Customer Reviews


3,364 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,702)
4 star:
 (393)
3 star:
 (104)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (116)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


485 of 510 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone that it doesn't snap in for is a dope like me
If it doesn't snap you probably forgot to take the little rubber protectors off the end of the cable... like I did for about a minute. Once removed it snaps in perfectly.

The cable is high quality, long, and very flexible and has nicely constructed connectors. And it is about 1/4 the cost of radio sxxxx and bsst buy, both being rip-off artists on items like...
Published on April 8, 2010 by Sue Nami

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars loose - doesn't stay connected
whether trying to connect to my tv or sound system, it simply doesn't stay plugged in. i need to buy another cable.
Published 7 months ago by user38192


‹ Previous | 1 2337 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

485 of 510 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone that it doesn't snap in for is a dope like me, April 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
If it doesn't snap you probably forgot to take the little rubber protectors off the end of the cable... like I did for about a minute. Once removed it snaps in perfectly.

The cable is high quality, long, and very flexible and has nicely constructed connectors. And it is about 1/4 the cost of radio sxxxx and bsst buy, both being rip-off artists on items like cables.

Its things like this that will make me a prime return customer. Who can't wait 2 days to save big bucks??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow these instructions for full enjoyment, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
1. Open the box.
2. Remove the cable
3. Remove the twistie tie (counter-clockwise rotation is critical for success)
4. REMOVE THE PLASTIC NIBS covering the connectors
5. Plug one end into your TV optical port and the other end into the electronic device of your choice
6. Enjoy the show

These AmazonBasics cables are the cat's ass. I wish they came in shorter lengths (cable neat freak), but the price can't be beat. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


208 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Buy Overpriced Cables, March 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
My goal in life is to never buy overpriced cables. I figure that it is a cable and how could it break. After all it just sits there collecting dust. It's a digital signal going through glass/plastic fiber, there will be no difference compared to the $450 dollar AudioQuest class 5 optical cable - TosLink plugs 1m (3.28'). If you bought this $450 cable, I cry for you.

The cable is your basic black color and it looks as nice as a cable can look. The cable is flexible and bendy just like a cable should be. It is long. The connection fits snugly from my Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K 7-Channel A/V Receiver (Black) to my ancient Philips DirecTV DVR With 40GB TIVO.

It comes in a nice cardboard box that is so simple to open. You can then toss the packaging into your recycle bin for recycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETELY SATISFIED - NEVER BUY AN OVERPRICED CABLE AGAIN, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
Having owned an HDTV for quite a while now, I've always used the TV speakers because I've never owned a home theater system although all my friends and family have a home theater system. I've always relied on non-digital cabling to cable up my devices to the TV (with the exception of my devices that have HDMI ports). Anyone who is familiar with cabling knows that the majority of it are metal-based. Being metal means that it's subject to potential interference and with interference comes those higher dollar cables that include various methods to remove interference whether via shielding in the jacket or ferrite toroids. Not sure what that is? Just Google it.

For Christmas, my wife bought me a simple home theater system. It's not a four-figure home theater system but it's definitely an improvement over the standard TV speakers. While I was setting it up, I noticed that it supported several inputs/outputs, including optical audio, standard audio out via mini jack, HDMI, etc. Since I never owned a home theater system, I never owned an optical audio cable. When I tried to connect the system to all my components, I noticed that there was a "hum" that came out the speakers when nothing was playing. I narrowed it down to the dang mini jack cable (despite being a Monster cable) that connected to my home theater system. I removed that and the hum disappeared.

That's when I decided to buy the Amazon digital optical cable because I knew it would get rid of the hum interference. I 100% knew it would fix the situation because I deal with optical cabling on a daily basis in my job (Network Engineer). The benefits of optical cabling is that it's purely digital and that there is no "metal" that makes it more subject to interference. As long as the ends are clean (there are removable protective plastic caps to keep dirt/scratches from touch the ends), then you should be able to connect any device without problems. With digital, it either works or it doesn't. If this cable does not work on your device, it's either due to bad ports or a broken cable. Because of that nature, there is absolutely NO NEED to buy those overpriced cables from high end audio-video companies (like Monster). While Monster cables do help somewhat because of all the shielding they put in their product, it's unnecessary with digital optical cables. Therefore you can go with a cheaper cable (like this Amazon one) with a piece of mind knowing that it just works.

Of course I'm not saying buy the cheapest cable you can find. Name does matter to a degree (build quality of the cable). I've owned several different AmazonBasics cabling and can definitely say that this cable is professionally built and not "crappily" made. I'm very satisfied with this cable and my home theater is too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Really 'Sound' like Good Cables, October 15, 2009
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
These cables are pretty awesome.

Initial setup (who cares): The cable came in an easy to open cardboard box. The plastic tips needed to be removed but that hardly was an issue given I have opposable thumbs.

Sound quality: The quality of the sound was on par with some of the more expensive cables I've had previously. I didn't notice any interference and it sounded fairly clear.

In general there isn't too much to say about this product; either it works or it doesn't work. It works and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally surround sound for my new TV., October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
Just purchased a 55" TV but it has limited outputs. My surround sound receiver has hundreds of inputs/outputs but none of the cords I owned allowed me to connect the sound from my television to the receiver. I like to hook the sound directly from the TV rather than from all my separate components so that I have only one connection and I never have to switch input channels. If it plays on the TV, it plays on surround sound.

Anyway, plugged this baby in (after taking off the little rubber end protectors because I forgot to despite reading the reviews that told me you had to do so) and the sound is great. I've never used optical cords before, but now I'm a believer.

You can't beat it for the price and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect cable for my system, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
Great price with great cable. Remove plastic cap before plug it in. Excellent cable compare to other you can find in BestBuy or any other place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customer, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
This cable gives you the real surround sound coming out of your tv going to connect a home theater system and its not like the other audio connections, its amazing and I like the price specially for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMOVE THE WHITE, SEMI-CLEAR PROTECTIVE TIPS, August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
Yup, just like some of these other reviewers, I was going "wth, this doesn't fit!"...then I read the reviews...
Like other reviewers say, REMOVE THE WHITE, SEMI-CLEAR-ISH protective caps at the tips of the connectors!! Then they'll snap right into the jacks, no problem.
This being the very first time using optical cables, I had no idea you had to do this...AMAZON might want to include a sheet telling people to do this, instead of that sticker referring everyone to the site in like 20 different languages. Just a simple diagram would suffice, no need to put the instructions into different languages...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made, just be sure to remove protectors, January 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters) (Electronics)
A really well made cable. If you are new to this Toslink cabling you may not notice that AmazonBasics Toslink cables come with a near transparent protective silicon cover over the tiny optical connector. Look closely as they are there, and obviously removing this BEFORE installing the cable will be the difference between a trouble free installation and ten minutes of fiddling with connections and scratching your head trying to figure out why your optical connection is not operating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2337 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.