Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Wale - Ambition
Overall

I have been following Wales career since Nike boots, and I must say this album does not disappoint. This album is not filled with features from various artist, this is Wale. The only other rappers on this CD are Big Sean, Rick Ross, and Meek Mill, and they're only on two songs. The rest of the songs are all Wale rapping and the featured artist is...
Published on November 1, 2011 by Athlete

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wale went mainstream
Big Wale fan. From his mixtapes to his last album. But in this Album it seems like he put little effort to it. There are some songs that i really like. But its not his best work. He went mainstream with this album.
Published on February 14, 2012 by Abraham Carmona


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Wale - Ambition, November 1, 2011
This review is from: Ambition (Audio CD)
Overall

I have been following Wales career since Nike boots, and I must say this album does not disappoint. This album is not filled with features from various artist, this is Wale. The only other rappers on this CD are Big Sean, Rick Ross, and Meek Mill, and they're only on two songs. The rest of the songs are all Wale rapping and the featured artist is singing the hook. This album is well mixed and the audio is balanced through out. This is a great rap album

The Good
* "Chain Music" - This is a great song. If you have a system this song literally "Bangs"!

* "Focused ft. Kid Cudi" - This song really grew on me after listening to it a couple of times. My favorite line off this song is "F*** rap I get geechi off a haiku"

* "Slight Work" - The highest energy track on the album is tough not to nod your head to. Big Sean puts in a good performance by his standards, and the old Young Gunz "Can't Stop, Won't Stop (remix)" sample gives it a somewhat nostalgic early 2000's feel.

* "Ambition ft. Meek Mills and Rick Ross" - This song has an epic feel to it. It also features two of Wales fellow MMG members, Rick Ross Boss) and Meek Mill.

* Wale drops some crazy bars on this album. This album definitely has a high play back value because of this. Each time you replay this album you will hear something you didn't hear before, the bars on this album are CRAZY.

The Bad

* I would of preferred more "bangers" a lot of the tracks are pretty mellow, but this is a commercial album. Great album nonetheless.

* Too many of the songs are the same way when it comes to women and relationships and he talks too much about his weed habits.

Track List
01 Don't Hold Your Applause (prod. Tone P)
02 Double M Genius (prod. Mark Henry)
03 Miami Nights (prod.Mark Henry)
04 Legendary (prod. Toomp)
05 Lotus Flower Bomb f. Miguel (prod. Jerrin Howard)
06 Chain Music (prod. Tone P)
07 Focused f. KiD CuDi (prod. Kore)
08 Sabotage f. Lloyd (prod. Cloud Eater)
09 White Linen (Coolin') f. Ne-Yo (prod. Deputy)
10 Slight Work f Big Sean (prod. Diplo)
12 Illest Bitch (prod. Tha Bizness)
11 Ambition f. Meek Mill & Rick Ross (prod. T-Minus)
13 No Days Off (prod. Toomp)
14 DC or Nothing (prod. Tone P)
15 That Way f. Jeremih & Rick Ross (prod. Lex Luger)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Sophomore Effort, November 12, 2011
This review is from: Ambition (Audio CD)
Wale's first album, 2009's Attention Deficit, went highly unnoticed - including by myself. It garnered positive reviews, but like the majority, I slept on the album. Two years after its bow, Wale goes from relatively underground rapper to having a #2 debut on the Billboard 200 charts, just behind Justin Bieber's Under the Mistletoe. Go figure. Regardless, Ambition, Wale's sophomore LP is more primed for success and finds the standout MC on fire. Signed to standout rapper Rick Ross's Maybach Music label, Ambition is a strong set that retains Wale's more intellectual side as well as sets him up for relative commercial success. For the most part, producers do a good job balancing the MC, which makes Ambition a strong rap effort for 2K11.

"Don't Hold Your Applause" is a strong opener, though one feels like it is a `warm-up' for what is to materialize. The production work is solid and Wale's flow is remarkable. "Don't Hold Your Applause" lacks a certain flashiness or slickness - kind of like J. Cole's opener "Dollar and a Dream III," but at just over three minutes in length, there is little to ultimate quibble about. "Double M Genius" sort of falls into the same boat - quality rhymes and production, but somewhat conservative and non-overt. Wale manages to slip in some random, yet well devised punchlines, which makes "Double M Genius" as consistent as "Don't Hold Your Applause." Similarly, "Miami Nights" has the same marked consistency, using a similar formula to the first two cuts. A bit more assertive, one senses that Wale is about to `breakthrough' big time. "Legendary" is `that track' that the listener has been waiting for. The production is dark and `wound-up' in sound, providing the perfect backdrop for Wale to channel even more machismo and frank talk into his rhymes. Wale's performance of the hook is sort of nonchalant, but that is the appeal of the cut ("...I'm just trying to be legendary...").

After four `grimier' cuts, Wale `softens' up a bit for three R&B collaborations. The first is the best, "Lotus Flower Bomb" featuring burgeoning R&B singer/songwriter Miguel. Miguel sounds solid here and the cut is so chill/mellow it could have easily appeared on Miguel's solo effort. Wale showcases his mainstream appeal here without making too many concessions. "Sabotage," featuring Lloyd cultivates more of a `live hip-hop feel' without actually being live. The cut isn't too shabby, but at five and a half minutes it is a bit overwrought. Regardless, there the soulfulness is undeniable and Lloyd's countertenor pierces the heartstrings as much as ever. Wale taps Ne-Yo for the enjoyable "White Linen (Coolin)," which may be the brightest sounding production of the effort. While the three R&B cuts are sound, one hardcore hip-hop purist might question why not spread the cuts out more as opposed to chunk them all together.

