Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine for most speaker wire uses
The AmazonBasics 16 gauge wiring will be fine for the average user's needs, as long as you keep the length of your run to 50 feet or less. Personally I'd go way less than 50 feet, but that's just me. Otherwise go to a thicker gauge wire like 14 AWG. Yes, this isn't true copper wire, but at this price there's no way it could be 100% copper. It's copper-coated aluminum. My...
Published 11 months ago by Yarii

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I got short
The wire is great, but I was shorted 20 feet or so. I only got 80 feet. I needed 95 feet to be exact and needed extra 15 feet after done with all this. So I measure it and made sure I didnt cut the cable wrong, and guess what. I got 80 feet and 2 inches.
Published 2 months ago by Daniel


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine for most speaker wire uses, May 22, 2013
By 
Yarii (North of Greentucky) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The AmazonBasics 16 gauge wiring will be fine for the average user's needs, as long as you keep the length of your run to 50 feet or less. Personally I'd go way less than 50 feet, but that's just me. Otherwise go to a thicker gauge wire like 14 AWG. Yes, this isn't true copper wire, but at this price there's no way it could be 100% copper. It's copper-coated aluminum. My Yamaha speakers sound great with this wire. It's also easy to see the difference in + and - with these, the white wire is definitely discernible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I got short, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
The wire is great, but I was shorted 20 feet or so. I only got 80 feet. I needed 95 feet to be exact and needed extra 15 feet after done with all this. So I measure it and made sure I didnt cut the cable wrong, and guess what. I got 80 feet and 2 inches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wired up my surround sound!!, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
My only regret about this product is that I didn't buy a third roll!! I ran out and had to go spent $32 dollars for a 50' foot roll at a local store!!(I was desperate and wanted to finish wiring up my house...the attic was hot!! LOL) Sad thing is that this wire was cost a lot less and was way better quality than the $32 dollar roll!! Don't waste money on more expensive wire...this stuff is perfect!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great price, great value., May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
So far I don't have any complaints with this wire. Its plastic sheathing hasn't cracked and it was nice and supple. The wire itself is average for what it is. Not really any different than the competitors.

If you have a low end or middle end receiver and speakers this wire will work just fine. It's definitely better than the wire that comes with Home Theaters in a Box. But if you do have a high end receiver and speakers that use a bit of power, skip copper clad wire. It DOES make a difference and if you're spending 700-1k plus on speakers/receiver don't go cheap on the speaker wire. Get pure copper wire for those setups.

If you're like everyone else and can't afford middle to high end systems, this wire is perfect. Just be mindful that you'll probably need a fair bit more than you expect. A 100 foot roll goes FAST, even in small rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Amazon Basics!, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
Whomever thought up Amazon Basics deserves a raise! I've bought speaker wire, HDMI cables, RCA cables, USB cables. They work flawlessly and are a fraction of the cost of name brand cables. Don't spend your hard earned cash on expensive cables just because they have a fancy name. Amazon Basics cables do the job at a fraction of the cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic but functional., January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The clear insulation on the speaker wire made it easy to hide against an off white wall and wooden floor.
This 16 gauge speaker wire worked great with my Energy 5.1 Take Classic speaker system. Just strip off
about 1/2" of the insulation for the speaker end. If your using the AmazonBasic 24K plated banana plug strip off
about 1" when installing the banana plug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not the name that counts, January 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
Amazon matches quality grade speaker wire that compares with any name brand....and beats prices of their competitors.Works for me and it could work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good deal, June 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
works as expected. heavy gauge wire for long runs does a nice job with my home theater system I recommend this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Know what you're getting, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
Before purchasing, think about your speaker setup. This is lower gauge CCA wire, meaning you probably don't want it for highend/high power systems and long cable runs. If you need to hook up a 1,000 watt sub, the last thing you need to do is cheap out on cable.

That being said, you're going to be hard pressed to find 100ft of 12ga. full copper wiring for <$10, and this seems fine for smaller, lower powered systems. I have a pair of Infinity P163s hooked up temporarily to a 40w/chan. peak Pyle PTA2 and needed some cheap wire. The 50ft. spools were sold out, but the 100ft spools were less than 50 cents more, so why not? And it works beautify for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars decent quality great price, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet (Electronics)
although i have over the years been duped into spending way too much on high end speaker cables as I have gotten older and either wiser or maybe just cheaper I have found 16 gauge speaker wire to be as good as spending huge amounts of cash on the more hyped variety such as Kimber Kable ,Monster etc .

I usually buy standard lamp cord but lately i prefer the look of this type of wire because it is easier to get the polarity right ,this is the first time I have purchased the Amazon branded wire and after cutting to length and adding some banana plugs you end up with very good speaker cables at a price that will not bury you .

I am an audio geek so I have a multitude of high end Amplifiers and a totl Yamaha receiver and guarantee if you blind a/b test this wire against my high end speaker cables you will not be able to tell the difference .

16 gauge wire is the sweet spot where if you buy smaller you can tell the difference but any larger is overkill where you end up with diminished returns .

so take the cash you would blow on high end speaker cables and spend it on better speakers where you truly will have difference in sound quality because the placebo effect is overrated......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa136fb88)

This product

AmazonBasics 16-gauge Speaker Wire - 100 Feet
$9.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.