Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unique money-maker
"Amazon Income" begins by familiarizing the reader with Amazon, their business plan, and their success. It is great that this introduction was included, because understanding this business fully is very necessary in order to profit from it. Cohen continues by telling the reader how to sign up, keep track of sales, and how to ship merchandise. The book then goes into much...
Published on January 25, 2010 by Jules W.

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazon book review
This book is very basic and does not really go into the details that you will need to build your Amazon business.
Published on December 13, 2010 by cjh2801


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unique money-maker, January 25, 2010
By 
Jules W. (Connecticut, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
"Amazon Income" begins by familiarizing the reader with Amazon, their business plan, and their success. It is great that this introduction was included, because understanding this business fully is very necessary in order to profit from it. Cohen continues by telling the reader how to sign up, keep track of sales, and how to ship merchandise. The book then goes into much detail about finding and selling used books on Amazon. After that, the author writes about how to utilize all the many tools Amazon has to offer to benefit and profit. Amazon online business has a vocabulary of its own, and this book helps readers understand terms like "Pro-merchant Marketplace", "Widgets", "aStore", the "Advantage Program", and more.
The information in this book is innovative in that internet commerce is very new to many adults, and is a unique way to make money. The book approaches Amazon selling as a fully fledged business, not just a side-project, and goes into detail about making a profitable Amazon WebStore and even publishing your own books through Amazon. Readers of this book should be serious about entering this business. Cohen dispels any myths about online business with Amazon being simple, as it takes hard work and dedication to understand the inner workings of this business and to grow a customer base. This book is just a detailed guide, the work and tech savvy must come from the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Guide, January 4, 2010
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
This guide to starting a successful business associated with Amazon begins with a Foreward by Richard Geller, CEO of DirectResultsPublishing LLC, that gives some background information on Amazon's success. Wildly hailed as innovative and forward-thinking, Jeff Bezos began Amazon.com after leaving Wall Street. The move was considered a bit unorthodox, and some wondered if it was intelligent. Obviously, he proved the skeptics wrong.

This book maintains that philosophy of forward-thinking through its 24 chapters (plus a conclusion, glossary, bibliography, and author bio), but it starts at the very beginning: the Introduction contains vital information about reasons behind Amazon's success, the fluctuations of internet businesses (even Amazon experienced precipitous declines), and other information one needs to possess before venturing into the new world of eCommerce; all that information is presented through the background information of Amazon's gradual rise to the king of internet sales.

Like many guide books, Amazon Income starts from the very beginning: starting a business. The initial chapter summarizes reasons to choose Amazon over the competition (of which they are many). From there, Amazon Income goes through every minute detail pertaining to the initial setup of an online business, and even presents readers with the consideration of whether an online business is even pertinent. The chapters read like tutorials, taking readers step-by-step through the process. At each step, it provides extra details pertaining to the current step (e.g. in Chapter 3, they go over equipment necessities and costs one needs to be successful. Reliability is the key issue, because if your system crashes, "your doors close." Then they present a variety of influential factors on deciding which computer to purchase and give recommended specifications to maintain efficiency).

The rest of the book follows in this manner: taking readers from the conceptual process to the tiniest details one will need to consider. The writing is objective, mostly statements and suggestions, which achieve the author's purpose: to give readers the highest chance for success. After finishing the book, I was inspired to create my own business because Cohen makes the process sound almost fool-proof, as long as one is willing to invest copious amounts of effort into turning his business into a resounding success. The most consistent thread throughout the book is the notion of hard work. The final message I got from this book is that starting a business with Amazon.com is a large endeavor, but one that can pay large dividends. In that respect, I would recommend it to anyone with the slightest notion that starting an e-Business with Amazon may be a good idea because Amazon Income will reassure you that it's a good idea, and give you everything you need to turn that good idea into a profitable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Package for Selling on Amazon, February 17, 2010
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
Amazon Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business With Amazon

Overall, this book is the complete package for selling on Amazon. I was intrigued by the title but somewhat skeptical as to what the book would really offer. I soon found that the ideas generated by the book encouraged me to interact between the book and my laptop as I researched opportunities for my own blog as I read along.

The book convinced me that if I was ever interested in selling online, Amazon would be the way to go with its seemingly endless selling options and innovative ideas (many of them without a cost until a product is sold). This book also offered sound start-up business advice that could be applicable to both online and store front businesses; I especially enjoyed the chapter devoted to staring an online book business and the case studies presented throughout the book, as it gave that reassuring feeling of possible online success.

Above showcasing Amazon, this book emphasized the need to take the time to invest in your business which involves knowing who you customers truly are. There were in-depth explanations throughout all of the chapters with suggested website links for further action or research.

With the idea of becoming an Amazon Associate, the book suggested that fellow Amazon Associates are a great information resource with the further suggestion of "do not hesitate to get in touch with" other associates, even by telephone. I'm not sure of the legalities of such but this might be something worth checking into (both for networking and the legal side).

I found Chapter 47 on widgets to be confusing as the book went on to call them `links' for the remainder of the chapter. Only at the end of the chapter was there a definition explanation of widgets/links that would have been much more effective had it been placed at the beginning of the chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, February 23, 2010
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
Amazon Income: How Anyone Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon is a breath of fresh air. It is honest in its approach of how Amazon can help you earn money but it doesn't keep the potential costs a secret like many other get rich books do.

Each chapter deals with a specific department of Amazon and how it can help you build a presence online. This book doesn't just throw out names of each section and then go on to telling you how to use that section. It gives some history to the development of the section or department and gives detailed information on how the section or department might help you earn money.

Through this book I learned about different aspects of Amazon that I didn't know about before and how I could expand on the few I did know about. Amazon Income helped me learn how to become a better Amazon Associate and how to upgrade some features that I didn't realize related to me. Each of those opportunities has given me a better chance at success and has helped eliminate the lost at sea feeling.

Amazon has changed over the years and keeps changing giving entrepreneurs like a chance to find something of use on their website that will help them to achieve their own dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazon book review, December 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
This book is very basic and does not really go into the details that you will need to build your Amazon business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazon income, December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
this is a good book I have read it a couple of times on ways to make money online however I think with things changing so quickly and different ways they might want to come up with a part 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
No nitty gritty details on exactly how to make money. Mostly generalities that are common knowledge to anyone that reads it. Should be more specific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be Required Reading for Amazon Sellers, December 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
Very well done overview of all different aspects to make money online with Amazon. I was surprised by how many money making methods it covered. Some of the information is already out of date because things change very quickly on the river. However, basic information stays the same. And one of the best features of this book is it gives you just enough information to get started. Most online sellers will tell you that learning from your own experiences (mistakes) is part of the job. I consider this book a great reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top pick for aspiring entrepreneurs, March 15, 2010
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
Amazon was formed out of the aspiring dreams of an entrepreneur, and people can use Amazon to blossom their own aspiring dreams. "Amazon Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon" " is a guide to starting one's own business through Amazon.com, the internet market place which has taken to being a place where trade happens. Amazon has reached its size and success by embracing any agreement that can be mutually exclusive, and Sharon L. Cohen hopes to help readers link in with this philosophy. "Amazon Income" is a top pick for aspiring entrepreneurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why generalize, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon Income: How ANYONE of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can build a Highly Profitable Online Business with Amazon (Paperback)
this book is like reading a map... it gives you a general idea of what is obvious. create an amazon account and start selling stuff, start by selling stuff you don't want anymore, like old books, items that is still in good condition, then branch off into selling new items.... whallaaa..... Amazon Income..... big whoop.... anyways, that is just my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.