Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Grocery Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 10, 2013
This is a good collection of slides and made an excellent gift to a young family member who is starting out with biology studies. The specimens are very well prepared and clear and the glass slides themselves have smooth edges so there is no danger of a sharp corner on a finger (I have my own battle scars from cheap slides).

Just one negative: most of the slides needed a wipe-down right out of the box - apparently they were badly finger-smudged during preparation and not cleaned before packaging.

Overall, it's a good set of surprising quality.

At the date of this review the description doesn't list the specimens, here they are: pine leaf,coprimus mushroom set, sunflower stem, broad bean root, onion skin, tilia stem, pumpkin stem, lillium ovary, lillium anther, zea stem, aqustio nymphaea stem, hydrilla leaf, pine stem, dog esophagus, human blood, dog skeletal muscle, pig motor nerve, rabbit spinal cord, rabbit testis, dog cardiac muscle, connective tissue, honeybee mouth parts, honeybee leg, hydra, dog stomach section. Most of these are in cross section.
33 comments|393 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
I am a college professor and have used slides similar to these many times in anatomy and physiology lab. I got these for my son's 4th grade classroom and am pleased. The quality is just as good as the ones the university purchases. The slide box is wooden and the slides fit inside perfectly. None were broken during shipment. The quality of microscope used will make a big difference in what one can observe from the slides. One with a100x objective and immersion oil is preferred but a 40x objective will also work, just with a less magnified and detailed image.
11 comment|142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
LOVE this slide set. Very well put together, my children(3, 5, 7, 9) have had no problems finding the object under a microscope.
The set comes in a very nice wood box, with a label sheet, which you really only need if you want to keep them in that order in the box. Each individual slide is labeled with the object to be observed.

Great price for a starting set. As a homeschooling family, we have used this set quite frequently already.
review image review image
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
Great variety. Will work well with all microscopes. Will get their imaginations going and they'll want to create their own new slides. Box closes tightly and slides are glass so be careful.
11 comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
These slides are great for anybody who is new to microscopes or just wants some good prepared slides. They are clear and very easy to see.
22 comments|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
Bought these for practice on a new microscope and they were great for that purpose. Used them for practice with the eyepiece camera and later a Nikon adapter. I didn't look at much beyond the plants as plant ID was what I bought the microscope for, but those slides of plants included were well done. Slides were easily viewed and quality of the objects was great, even at x400.
review image
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
I purchased these slides for my 12 year old daughter and she really loves them and thinks they are "cool" and interesting! There is a lot of variety in the slides and great detail can be found at low and high magnification. These slides are very well prepared and provide hours of great science fun and learning. I paired up the slides with labeled Google images so that we could pick out exactly what we are looking at and that added to her interest and helped me explain what we were viewing.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
Have an antique amateur microscope so I ordered these slides to get it out and set up for the kids. This is a good selection of clearly mounted and labeled animal, vegetable and fungi tissues and insect parts. I'm not experienced enough to judge technical quality, but we could clearly make out vegetable cell structures and animal vessicle structures in the tissue samples, so it is all I hoped it would be. While self-directed exploration has it's place, inclusion of a guidebook to describe to the uninitiated what to look for and more of the significance of what is seen in these samples would make it perfect for homeschoolers and rank amateurs like us (didn't find other sets including this feature, so perhaps an opportunity for differentiation here).
22 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
Dissapointed, this was Not in a wooden case as described, instead its in a yucky plastic case :( Sad, Not at all as pictured. But the slides inside are nice.[ASIN:B0055DZ3EK AmScope 25pc Assorted Specimen Collection of Prepared Microscope Slides Glass Slide with Storage Case]
44 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
Very interesting specimens, not the common kinds. However, the case could be better. The lock is not very secure so we used a rubber band to give the extra protection so it doesn't pop open. But overall very good specimens.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.