Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2011
Our family loves Amelia Bedelia Books and we love apples.So, this book was perfect for us.It still has the Amedlia Bedelia humor we have grown to love.
This book is what Amelia does when she is visiting her Grandparents. One of our favorite pages is when Amelia goes to the market with her granddad, and she sees bushels of different apples. We love reading the different apple names. There are so many wonderful apples with silly names. Amelia truly learns to have fun with her family. Grandma and Amelia each bake an apple pie. Amelia's pie is the small one. You will have read to see what happens next.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
It was a gift for my granddaughters and they love Amelia Bedilia' books and besides, it's reading is acceptable for their grades.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2011
Unlike the character in the traditional Amelia Bedelia books for older children, this Amelia is a little girl. The traditional Amelia puns are still here, but in a slightly milder form. Amelia and her granddad rake leaves and pick apples. While they work, Amelia is not the only one punning -- her granddad is, too! Grandma and Amelia bake an apple pie together, and Amelia has her own surprise at the end.

Lovely illustrations by Lynne Avril splash fall colors on every page of this picture book for 3 to 7-year-olds.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
Red, green and yellow apples, the sound of leaves crunching under your feet, crisp fall air and to top it all off at grandma's house. This is such a wonderful book, reading it at the right time just launches you right into fall. We have added this to our in home library for our little girl. The best part is that there is a recipe for a wonderfully delicious apple pie. So what better way to read this book then top it off with a homemade apple pie, shared with your favorite people.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
My kids really enjoyed this book, and the vibrant colors and beautifully drawn pictures are wonderful. We read it many times and related it to raking our own yard and eating apples. Even a week after it went back to the library, my kids are still reciting the names of different kinds of apples from the farmer's market in the book. The best part by far was the pie recipe at the end. Great for little ones who like to "help" in the kitchen, and the pie was excellent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
Amelia Bedelia's First Apple Pie by Herman Parish is such a cute book, I plan on making Elion's first apple pie this week with her. She loved this book so much because the birds end up eating the apple pie, however, clever little Amelia comes up with a wonderful solution!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
MY GRANDDAUGHTER OF 5 JUST LOVED THIS STORY AND WITH THE RECIPE FOR THE GREATEST APPLE PIE, SHE JUST HAD TO MAKE IT WITH HER MOM! SHE GOT UP EARLY, GOT DRESSED, AND WAS ALL READY FOR THE DAY'S PROJECT!
CUTE STORY WHICH RELATES TO ANY GRANDMA!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
This is a wonderful story for little girls who are fans of AB. This is a simple but engaging story of AB and baking with her grandmother. In the end, AB saves the day which makes all little readers happy. I highly recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
This book is especially great in the fall due to having frest apples to bake with. Its one great book, she spends time with both her Grandparents and does fun things. Also it has a recipe in the back to share with the family.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
Not as much fun as the older Amelia Bedelia books, but cute. The illustrations are good but I had to explain to my kids the "obvious" ways in which Amelia misunderstood.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse