Customer Reviews


5,020 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,443)
4 star:
 (694)
3 star:
 (402)
2 star:
 (128)
1 star:
 (353)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,683 of 1,776 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generic USB charger, USB cable not included
This exact power adapter came standard with what Amazon calls now the 'Kindle Keyboard' models (Kindle 3) but NOT with the Kindle Touch and the least expensive model ($69 no touch) now known as plain 'Kindle'. It should NOT be used with any of the Kindle Fire models. It can be used just about anywhere in the world (100-240V) for as long as you have the proper plug...
Published on September 28, 2011 by A. Dent

versus
883 of 978 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Necassary
This review is not on the quality of the product but on the need and cost. This is not unit specific. I am using my Samsang phone charger usb to AC part for mine. You can pick them up on the net or at radio shack for as cheap as 99 cents.

Any of those on this page will work it just doesn't say Kindle. But you probably have one if you have a cell phone or...
Published on November 24, 2011 by Maeven6


‹ Previous | 1 2502 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,683 of 1,776 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generic USB charger, USB cable not included, September 28, 2011
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
This exact power adapter came standard with what Amazon calls now the 'Kindle Keyboard' models (Kindle 3) but NOT with the Kindle Touch and the least expensive model ($69 no touch) now known as plain 'Kindle'. It should NOT be used with any of the Kindle Fire models. It can be used just about anywhere in the world (100-240V) for as long as you have the proper plug adapter.

To charge a Kindle you will need a generic USB Type A/Micro B cable and one is supplied with every Kindle purchased and you can do it in several different ways:

- Off a laptop or PC through one of their 'powered' USB ports (you will need a laptop or a PC)
- With this adapter which comes with all Kindle 3s or can be purchased separately (you will need the Amazon-supplied or any generic USB cable)
- With a third-party, branded or generic USB charger (search Amazon for either 'kindle charger' or 'usb charger')

This specific charger works for all 3d and 4th generation Kindles and is also great for charging lots of other gadgets that get charged through an USB port. I'm using it to charge my Blackberry Torch, a couple of other phones and the kids charge their MP3 players. And the reverse is also true: most other USB chargers will work with your Kindle. One good example is the Blackberry's.

Amazon's charger may cost a couple of dollars more than a generic but it comes with Amazon's logo and some peace of mind. For anyone going 'generic', here are the Amazon adapter's specs:

INPUT (AC): 100-240V, 50/60Hz
OUTPUT (DC): 4.9V, 0.85A

Prices fluctuate so I'm not going to discuss 'price' but it's always a good idea to search Amazon for alternatives before placing an order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


469 of 514 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Might Need This If You Buy Any Of the 2011/2012/2013 Kindle e-Readers: Kindle, Kindle Keyboard, Touch, Paperwhite, September 29, 2011
By 
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
UPDATE 11/3/13: All the new 2013 Kindle Fire HD and Fire HDX's come with their own charger so you won't need to buy one of these separately for those devices.

UPDATE 10/15/13: This will work to charge any of the 2011/2012/2013 Kindle e-Readers: Kindle, Kindle Keyboard, Touch, Paperwhite using the included USB cable that it comes with the e-reader. In fact, it is what I am also using to charge my 2012 Fire HD although the Fire would charge faster with the newer Amazon Kindle 9W PowerFast Adapter for Accelerated Charging

The newer Kindle e-readers(Kindle, Kindle Touch, Kindle Paperwhite) come with an included USB 2.0 USB to Micro-B cable that you can use to charge your device by connecting it to the USB port of a computer. But the specs also say:

"U.S. POWER ADAPTER SOLD SEPARATELY"

So you are going to need one of these if you ordered one of these Kindles and want to wall charge it. For awhile these were 50% off as Amazon was trying to take some of the sting out of the deal for when everyone finds out that they need an adapter to plug/charge it in a wall outlet. In the past(before 2012) all Kindles came with the adapter included in the purchase price. Welcome to the new Amazon! A plus, however, is that it will also charge any iPod that charges via USB.

