Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful conclusion
Wow....where do I start? Wow! Great book! When you finish a four part series and the characters have become so alive, it's sad to see it end. Simply put, Amber Morn is an incredible conclusion to the Kanner Lake series.

The Java-Joint gang have all come to celebrate the signing of S-Man's contract. It's a beautiful morning, spirits are high, and everyone...
Published on June 26, 2008 by Melissa

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4th book in the series is my least favorite, still a great read
Brandylin Collins closes out her Kanner Lake series with the most thrilling premise yet. All the regulars are planning to meet at Bailey Truitt's Java Joint to celebrate Ted Dawson's signing of a two book publishing contract. Kent Wicksell and son's Brad and Mitch know this because they've been reading the Scenes and Beans blog, a blog kept by the regulars of the Java...
Published on April 17, 2008 by Bill Garrison


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4th book in the series is my least favorite, still a great read, April 17, 2008
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
Brandylin Collins closes out her Kanner Lake series with the most thrilling premise yet. All the regulars are planning to meet at Bailey Truitt's Java Joint to celebrate Ted Dawson's signing of a two book publishing contract. Kent Wicksell and son's Brad and Mitch know this because they've been reading the Scenes and Beans blog, a blog kept by the regulars of the Java Joint. Kent and family arrive at the Java Joint just as the party has started. They are loaded with weapons and plenty of ammunition and they invade the Java Joint and take everyone hostage. They have one demand. Kent's youngest son, T.J., must be relased from prison. Kent just knows that TJ is innocent and believes he can prove it.

All the regulars are there, including Paige from the first book and Carla Radling from the third. Vince Edwards, the police chief and recent hostage negotiator trainee, is forced into being in charge of the stand-off and negotiating with Kent. Bailey is worried about her husband, who is on new medication. One character is shot and no one knows if they will live. Leslie is moving out of town and boyfriend Ted doesn't know if their relationship will last.

The scope of this novel is impressive. Collins wraps the entire plot around the hostage situation at the Java Joint and the safety of the characters trapped inside. The most intriguing plot point for me was the actual innocence of TJ. Were Kent, Brad and Mitch right, even though they were insane for taking hostages. Was TJ really innocent? This point is covered, then dropped, then picked back up again at the end of the novel. This plot point could have been much stronger.

I enjoyed this novel but believe it was the worst of the series. To me, it had way to many points of view. I didn't have a problem with all the characters from the previous novels being involved in one situation, but it really bothered me that each character, even the smallest ones, had their own point of view chapter. There were probably over 20 different points of view presented in the novel and that was way to many for me to get involved in the story. Overall, Amber Morn is a good conclusion to a series where I have come to know and enjoy. I understand why Collins chose to include the entire town in the story, I just wish she had narrowed the focus to a smaller group of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful conclusion, June 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
Wow....where do I start? Wow! Great book! When you finish a four part series and the characters have become so alive, it's sad to see it end. Simply put, Amber Morn is an incredible conclusion to the Kanner Lake series.

The Java-Joint gang have all come to celebrate the signing of S-Man's contract. It's a beautiful morning, spirits are high, and everyone is bursting with happiness. Never in there wildest nightmares, could they imagine that in a few short minutes, three men would enter, shoot one man, and hold 12 others hostage.

While the first three books are mystery/suspense, Amber Morn is an all out thriller. The characters we've grown quite fond of are put in a situation where their love and friendship is clearly visible. Each one willing to do whatever it takes to protect the others. Each one relying on God and those around them to make it till their ordeal is over. It's an amazing story of friendship and coming together in times of crisis.

It's also an excellent glimpse at the flip side. A hardened family outside of God's love with two uncontrollable adult children. A mother unable to feel beyond her own pain to grasp what her family is doing. A family that sees injustice rather than their own flaws. A family that's willing to kill thirteen people just to see their convicted son freed from jail. An amazing contrast between misguided love and true devoted love.

