Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Amazons
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars8
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 8, 2002
"Amazons" is in my opinion the weakest of New Concordes sword-and-sorcery reissues on DVD, but that's not to say that this movie doesn't have it's perks.
If you've seen Deathstalker or Barbarian Queen you pretty much know what to expect here. The movie follows the story of two amazons on a quest to find a sword that can stop the evil wizard who is plagueing the land. Not very original, but in the movie's defense that's not all the movies' really about. There's plenty of sub-plots, such as a blood fued between two amazons, a woman who transforms into a tiger and is sent by the wizard to follow the amazons, a group of defenseless virgins who always fall victim to a group of cannibals, and an underground resistance movement with plenty of backstabbing to go around.
The movie of course has it's share of nudity (though it is not as gratuitous as some of the other movies in the sword-and-sorcery series), and suprisingly except for a few seconds at the beginning, the movie contains no stock footage from previous films (people who've seen the others will know what I mean). All in all this is a good movie (actually if i had the chance to start over again I would give this movie 4 stars) if you liked Deathstalke, Barbarian Queen, or are a fan of sword-and-sorcery films this is a good movie (though one shouldn't expect much in the way of special effects)
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2005
If you're into campy sword & sorcery & cheesy acting and bad dubbing, then this might be for you. This one falls into my "Guilty Pleasures" category, right beside the Deathstalker and Barbarian Queen series of films - a group that actually has its own section in my DVD collection. As others have said, the nudity isn't as present as it is in the other, but this could also be due to the fact that about 30 minutes seem to be cut out of this version. Mr. Skin has this listed as having 105 minutes and describes some scenes that are nowhere to be seen in this disc.

That's unfortunate because I always feel ripped off when I buy a DVD that has been edited from the original for any reason. Many people feel this way which is why director's cuts of various films are so abundant. Why pay for a chopped down version when I can get more of the film for about the same amount of money? Given the choice, I always opt for the directors or extended cut of a film on DVD.

Anyway, not much more to say here that hasn't already been said. This one won't win any prestigious awards, but if there's nothing else on, this will generally fill the void at some level. Consider this to be 2.5 stars, but Amazon doesn't allow half stars. The full version would have bumped this up a bit.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
There are a couple of movies by this name made about the same time. The one you want is this one, directed by Alejandro Sessa, starring Penelope Reed, Danitza Kindgsley, Maria Fournery, Esther Velazquez, Anita Larronde, Noelle Balfour, Ty Randolph, Joseph Whipp, and a few others you might recognize by face. This was filmed in Argentina by Aries International and New Horizon Pictures, running about an hour and 26 minutes. There is Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Action and Adventure qualifying parts of this feature, and it is rated R for suggestive scenes depicting sex, and women without their chest covered. There is some guerilla warfare, sword play, lances, slingshots, bow and arrows, daggers, a lioness that transforms back and forth between lion and woman, and there are scary parts for young impressionable minds. It is a B-movie cult classic, not just because of the Danitza Kingsley scenes and the other women who share their assets, but also because of the dabbling in the occult, the mythical figures, the underworld creatures, the forest creatures, the legendary connection between the female warriors and the forest, the other worldly magick, the guilty pleasures of how hokey the special effects are, and some of the components of the story - all of which make this film enjoyable in spite of poor writing, directing, editing, or acting. If you saw this film in 1986, be aware that there are other films out there with the same name that don't have the fleshfest included. This DVD is the one you want, it contains the original theater version with everything intact. The treachery and betrayal in this film was not yet as much everyday life normal in the U.S.A. when this film came out as it seems to be so common today while so many people have fallen under the spell of extreme avarice and self-centeredness. I found it interesting to watch it from a new perspective this year, as compared to how I didn't relate to it as well in 1986. For those who would be watching this for the very first time, you'll miss out on that surreal aspect of this DVD, but you'll still be glad you bought it - even if it is so hokey. Enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2004
This is the type of movie you watch when there is nothing else on or you just want to see something different. This movie is pretty entertaining if you are in this type of situation. Of course you can't expect good special effects (or acting, especially when it comes to the evil wizard) but if you are a fan of this genre you may go away satisfied. The other review gets the story down so there is no need to repeat it. The nudity is held to a minimum so if that is your thing there are plenty of other titles offered by amazon for you. But if you are looking for a sowrd and sorcery film with a little bit of t&a don't hesitate to pick this up. For the $10 it may be worth a shot, if it goes down to $5.99 it's a must have!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
Love Amazons even it was alittle cheeses in the writting department. But I am Lana Clarkson fan love her work and sorry to her life ended short. Have prompt delivery of the dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2011
Roger Corman was a master at creating a storyline with beautiful women doing what the hero always does. Get the bad guy and come out on top.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Good delivered as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2007
I bought this disc for a dollar at Amoeba music in San Francisco. I can't attest to the quality of the actual film, because as I was removing the disc from its case it snapped completely in half. Its a shame, because it looked like a cheesy little time killer, and I'm sure as hell not going to spend 25 bucks to replace it. oh well, maybe i'll catch it on sci fi one day...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.