
The main difficulty with the book is that in places it feels a little distended, as if the plot is being scraped a bit too thin. The writing is lush and detailed, with different atmosphere for different settings: Dreamy for Avalon, woodsy and homelike for Ongwynn's cottage, and dangerous for any of the roads.
Morgan is a genuinely compelling anti-heroine, who will have readers wishing that her path were anything else. Thomas will win over readers as well, a quiet character who lacks Morgan's darkness. Igraine and Morgause may annoy the readers, and Ongwynn will interest as the surrogate grandmother figure. The other characters are pretty undeveloped, especially the villain.
Definitely a good read for fans of good spins on Arthuriana, and definitely for fans of Morgan le Fay (I would recommend this highly over any other Morgan-related book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morgan le Fay, October 4, 2001
By A Customer
I can not believe the wonderful, mistical, enchantment of this book! It's a wonderful story if your looking just to get away; leave your world and enter that of another. Though this book is not for everyone, it is for those who have enough imagination to pull off anything. This book, if taken from the right perspective, can teach very important life lessons. Other than that, it is so wonderful. Enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, May 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Am Morgan le Fay (Mass Market Paperback)
I was sure that I wouldn't like this story at all after reading The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, but this tale by Nancy Springer is indeed captivating and does a good job in drawing the reader in.

This book is geared to the young audiences of twelve and above but adults would enjoy this telling as well. The author writes with a light hand and fluidity that makes the reader completely forget their surroundings. This is only the second Arthurian story that I have read, also being from the viewpoint of the women, but I am not left wanting for more of the story to put all of the peices of the puzzle together. It is a complete tale.

The story starts out with Morgan as a child witnessing the horror and the trickery of her mother, and how her mother came to be with child from a man who was not her husband. We watch as Morgan comes into her powers and at first the use of them literally knocks her silly, but then she is summoned to Avalon to learn how to use them and to accept that she is the fate she that she fears. Others dwelling in Avalon try to teach her to embrace the dark side of herself before it overtakes her, but that is a lesson she does not learn or cannot learn. Events unravel and we see at each unfolding how she became to be the fearsome enemy of the King that she is known as to this day. She was delt many hardships and has tried to overcome them, but some shadows still stay with her and encourages her position as Arthur's rival.

If one never had sympathy nor empathy for Morgan le Fay, one will by the end of this story. It is beautiful. I am not aware if there is a sequel to this tale, but there definately should be. The story ends just short of seeing Morgan in her role as the dark side of Morgan le Fay. Instead this story focuses on her life and the reason behind her chosen role as King Arthur's arch enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

I Am Morgan le Fay
I Am Morgan le Fay by Nancy Springer (Mass Market Paperback - September 16, 2002)
$6.99 $5.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.