Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wholesome, sweet, humorous book
Finally, a beginning chapter book for kids that is both fun AND wholesome! My kids loved the Amelia Bedelia series of books when they were beginning readers. Now there is an all new series featuring Amelia as a child. There are all the same mix-ups and misunderstandings the grown-up Amelia always has in her adventures, but now they are wrapped up in a sweet pint-sized...
Published 18 months ago by Guest Hollow

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so
The Story-
I'm taking a look at book 1 in the new series- Amelia Bedelia Means Business. The author is Herman Parish, the nephew of the original Amelia Bedelia creator, Peggy Parish. The story revolves around Amelia's quest to earn money for a shiny new bike. She tries all sorts of things, from waitressing to having a lemonade stand to earn the money, often with...
Published 11 months ago by Dorine White


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wholesome, sweet, humorous book, January 29, 2013
Finally, a beginning chapter book for kids that is both fun AND wholesome! My kids loved the Amelia Bedelia series of books when they were beginning readers. Now there is an all new series featuring Amelia as a child. There are all the same mix-ups and misunderstandings the grown-up Amelia always has in her adventures, but now they are wrapped up in a sweet pint-sized package.

This first chapter book starts out with Amelia wanting to earn a bike and looking for jobs to make some money. She gets herself into all sorts of silly situations because she takes things so literally (just like the original series). Here are just a few examples:

When Amelia describes the bike of her dreams to her parents, they mention how it must cost an "arm and a leg". There is an illustration in the book at this point showing an arm and leg with price tags hanging from them. Amelia exclaims that she would never pay that much (thinking they really meant a literal arm and leg)!

Pete from the diner asks Amelia if she can "cut the mustard". She responds that she never tried that but she can sure squirt the ketchup.

A customer at the diner tells Amelia to bring him a piece of cherry pie and to "step on it!" because he's in a hurry. Amelia did just as he asked and literally planted her foot right in the middle of it.

A woman at the park tells Amelia that her boss just gave her a pink slip (fired her). Amelia thinks she means a literal slip, like one you would put under a dress.

There are lots of silly mishaps and times when Amelia misconstrues the meaning of all sorts of things said and situations that add gentle humor to the story. These instances are also a great opportunity for young readers to learn how different sayings can have several meanings. The story usually makes it quite clear what the intended meaning is and also how Amelia understands it so readers don't get lost themselves. If you have an autistic or literal child, this is a perfect book to use as a learning tool to spark discussions about literal vs. figurative meanings. Regular kids can also benefit from the subtle lessons about language as well as the subtle undercurrent of morality and goodness.

One thing that I found extremely refreshing about Amelia Bedelia Means Business is that when Amelia inadvertently causes trouble, she always takes full responsibility for it with a sweet attitude, seeking forgiveness and making restitution. She has a wonderful relationship with her parents (no "dumb" or overbearing parents here, as in many children's books) and there isn't a single mean moment in the entire book. All of the humor is wholesome (no potty humor here!) and any potential misunderstandings are resolved with kindness.

A few additional thoughts about the book:

This isn't a religious book, but Amelia and her parents say grace before a meal. That's the only mention of any Christian type element. I think the book will appeal equally to secular or religious parents & kids. In the story, Amelia always tries to do the "right" thing. The book is set in modern times (with mentions of T.V., etc.) and there is, of course, a happy ending that should feel quite satisfying to young readers.

I think Amelia Bedelia Means Business will appeal to girls more than boys because of the main character (Amelia) as well as the light and cutesy illustrations (some complete with little hearts, etc.). However, some boys may enjoy the story because of the quest for a bike and the silly humor.

As for ease of reading, I think most good readers in the 1st or 2nd grade should be able to read this book. It does have a few "big" words like whispered, ingredients, embarrassed, etc. but shouldn't be beyond kids just out of primer style books.

I think this is a great addition to children's beginning chapter books and highly recommend it, if you want a DECENT, sweet book for your child or student(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so, August 11, 2013
The Story-
I'm taking a look at book 1 in the new series- Amelia Bedelia Means Business. The author is Herman Parish, the nephew of the original Amelia Bedelia creator, Peggy Parish. The story revolves around Amelia's quest to earn money for a shiny new bike. She tries all sorts of things, from waitressing to having a lemonade stand to earn the money, often with disastrous results.

My Thoughts-
In my opinion, this new spin off series is decent for kids that aren't familiar with the original picture books. There is a lot of story added to make it a chapter book, with the occasional word mishaps. The reading is easy and the story line is funny. While the original books focused mainly on Amelia and her mishaps, the chapters books bring in several side characters including her parents, fellow students and town folk. I believe kids in 2nd grade and up will enjoy Amelia's zany antics. But, I do have to say that the original Amelia Bedelia books have a magic that these don't quite get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 year old daughter loved it, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter, age 8, second grade, loved this book. It was her first experience with Amelia Bedelia. She liked how there was a preview for the next book and has been asking for it! My daughter is a great reader and this was not a difficult read for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter's love it., October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #1: Amelia Bedelia Means Business (Kindle Edition)
My daughter's school requires each quarter certain amount of pages to be read to pass to the next grade,I decided to start with Amelia Bedelia and well she enjoyed reading it so much she wanted to read it twice.She is super excited about this series she can't wait till the next book comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loved it, August 23, 2013
Great chapter book. My daughter is going into second grade and loved it! We have always loved Amelia Bedila and this new series is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay, Not Fantastic, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #1: Amelia Bedelia Means Business (Kindle Edition)
I've never read the picture books, and this is the first Amelia Bedelia chapter book that I've read with my kids. It was cute, and even funny at times. Amelia Bedelia wants a new bike, so she goes through a string of jobs and business ventures to save up enough money for one.

She constantly misinterprets every day sayings like "step on it" and "it's on the house" which provides the source for much of the humor in the book. The only problem with this is that I'm not sure how many kids that age would understand the jokes. A lot of the writing and vocabulary was over the comprehension level of most kids in the target age group.

While the book was cute, it didn't really do it for me. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't fantastic, either. This one falls into the middle for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #1: Amelia Bedelia Means Business (Kindle Edition)
My granddaughter read this book and loved it, she has renewed her interest in reading because of this book. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Bedelia!, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter has always loved to read Amelia Bedelia books. She initially found the name amusing but has grown to love Amelia's stories and adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #1: Amelia Bedelia Means Business (Kindle Edition)
great for young readers
Will read all amelia bedelia's books!!
my daughter just can't get enough of her books they are so good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, July 14, 2014
didntget it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.