"Slight Work" is manic but brilliant. Produced by Diplo, Wale brings along Big Sean to give the album a party-cut that Big Sean probably would have killed to have on Finally Famous. Diplo's minimalist production easily takes the prize for best of the album and both Wale and Big Sean `kill it.' After the overt cut, "Ambition," the exceptional title track, contrasts with more low-key production work. A brilliant contrast, "Ambition" possesses a `calm' fire thanks to electrifying rhymes by Meek Mill, Rick Ross, and Wale in that order. "Ambition" will remind rap enthusiasts of "Maybach Music 3" from Rick Ross's Teflon Don as far as the format.

"Illest B****" is solid in concept, though does not quite translate as a solid entity. The soulfulness and sense of empowerment shines here, but as cut itself, it is one of the weaker spots. "No Days Off" atones, finding Wale spitting his typical hard-edged, brutally honest rhymes. Wale even manages a repetitive, memorable hook. "DC or Nothing" is ok, but second-tier compared to the best cuts ("Legendary," "Lotus Flower Bomb," "Slight Work," "Ambition," etc.) Closing cut "That Way," featuring Jeremih and Rick Ross is a strong finish to an overall solid effort.

Ambition shines more often than not and propels Wale forward as an MC to watch. It is not the flashiest or most daring rap album of 2011, but it is one of the most solid an consistent. If you enjoy solid underground rap with a `ill' flow, you will enjoy Wale's sophomore effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proving that NO DAYS OFF makes for one hell of an album, November 1, 2011
This review is from: Ambition (Audio CD)
I can honestly say that I have always like Wale, I can also say that it was a random post on Solange Knowles twitter account that brought him and his music into my life, so I can say honestly I am not a hip hop head at all. I have found that the string of rappers that are out now don't talk about anything at all. They talk about weed,women,money, and bling. Nothing that I can, or want to relate to. This album has completely satisfied my need for those very rappers to say something. He has the great party songs like Miami Nights and Slight Work but he goes into the things that make him who he is like Ambition and No Days Off. He doesn't dissapoint for the ladies (and I knew he wouldnt) with the songs That Way featuring Jeremih and Lotus Flower Bomb. I think that leaving his first record label, who thought putting him with GAGA was gonna make him a success, was the best thing he could have done. He went to MMG with Rick Ross and got the attention and promotion he deserved. He went on a multiple city tour that really proved to the world that he didn't need anything to be handed to him, he was willing to work for it. So congratulations Mr.Folarin, You delivered a great album and I promise I won't hold the applause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Wale, November 1, 2011
This review is from: Ambition [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I would like to say thanks to Mr. Wale for keeping his music real to the urban sound you would commonly find in Rap. The album artwork is very crisp, clean and the text is very legible, so I'm giving this production 5 stars for sound recording, artwork and all media associated with this CD.
Another very good production I found was the Thorough Album By Stryk, rapper and R&B Vocalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ambition [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I gave 5 stars because I love this album. Everything was as expected and Wale is the *ish. :) Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good one., November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked Wales first album Attention Deficit better. But this is a great album to. Wales one of my favorite right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentally solid but the previous Wale is suppressed, May 26, 2012
This review is from: Ambition (Audio CD)
Well didn't Wale get extremely commonplace since joining the Maybach Music Group; this album is typical and lacking a certain oomph. This is definitely not a bad album at all; it's just not comparable to his previous release. The production is a solid, with some of the known names in the industry, delivering a typical South/mainstream feel, which does not help the commonality. Wale performs well, still encompassing his stellar flow with an addition of more arrogance and a little bit more swagger. Also in addition with the heightened arrogance and swagger is a lack of relevant content: money, lavishness, and women. Fundamentally solid but the previous Wale is suppressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naija boi Rockin DC, November 23, 2011
In my opinion This cd is the total bomb; Flower Bomb, Ambition, bait, Focused, as a matter of fact, the whole cd is the ish. So Wale keep doing your thing ma brother & never forget where you from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Level, November 22, 2011
This review is from: Ambition (Audio CD)
I have been a Wale fan for quite a while and I gotta give my dude his props for this album. I can't even lie, I didn't think that this album was going be so hard. Dude really did his thing, and stepped his game up to whole other level. Wale is showing the world what he is all about and is his best work so far. Most people have that Sophmore Slump but not Wale. Way to go kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lotus Flower Bomb!!, November 21, 2011
This review is from: Ambition (Audio CD)
Attention Deficit made me highly anticipate Ambition. I was not disappointed. Wale branched out a little more musically with this album, as evident with Lotus Flower Bomb. he has some lyric intensive tracks on there, such as Legendary and Focused. Songs like Sabotage, Illest B*** and Lotus Flower Bomb touch on relationships. While Miami Nights, Slight Work, and White Linen make you feel good and want to party. I can go through and summarize all the songs on the album, but you need to buy it for yourself. This album is one of the better rap albums of 2011, at least in the top 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ambition
Ambition by Wale (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.