Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice International Plugs, Top Quality Feel, Not a Smart Charger
.
Lots to like about this charger, but it apparently runs a 12-hour charge cycle, even if the batteries just need topping off.

PROs:

* Very nice fit & finish. High quality plastics.
* Excellent international plugs (US, UK, EU, China) - snap on securely
- Nice Price (about $1 to $8 for charger + $10 batteries)
- Includes 4...
Published on May 19, 2012 by C. MacPhail

versus
77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a 'Smart' charger, it does a great job playing DUMB!
The AmazonBasics NiMH Charger is such a perplexing product. On one hand it claims to have "Two individually monitored charging channels", which implies it is a 'Smart' charger (one that knows when to stop charging once the batteries are full). On the other hand it also claims "Timer control for charging cut off", which suggests it is a 'Dumb' charger (one that blindly...
Published 14 months ago by NLee the Engineer


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice International Plugs, Top Quality Feel, Not a Smart Charger, May 19, 2012
By 
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
.
Lots to like about this charger, but it apparently runs a 12-hour charge cycle, even if the batteries just need topping off.

PROs:

* Very nice fit & finish. High quality plastics.
* Excellent international plugs (US, UK, EU, China) - snap on securely
- Nice Price (about $1 to $8 for charger + $10 batteries)
- Includes 4 highly rated AmazonBasics NiMh Low-Self Discharge batteries

OKs:

- Charges AAA batteries also (in pairs)
- Mine came with 2 US plugs and no China Plug (see Note 1)

CONs:

* Charges pairs only. Can't charge 1 battery or 3 batteries
- Batteries in wrong position won't charge (see Note 2)
- Not a smart charger
- No feedback on battery status or when charging is complete
- Not a fast charger - timed cycle is 12 hours
- No Drain-Refresh function

- - - Pricing - - -

Crazy price swings. Low tide is around 8. There's an "Online Price Alert" that will email you whenever this or any amazon product dips below your target price. Google it. It's nicely done. Or try camelcamelcamel, which also shows price history.

- - - Notes - - -

Note 1: Mine came with 2 US plugs and no China plug. I didn't downgrade my review for this. I'm sure amazon would easily rectify.

Note 2: The amazon photo shows batteries in a position that will not work. When charging 2 batteries, they must be in positions 1&2 or 3&4. Minor hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a 'Smart' charger, it does a great job playing DUMB!, May 2, 2013
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
The AmazonBasics NiMH Charger is such a perplexing product. On one hand it claims to have "Two individually monitored charging channels", which implies it is a 'Smart' charger (one that knows when to stop charging once the batteries are full). On the other hand it also claims "Timer control for charging cut off", which suggests it is a 'Dumb' charger (one that blindly charges for a fixed number of hours regardless of battery status). So which way is it? Here is what I did to find out:

First, I used it to recharge two pairs of AmazonBasics AA NiMH Precharged Rechargeable Batteries at the same time. The left pair was partialy discharged (using the Maha MH-C9000 charger) to around 70% of its full capacity, or 1400mAh out of 2000mAh. The right pair was discharged further to around 30% capacity, or 600mAh out of 2000mAh.

According to the product description for this AmazonBasics charger, its charging current is 250mA. So if this is a Smart charger, I would expect the left pair to take 3-4 hours to finish, while the right pair should finish in 7-8 hours. That is not what happened. All batteries were charged for a full 12 hours, and then both sides finished charging together. That seems to prove that this is a timer-based Dumb charger. But wait, that's not the whole story...

I monitored the charging current during the charging process. It turns out the charging current is NOT a fixed 250mA, but a pulsed DC current with variable duty cycle. In the beginning stage where battery voltage is low, the charging current is flowing all the time, which gives an average charging current of 250mA. But later on as the battery voltage increases, the charging current is chopped into narrower pulses, which gives a lower average current. Towards the end of charging period, the average current dropped to just 50-100mA based on my estimation.

What this means is that: The AmazonBasics charger does have some intelligent control circuit inside. It monitors the batteries' voltage and adjusts the charging current accordingly. A timer-based dumb charger at 250mA over 12 hours would put out 3000mAh of charge, whereas this AmazonBasics charge will reduce the amount of charge based on battery status. So although both chargers run for the same 12 hours period, the Amazon charger does not over-charge its batteries as badly compared to timer-based dumb charger.

But does it matter to you the user? You put some batteries in this Amazon charger, and the LED indicators stay on for the next 12 hours regardless of the battery status. So even though your batteries may already be fully charged after 6-8 hours, you have no way to know that and still have to wait for the full 12 hours.