The end of Amber Morn is a nice conclusion to this series. It was truly one of the best four part series I've read in a while. I found myself totally involved in these character's lives and loving every minute of it. Excellent, excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fourth entry a fitting end to terrific series, April 7, 2008
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
Amber Morn by Brandilyn Collins is the fourth and final book in the Kanner Lake Series. Kent Wicksell's son T.J. is in prison for a crime he claims he didn't commit, so Kent and his other two sons, Mitch and Brad, decide that the only way to get the world to hear of his innocence is to take the bloggers from Scenes & Beans blog hostage when they gather for a party. All the favorites from the previous three books are back and ready to celebrate S-Man's signing of his book contract. But these three volatile men storm in, shoot one of them, and in a systematic way set about getting their story out to the world. Only police chief Vince Edwards can negotiate with the Kent and find out the truth about T.J. Collins is known for writing Seatbelt Suspense, and she lives up to that title again in this book. The scenes are fast and furious leaving me often breathless. I had one small disappointment with this book: the Wicksells were completely unsympathetic, and while I know there are monsters like that in the real world, it would have made for a more complex story. Collins continues to develop the other characters and move their stories forward to a satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Finale, June 11, 2008
By 
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
This is probably Brandilyn's best novel to date, and I've read them all, from her Bradleyville Series (women's fiction), to her Chelsea Adams and Hidden Faces Series', and finally the Kanner Lake Series. Before I read Amber Morn, I had stated unequivocally that Crimson Eve, the third book in the Kanner Lake set was the best. I was wrong. Amber Morn is a masterpiece of page-turning suspense with a cast of dozens. How Brandilyn managed to keep everyone straight is beyond me. Something I could never imagine attempting myself. And her mastery of plot twists and surprises hold true to form - and then some.

This one's a bit different because you know who the bad guys are. They're right there 'in your face.' You just don't know what' they're going to do next.

It is tricky to review a book of Brandilyn's without giving away any plot twists or spoilers of any sort, so I'll stop right here.

I can say this. Don't read this book out of sequence. Matter of fact, I highly recommend--if you haven't already--start with book one, Violet Dawn, then Coral Moon, Crimson Eve, and finally Amber Morn. At the very least, read Crimson Eve before you read Amber Morn. If you like suspense, you'll LOVE this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Becomes Terror, June 7, 2008
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
Brandilyn has done it again! If you have read the first three books in the Kanner Lake series, this one does not disappoint. Brandilyn manages to close the series with a page- turner involving all of townspeople that you have come to know and love. If you have not read the other books, grab them all would be my first recommendation. If not, this book stands alone in its rich story and characters. Don't hesitate to pick it up. Do be sure to clear a couple of days on your calendar for you will be hard pressed to find a place to close the book and set it aside until the end.

One Saturday morning, the patrons of Java Joint are gathered for a celebration, the signing of S-Man's book contract. The joy of the day is interrupted when three gunmen burst into the coffee shop and start shooting. One patron is shot and tossed outside. Police Chief Vince Edwards finds himself facing the most frightening situation of his career and the possibility of losing most of his friends in one horrible incident. Will he be able to negotiate with the trio holding the Java Joint hostage? Will he prevent anymore gunshots? Will the town of Kanner Lake ever recover from this final episode in the life of its residents?

Buy the book and find out. It is well worth the purchase. When Brandilyn Collins calls her books 'Seatbelt Suspense,' she is not joking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fancy and way too violent., July 26, 2013
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
This book was a great disappointment to me. The whole story seems implausible and there were so many "canned" conversation that just didn't ring true. Not to mention there was a lot of very gory violence for a book touted as "Christian." Some of the actuall conversations were laughable. The one most outrageous part was when one of the kidnappers wants a certain person to come back and bring their TV - it was a joke! The dénouement was also a great let down.

If you are looking for an exciting Christian book, look elsewhere, the only "Christianity" in this book is the mention of people praying for others - I don't believe one scripture is mentioned.

Sorry to be so negative, but this book glorified violence, not God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hostage Situation In A Small Town, April 11, 2009
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
I loved this book. It is the first one I ever read by Brandilyn Collins but I will be reading more. "Amber Morn" is filled with action and suspense brought about through a hostage situation in a small town at a café where older people do a blog together. I finished reading this book in just two days. It held my interest and I was anxious to keep on reading. It is the last book in the Kanner Lake Series but I still enjoyed it even though I hadn't read the other three first. It has Christian overtones through it but does not preach at all. I liked the way it ended too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Way to End the Series, May 28, 2010
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
This was my favorite book of the series. I felt that it had all the right elements of a suspense novel. There was just enough suspense and action with the right amount of scare factor without being over dramatic or unbelievable. I really liked the inclusion of the blog in this book. It was very unique to bring it into the story because the gunmen didn't really know how it worked. Therefore even in times of great suspense there was humor because of general bafflement on both sides.