This is the same adapter that you should already have if you own one of the the first generation Kindles, so no need to buy a 2nd one. I lost the adapter on my Kindle 3(Kindle Keyboard) and had to buy one of these.

It's a nice, small adapter with an Amazon logo. It does exactly what it is designed to do, charges a Kindle. Do yourself a favor. If you need one, buy it directly from Amazon or from a seller with a "Fulfilled by Amazon" designation so you qualify for the the 30 day hassle free return/replacement policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


883 of 978 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Necassary, November 24, 2011
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
This review is not on the quality of the product but on the need and cost. This is not unit specific. I am using my Samsang phone charger usb to AC part for mine. You can pick them up on the net or at radio shack for as cheap as 99 cents.

Any of those on this page will work it just doesn't say Kindle. But you probably have one if you have a cell phone or some other electronic divice ... like an MP3 player.

[...]

Ber
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


963 of 1,069 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total rip off, January 6, 2012
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
This is just a regular usb charger, one of these even came with a 5 dollar lamp I purchased, and they can't throw it in with a 79 dollar kindle? You can buy one anywhere on the net or in some stores starting at 99 cents or less. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS, it is an easy way to trick kindle owners out of an extra 9 to 14 dollars. It is Outrageous to prey on people's ignorance like this, especially with such a popular product. I can see my older relatives getting tricked into buying this.

Edit: It is Currently 20 dollars! Now it is 20 times more expensive than a reasonably priced adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 131 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A perfect product product in all respects but price, December 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
In appearance, the Kindle US Power Adapter (PA) looks like a normal wall plug found on the end of any standard electrical cord. The difference is that the PA steps the electrical current down to a level appropriate for recharging the Kindle.

As shipped, the Kindle includes a dual-purpose cord that connects to a USB port, and is used to 1) recharge the device or 2) download personal content files stored on the computer.

Recharging with the PA is simple and straight forward: 1) after attaching the USB cord to the Kindle, 2) insert the USB connector plug into the PA instead of the computer, 3) plug the PA into the wall. 4) When the little yellow light on the Kindle turns green, all done.

The PA is particularly useful for Kindlers who are without access to a computer. Otherwise, the included USB connector cord serves just fine. I've actually only used the PA once, and that was to see if it works. It does.

My only real objection to the thing is that it's too expensive. If it were priced at $5 or less, I'd say five stars. At $20, I give it ˝ star, and say, "Shame on you, Amazon. You should have thrown this little gadget in the box for free."

But I'm mostly irked at myself. I could have bought this gizmo used in the $5 range. But what the hey! I do so love my Kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


221 of 242 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle charger ...., November 28, 2011
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
If you have a charger for your iPod, it will charge the Kindle. iPod charger is 110-220/5 volt/ and 150 to 1000 mamp.Same for Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


275 of 303 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip off!, December 19, 2011
By 
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
Save $10 and go buy this somewhere else. These sell for about $5 - $7 and there is nothing special about this one. I was disappointed one did not come with my Kindle.

I expect more out of Amazon :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


187 of 205 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip-off, just like the latest batch of Kindles, December 14, 2011
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
Amazon clearly has no shame charging $15 for something that should be included. What devices don't come with a power adaptor?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 140 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy if u have a kindle touch!, December 10, 2011
By 
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
U can use any generic USB adapter that can be found on eBay or amazon for less than a third of the price.

Please do not pay $10 for this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 143 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to specification, November 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon 5W USB Charger (also compatible with other android and iOS devices) (Accessory)
Love my Kindle. Took it with me on a trip to Asia recently. The base of the Kindle charger said the input is 110-240V 50-60Hz, so I put on the proper adapter and plugged it in. Immediately, the charger popped with a puff of smoke. I had no issue plugging in my laptop or my cellphone chargers which were similarly rated for 110-220V. This Kindle charger is only good for 110V. Do not believe it's label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2502 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.