I really can't understand why Amazon picked this design decision. It makes the charger look just like another timer-based Dumb charger, even though internally it is smarter than that. By the way, I opened the case and found two thermistors mounted under the battery compartment (see the pictures I uploaded to 'Customer Images' section). That means there must be a thermal protection feature, yet this is not mentioned in Amazon product description nor in the user manual. It almost seems like Amazon is trying hard NOT to market this product as a Smart charger.

Conclusion:
The AmazonBasics charger is smarter than the typical timer-based dumb charger. But forcing the user to wait 12 hours is just unacceptable. Assuming the price is right (sometimes you can get the whole package for the same price as 4 AmazonBasics AA rechargeable batteries) this is still a reasonable deal. Otherwise, I recommend getting the Sony Cycle Energy BCG34HLD charger. The Sony charger is able to handle individual cells (instead of only charge in pairs) and has a higher charging current of 360mA. So it takes just 6 hours to recharge a 2000mAh battery from empty, shorter if the cell was partially discharged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Functional, but not highly recommended, April 26, 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Amazon batteries as other reviews have stated, have a drop off which exceeds the advertised rate. I'm a photographer and make heavy use of the Sanyo NEW 1500 eneloop 8 Pack AA Ni-MH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries system which I love dearly. The drop off on the Sanyo batteries is negligible.

I've been making an effort to go to rechargeable batteries for household items to help save the environment, and save some money. These batteries should be fine for common household items, game center remotes, tv remotes, etc.

The charger is pretty much junk. You're much better going with La Crosse Technology BC-700 Alpha Power Battery Charger. It has the ability to refresh cells, I've brought back many dead cells, such as those in the solar landscaping lights, which have the absolute worst charge cycles being applied to them. The Amazon charger has no discharge function, and no selectable maH charge rate. It does include about every international power adapter you could need, which only adds to the waste, make this an option (US Version vs. International version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money, January 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
I have this and a LaCrosse BC900 Charger. This charger does not have adjustable charge rates, or discharge, so i would not recommend it as a primary charger. However, the charge light works well for me (red until the charge is complete) and the charging works well. The default charge rates for AAA and AA are in the manual and pretty slow, so half a day without completing is totally normal i've found on 2700mah AA batteries. What I like is, it's international out of box, it suits charging batteries at work for me quite well (mouse et al) and it will charge batteries that have been drained too low for the LaCrosse to see them as valid. The amazon batteries themselves are also fantastic, on par with maha and eneloop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AmazonBasics Charger & Batteries: Very straightforward deal, May 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
It would be hard to fault this deal on the AmazonBasics AA NiMH Precharged Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) and Charger. It's not a stellar performer, aesthetically beautiful, or a vital must-have package. What it is can be described simply: good batteries with a decent charger, and at a straightforward price.

When I saw this package as a Lightning Deal at just fewer than fourteen bucks, it was almost a no-brainer. Do the math: the AmazonBasics AA NiMH Precharged Rechargeable Batteries in the 4-pack generally costs under ten bucks, so it was like getting the charger with its array of interchangeable adapters for the US, UK, EU, and China for all of four bucks. And even with the regular price for this set at under nineteen dollars as of this writing, it's still a decent deal. I'll break this down by the components...

Adapter Plugs:

It may be for some the least important part of this set, but the various adapters will allow you to use this charger in the United States, Europe, the UK or China... perhaps more. I have no international trips planned at this moment, but I have done so in the past, so these are handy. The plugs slide on and off easily, and one just has to remember to keep them in a safe place, such as the original box.

Charger:

This AmazonBasics charger is rated at 100-240V, so it's truly universal. It charges at the rate of 250mAh (milliampere-hour) and will charge four AA or AAA batteries simultaneously in pairs. When the charger is first plugged into the wall, the two LEDs will flash, letting you know that there's power to the unit. While it's charging, the LEDs illuminate indicating that it's operating. The four included AA batteries (2000mAh) took over ten hours to charge, but that was expected, as this is a "trickle" charger, and useful for good, slow charges as many batteries seem to thrive on. Once the batteries are fully charged, this charger switches to maintenance mode, which will keep the batteries topped up.

This charger is in many ways similar to my old Sony BCG-34HE Quick Battery Charger that was purchased here in 2007, a unit that has been my mainstay for years. It's a faster charger that this from AmazonBasics, but faster doesn't necessarily mean better. The AmazonBasics charger does four AAA batteries, but the Sony only does two.

Batteries:

The four 2000mAh NiMH AA batteries are pre-charged, so you can probably use them right out of the box, but from past experience I prefer giving them a full charge before any real use. Most of the NiMH rechargeable batteries that I've bought here over the years are the Sanyo NEW 1500 eneloop AA NiMH Pre-Charged Rechargeables, also rated at 2000mAH power. From experience I've found them to be similar, though I do keep my NiMH rechargeable in sets, and charge them that way as well.

Also have an older La Crosse Technology BC-900 AlphaPower Battery Charger bought in 2008 on the advice of a very wise engineer and reviewer here on Amazon, and this is what I use to check and even recondition older NiMH cells. I used this unit to check the AmazonBasics AA cells (dated October 2011) that came with this set, and their average charge remaining was 1953 mAh, and they were very close to each other. I ran them in the BC-900 with one 700/350mA recharge/discharge cycle, and the average charges increased to 2203mAh, an increase over their 2000mAh rated capacity. All things considered, I find them to be very close to my favored Sanyo eneloop cells. This deal represented my second purchase of AmazonBasics AA NiMH batteries, and they seem to be quite consistent. The Sanyo eneloop cells hold their charge for a long time, so if these come close, I'll be happy.

Simple hint: I take all NiMH batteries and mark them with the month/year that they were received using an indelible Sharpie. It's a good way to keep them in sets, and mine seem to last a long time that way.

Summary:

I could babble and prattle on about charge cycles, specs, milliampere-hours and such, but the bottom line is that these are quite good. If you can get this set for under fifteen dollars as occasionally happens, then it's a 5-star bargain. At the current price of just under nineteen dollars as of this writing, it's a good 4-star deal, and recommended as a solid product.

5/25/2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Charger, May 3, 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've gotten several amazon basics items in the past and they have all been pretty good. This one is well within that tradition.

I have two old chargers (not by Amazon basics) and a cheaply made two-hour charger from pepboys which is useless and actually ruined over a dozen batteries in a fairly short time. I got so frustrated with it that I went back to my much older Energizer charger which takes 16 hours to charge.

Anyway, I decided enough is enough and wanted something cheap and easy to use to keep my batteries in working order. The Amazon basics charger is basic (as the name suggests) but it does have one neat feature: several international outlet plug connectors that are interchangeable and slide on nice and solidly so it seems like one piece.

The charger can charge 4 batteries simultaneously in pairs. It comes with four AA batteries (2000 mah). But you can charge either AAA or AA batteries. It takes 12 hours to fully charge 2500 mah batteries. It charges at the rate of 250 mah. One nice thing is that once the batteries are charged, the charger switches to trickle maintenance charge that keeps the batteries topped up.

That's about it really.

When you first plug the unit into the wall the two LED's flash to tell you there is power in the outlet. When it's charging, the LED's light up so you know it is still running. Basic but effective. All in all a good charger and, since the batteries are included, a good price. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are some of the best rechargeables I've ever used!, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
After trying several brands of rechargeable batteries that were the 2000mAh range and finding that I wasted my money on batteries that would not hold the charge I decided to give Amazon's haus brand a shot, I mean how could I go wrong, they are less expansive then the competition, longer lasting and well designed. The only down side is the charge time is 15 hours, so to get pass that I picked up 8 more batteries! The charger is well made and it comes with all the power adapters you'll need in your travels! All in all a very good price for this set and well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have used a few rechargables (e.g. Duracell, Energizer Rayovac) in my years, but these are the best., June 21, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Dex" (Long Beach, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
My Wii remote is now down to 3 out of 4 bars of power after about 3 to 4 weeks of moderate use. I am just astounded. And this charger just charges batteries really good! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, holds a change for a long time, June 4, 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ready to go right out of the box. I use them for a wireless microphone during music performances. The batteries were under use for up to four hours a night and used for four or five gigs and still had a charge to them. I wish there was a way to gauge just how much a charge was left. I simply charged them because I thought it was long enough. I like the plug adapter idea. A great advantage for travelling musicians or photographers or overseas purchasers. Well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Get What You Pay For, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics AA NiMH Rechargeable Batteries (4-Pack) with Charger and International Plug Adapters (Electronics)
I don't want to be too harsh on this product. Afterall, subtracting the value of the included 4 AA batteries, the charger is only 7 dollars and that includes all those nifty foreign plugs I'll never use. But let's face it, this is a cheap, downscale item which doesn't even indicate when it's finished charging. Maybe it's OK as an emergency backup, but I prefer something with digital read outs that provides information. Such a device will cost you at least $35 (the LaCrosse BC-700).

Addendum Mar 14, 2012. I wrote the above review when the product cost $17.17. Now it costs $38.99 which is highway robbery. DO NOT PAY THAT KIND OF MONEY FOR THIS PIECE OF CRAP PRODUCT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.