Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Microscope for Beginners
I read several articles online before purchasing this item that said to avoid microscopes priced under $100. I'm glad I didn't listen! This is a fun microscope for tweens with an interest in science. The kit includes enough supplies to make slides, and directions on how to prepare and view them optimally.

My daughter has had hours of fun with this microscope!
Published 13 months ago by Jessica Olson

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some parts are metal, many are plastic, one lens wouldn't focus on anything....
Gave this as a gift to a science-minded friend of my daughter's. Her dad is a pharmacist and her mom is a lab tech. Many parts are plastic, including on the body....it appeared to all metal in the pictures. One lens wouldn't focus on anything. Case is nice. Light is useful. Tools are all plastic as well.
Published 12 months ago by LJP


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Microscope for Beginners, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
I read several articles online before purchasing this item that said to avoid microscopes priced under $100. I'm glad I didn't listen! This is a fun microscope for tweens with an interest in science. The kit includes enough supplies to make slides, and directions on how to prepare and view them optimally.

My daughter has had hours of fun with this microscope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11 yr old loves, March 25, 2014
By 
T. Markle (Midwest/East coast, Usa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
this is fun and very well put together. the case is sturdy enough for carrying around outside if need be, but not for serious travel. the tools included are plastic, but with a helping adult, specimens are gotten easily. the slides included are great and im thinking of getting more. though the body of the microscope is mostly plastic, its still decently made and holds up to regular use. specimens of orange peel, a drop of blood and (a little gross but...) even watching a drop of spit with the little bubbles popping was fun. the slide are glass and so are the slide covers (which are delicate), so handle gently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great potential, if you learn some "tricks" to use it, December 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
When I first opened this gift for my nephew (to inspect for quality before I gave it to him), I couldn't see ANYTHING. However, my partner, who is a medical doctor, then helped me learn how to use it, and I can see everything beautifully now. This product has a lot of great potential, but to utilize it you will need to practice a few "ticks." I have some tips for users and tips for AmScope.

Tips for Users (please read all the tips before attempting a view):

1) In order to see the prepared slides, you must begin on the *lowest* magnification, find the sample, focus the view, and then graduate to the next highest setting, repeating the find/focus process (but do not attempt this until you've read all the "tips"). You will not be able to find most samples if you start on a higher setting.

2) Do not press on, hold, or touch the viewing column (the neck of the microscope that you peer into) while focusing or viewing a slide. If you do, it will bump the lens away from what you are trying to see and you won't be able to maintain focus. The only part of the microscope you should touch is the actual focus knob. This may be tough for kids, but it's a good skill to learn.

3) If you see part of the slide, but want a fuller view, move the slide in the **opposite** direction than what it looks like you should (that is, if it looks like the slide needs to go down, move it up; same for Left vs. Right). The instruction manual doesn't mention this, but it's a very important, elementary fact that will drive you batty if you don't know it.

4) You are going to see, what appears to be, light grey, transparent dots and circles when you peer into the lens, and when you view the slides. That is OK. All microscopes have these blemishes to some extent. You will not get rid of them. However, this ***should NOT impair your ability to view and focus on each slide*** so that you see their cells, bright colors, and sharp detail. When the microscope is properly focused, these grey blotches do not block or inhibit an excellent view of the specimen (when properly focused, you don't really even notice them). But, if you are not able to focus, almost all you will see is these grey blotches.

You **can** clean the lenses with alcohol to remove some external dust or grime, but no matter what there will **always** be some debris (it's a microscope: it blows everything up, including dust and water marks). So, before assuming it's a problem with the lens, make sure you get a good focus (following the steps below) and see if your view is actually blocked. It shouldn't be. My husband works with industrial grade microscopes and he says all of them have this effect, to some extent.

5) My Corn root slide is hopeless. With a lot of work, my husband was able to get a view of it, but it was barely visible even then; so, don't try that one first (you'll assume the microscope doesn't work). Try the darkest specimen and then once you have the knack of it, move to the more transparent ones. They are all BEAUTIFUL once you can get a good focus (except the corn root).

Tips for AmScope:

1) Ditch the corn root sample and replace it with something larger. It is almost impossible to see.
2) Improve your instruction manual to include directions about how to focus, beginning from the lowest setting, and informing folks not to touch the viewing column.
3) Include three images in your instruction manual of what they should see with no specimen (including the grey blotches), what an unfocused specimen could look like, and what a sharp, focused image should look like. These can be grey scale, and would provide some guidance.
(PS: I'm a technical writer, so let me know if you need someone to improve your instruction manuals).

So, here are my version of written instructions for viewing a sample slide:

1. Place your slide under the viewer.
2. Do not touch any part of the microscope other than the focus knob while viewing your specimen.
3. Begin on the lowest magnification (300x). Adjust the slide until you see at least a shadow of the specimen in the viewer, and then slowly turn the focus knob until you can clearly see the specimen (you should be able to see some definition between cells).
4. If you see the specimen in part of your viewing circle, but want to see more, move the slide in the *opposite* direction than it appears that you should (eg: if it looks like you should move it down, move it up).
5. Once you have a clear view, you can increase your magnification to 600X.
6. Note: when you turn the lens to the next setting, your view of the specimen will change (as the lens will be lined up slightly differently). You can shift the slide again, or you can gain focus, and then move the slide. Remember not to bump or lean on the viewing column, as it will cause you to loose focus.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some parts are metal, many are plastic, one lens wouldn't focus on anything...., January 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
Gave this as a gift to a science-minded friend of my daughter's. Her dad is a pharmacist and her mom is a lab tech. Many parts are plastic, including on the body....it appeared to all metal in the pictures. One lens wouldn't focus on anything. Case is nice. Light is useful. Tools are all plastic as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
This was purchased for our 12 yr old daughter who loves science. She has had so much fun making slides and seeing things from a different view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very nice and a great gift, April 1, 2014
By 
Barbara Venezia (Newport Beach, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
This was a Xmas gift for a 5 year old who just loves it. He gets more intrigued with it every day and I think we have a budding scientist in the works. It's a toy and buyers should remember that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
This item is good for the price. A little challenging for kids to focus. It is a real microscope though, so younger kids can give science a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so cheap, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
This thing was so cheaply made. I had to fix the light mechanism right out of the box. The fact that i could figure it.out was even more pathetic. Not worth low price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
This little microscope does everything necessary for a fun and successful first foray into microscopic research. Our 7-year-old received it for Christmas and has had a wonderful time looking at the slides provided. It could be worthwhile considering purchasing a supplemental slide collection to provide your young scientist with some additional variety. She was impressed by all the bits and pieces of the "kit"; I appreciate that it all tucks away in a box for easy storage. The microscope itself works well -- she can successfully focus it herself. It is quite small and lightweight, which works well for us. A child who is harder on his or her toys might benefit from a tool that is a bit more sturdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars in fact his 12 year old brother wanted one just like it., August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmScope M30-ABS-KT1 Beginner Microscope Kit, LED and Mirror Illumination, 300X, 600x, and 1200x Magnification, Includes 48-Piece Accessory Set And Case, Black (Misc.)
Was a hit with my 5 year old grandson, in fact his 12 year old brother wanted one just like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.