Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If an Italian dinner was made of words...
Religion makes a great many assumptions about the workings of the universe. Many throw rational thought out of the window, delivering dogma as fact. While this can cause some very heated debates with non-followers, none do it quite so humorously as the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

If you are unfamiliar with the Flying Spaghetti Monster, wikipedia has...
Published on November 19, 2011 by Emory B. Pueschel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay
The stories are a little inconsistent with the holy doctrine but its good overall. i would really recommend this book.
Published 1 month ago by Zachary Rice


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If an Italian dinner was made of words..., November 19, 2011
Religion makes a great many assumptions about the workings of the universe. Many throw rational thought out of the window, delivering dogma as fact. While this can cause some very heated debates with non-followers, none do it quite so humorously as the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

If you are unfamiliar with the Flying Spaghetti Monster, wikipedia has a nice article on His Noodly Goodness, or you can go to the Church's website at venganza.org. In short, the FSM is a divine being who does not issue commands, rather "I really rather you didn'ts". He flies, and is made of spaghetti. He is a lovable deity, even if some of his key bits of dogma are not very family friendly (heaven features beer volcanoes and stripper factories, for example).

In the collection "Amazing Stories of the Flying Spaghetti Monster" (edited by Cameron C. Pierce, author of Abortion Arcade) we see interpretations that somewhat stray from the core image that His church presents. They are weird, funny, and engaging. From the light-hearted "Grumpy Old Gods", to the more serious "Hot Dogma", and even some self-deprecation in the form of Mykle Hansen's "How I Became a Famous Author", we see the FSM through other meatball eyes. It is enlightening, but fills the stomach nicely.

Each story paints a different Sistine ceiling of His Noodly Goodness: at times He is very human, just another sentient being getting on in the universe (Adam Bolivar's "Down and Out in Mythos City, e.g.) In other stories He is strictly divine, all mystery and enigma (Kirsten Alene's "23, 28"). All of the tales collected here are sure to delight those both new to His word and faithful Pastafarians alike.

Like a made-from-scratch Italian dinner, "Amazing Stories..." is sure to leave you satisfied. You can't go wrong with this anthology. In the words of the Pastafarians: RAmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Buffet of Delicious Lunacy., January 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Let me just say this off the bat, I am not a devout follower of "His Noodly Goodness", I am a Methodist. That being said I do relate to the followers of the Flying Spaghetti Monster, because in essence it is a religion based on pointing out the stupidity of the religious right here in the US. But I am not going to discuss my political beliefs here, I want to talk about this book, and what a book it is.

Bizarro Fiction auteur Cameron Pierce has assembled a cavalcade of authors to create what can only be described as a block of Adult Swim's most surreal shows by way of Timothy Leary and a 42nd Street grindhouse. This book has a combo of haunting, almost lyrical stories, and off the wall lunacy that will make any reader without a stick up their behind laugh and contemplate the universe.

Among some of the best works in here, and there are a lot of them, are Steve Lowe's Monty Python meets Rod Serling take on a man's search for the secret behind a haunting vision of FSM, Kirsten Alene's Egyptian tale of an archeologists breathtaking discovery, and Adam Bolivar's take on what defines a deity that features a cameo by none other than Charlie Sheen. If that doesn't sell you on this book then you obviously need your head examined.

I don't think I have read one book last year that was as fun or reveled gleefully in it's lunacy as this one. If you want to read a book that will keep you hooked for hours, pick this one up. Trust me, this is one book you'll gobble up and ask for another helping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book and great for laughs., January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the coolest books I've read yet. Looking for a good book that provides some good laughs then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book but gets a bit much after a while, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazing Stories of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Kindle Edition)
This book certainly had me chuckling on the plane while reading it. Unfortunately, it comes across that the people who compiled it didn't do much copy-editing when gathering the stories. Thrown in between very good, thoughtful pieces about the FSM, are somewhat random, badly written pieces that looked like they were just thrown in to make the book longer. A bit more careful selection of what stories make the list would have served this book better. But it was still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazing Stories of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Kindle Edition)
The stories are a little inconsistent with the holy doctrine but its good overall. i would really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is a great collection, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazing Stories of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Kindle Edition)
The stories are fun. Some seemed extracted from a scy-fi movie. I think the FSM is proud of these writers.
Ramen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this book..., August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A compilation of stories about the FSM from various authors. A few of the stories were very well written, most of them I didn't care for. Maybe if you're a fan of the author's previous work, this would be in the same vein; but for me, it didn't jive well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining book, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ASotFSM is a very entertaining book with some excellent stories. However, there are some not-so-good ones between them. Long livet the FSM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pastafarian, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The breadth and depth behind the FSM. Treats all religions with courtesy and respect. You may accept the FSM, but not be able to satisfactorily explain it to others. This fills in the missing parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars who authorized this?, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazing Stories of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Kindle Edition)
Totally unrelated to the original brilliant FSM treatise. Hugely disappointing random collection of largely awful text. Who authorized this nonsense?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e37f570)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.