Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Earhart-Young Aviator
Amelia Earhart was a very courageous young pilot, and she helped inspire young women to fly. In the book, Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator, by Beatrice Gormley, in the Childhood of Famous Americans series, the author describes Amelia Earhart as extraordinarily brave. This book tells almost everything a person would want to know about Amelia Earhart.
Amelia flew...
Published on September 4, 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not age-appropriate
I agree with the review from "Mom to a Five Year Old."---too many adult issues for a children's book. Even for my 8 and 6 year-olds, there was a lot I skipped over in reading it aloud. The issue of her parents' marital problems could have been mentioned briefly, as it affected her growing up years, but handled in a much more discreet way. We really do not need to know the...
Published on November 16, 2010 by Waterlily


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Earhart-Young Aviator, September 4, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans) (Paperback)
Amelia Earhart was a very courageous young pilot, and she helped inspire young women to fly. In the book, Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator, by Beatrice Gormley, in the Childhood of Famous Americans series, the author describes Amelia Earhart as extraordinarily brave. This book tells almost everything a person would want to know about Amelia Earhart.
Amelia flew her plane until she wanted to retire. Before she retired, though, she wanted to make one last record-breaking flight. She planned to fly around the entire world, making stops only to refuel her plane. Near one of the islands she was supposed to land at, she mysteriously disappeared into the fog. No one knows what happened to her. We don't even know where she lies. We just know of her great achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not age-appropriate, November 16, 2010
By 
Waterlily (Sunny Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans) (Paperback)
I agree with the review from "Mom to a Five Year Old."---too many adult issues for a children's book. Even for my 8 and 6 year-olds, there was a lot I skipped over in reading it aloud. The issue of her parents' marital problems could have been mentioned briefly, as it affected her growing up years, but handled in a much more discreet way. We really do not need to know the details. It seems to be the main focus of much of the book. I was disappointed. I wanted to know a lot more about Amelia and a lot less about her parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars too many adult issues for the super young, June 19, 2007
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans) (Paperback)
I read several other books from this series aloud to my five year old but had to stop halfway through this one. Amelia had a bit of a difficult life with her father's alcoholism, parent's divorce, occasional poverty and ultimate loss at sea. There are other allusions to people dying in plane crashes. The books about Neal Armstrong, John Glenn and the Wright Brothers from this series were more appropriate for a five year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the book it's good for kids . It's just an amazing book.
Loved it would really read this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, April 7, 2010
By 
K. Thompson (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans) (Paperback)
THese Childhood of Famous American books are well worth the money. My kids love them and have learned so much by reading them aloud with me and on their own. A great way to introduce TRUE history in a childrens story form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars on-time delivery, December 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans) (Paperback)
Ordered this as Christmas gift. It arrived in time, at a good price. We know the book is a great kids' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans)
Amelia Earhart: Young Aviator (Childhood of Famous Americans) by Beatrice Gormley (Paperback - February 1, 2000)
$6.99 $6.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.