The strength of the novel for me was the inclusion of all the characters that have been featured throughout the series. To some, this might be overwhelming but if you can keep track, it's wonderful to see everyone included. No one gets left out as each character gets their point of view shown. The situation with the gunmen and hostages is something that's taken right from the headlines. Therefore I felt that it was the most realistic situation out of all the other books in the series. I felt really drawn into the story and could connect with everyone. I found myself getting frustrated with the gunmen but only because I didn't have all the details. It was very nerve wracking reading the book!

This is a Christian suspense novel but I didn't feel this book, as the same with the other books in the series, to be preachy at all. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I personally thought it was the best book of the series. I really liked seeing the entire Kanner Lake gang together. Everyone is really close and seeing them having to depend on each other in a time of great need was very moving. As this is the fourth book, I would recommend reading the other three books in the series first. This is because this book is about the townspeople and to fully understand them you need to read the other books to get a feel of their characters. I'm sad that this is the last book but I felt that Collins gave the town and the characters a fitting end. Hopefully one day a return will happen in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Few Surprises, March 31, 2008
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
"His cool blue eyes stabbed Kent. Kent's heart cracked. His anger was pumping and anticipation hummed. Their hearts were beating against each other's chest. The shooter's teeth clenched."

Kent Wicksell's son is in prison for a crime that Kent doesn't believe he committed. After exhausting all legal options, and facing a biased media, Kent determines that he will tell the whole world what really happened and get his son out of prison. To do that, Kent hijacks a blog and holds the blog creators hostage. He hopes to communicate with the police through the blog so everyone can read it, but he gives up on this idea and decides to tell the story on the news. This proves to be a problem because he doesn't have a television and he has to spend several chapters figuring out how to get a television inside. He and his sons don't do a whole lot, other than wave their guns around and threaten people with empty threats. The reader is not surprised at the end when Kent dies.

Apparently, the hostages are people who appeared in previous books. They really don't do much except sit around worrying that they're going to die. The police chief doesn't do much either, other than tell Kent that he can't do much.

The book is readable. It isn't a chore to move to the next chapter, but I would suggest that readers shouldn't start it if they have other things that need to be done. You are very likely to put it down when you go start the laundry and then forget to pick it back up. You might also want to skim the first 90 pages. There isn't much that happens up to that point.

The are some funny lines, which I listed at the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Ending to Riveting Series, August 21, 2008
This review is from: Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) (Paperback)
The members of the Scenes and Beans blog assemble in the Java Joint to celebrate Ted Dawson, S Man's, sale of his book Star Fire to Harper Collins Publishing. No one knows that what is supposed to be a celebratory event will turn into the scariest day of their lives.

Kent Wicksell and his three sons are armed, dangerous, and on their way to the Java Joint seeking vindication for their son and brother, T.J., who they believe is falsely accused of murder. Taking over the Java Joint, now made famous by the blog, will let everyone around the world know T.J.'s story and will put the Kanner Lake chief-of-police on notice that the Wicksells mean business and if T.J. is not immediately released from jail, the hostages will die.

In the last book from the Kanner Lake series, readers will wonder who among their favorite citizens of Kanner Lake will survive the siege. Brandilyn Collins starts the action early, right away grabbing and keeping the reader's attention to the final surprising end.

Amber Morn is a suspenseful stand-alone novel and to me, a great starting book if you are a member of the Big Honkin' Chickens Club and have been too scared to read the author's novels. Readers are aware of the bad guys early so the nail-biting suspense is wondering how, when, and if anyone will make it out of the Java Joint alive.

You can handle that can't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4)
Amber Morn (Kanner Lake Series #4) by Brandilyn Collins (Paperback - March 30, 2008)
$13.99 $11.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.