Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brief portraits of influential, memorable women, May 29, 2005
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
There's the familiar, expected, notable women--the flier Amelia Earhart, the black author Zora Neale Hurston, the artist Frida Kahlo, the philanthropist Eleanor Roosevelt. But there's also a number of accomplished lesser-known women and ones who have achieved recognition in recent years who are not yet seen as regulars in the circle of historically significant women. Thus, one finds the architect Maya Lin and the figure skater Kristi Yamaguchi. Outstanding women from diverse ethnic backgrounds and active in diverse fields, from labor unions to science to entertainment, are included in the twenty-six for each letter of the alphabet. Each woman is pictured in a collage-like illustration with objects representing what she is recognized for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Girl's Goldmine, February 27, 2008
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
When planning for elementary grades, it's been difficult for me to unearth well-written picture books about women who have made a difference in the world as we know it. I hit pay dirt when someone gave me this book to use as a resource for a unit studying the changes people make in the social world. The women depicted in this alphabet book are from many nations, many eras, and many cultures. They've all led different lives and have made unique contributions to entire societies around the globe: art, science, literature, aviation, politics...the list goes on. The illustrations are playful yet respectful and the concise stories on each page give the reader insight into the woman's personal and professional life. The author's note gives the reader a glimpse into the making of the book and the selected bibliography is arranged according to the alphabetical order of the featured women. Teachers and parents should not pass by this rich and rare glimpse of truly phenomenal women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, August 3, 2013
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
I'm a teacher. This is great book to read to children because it teaches diversity. Everyone can be proud of who they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this twice!, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
First I gave it to my daughter in law in hopes she'd teach young girls about positive role models, then I purchased the soft cover for my other grand daughter who loves it. It's well written, and nicely illustrated. Don't pass on this book, it's a must for young girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty to look at, January 15, 2007
By 
A. Gwynn "gwynnj" (Silver Spring, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
Interesting book with great pictures. 8 and under will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great conversation, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
Great conversation starter for young men and women. Good biographical information which hopefully ignites desire for further learning and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book for girls, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
My 7-year-old daughter loves hearing about these amazing women; this is one of her favorite books! The artwork is unique and interesting and the range of personalities is well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
This is a great book and super empowering for little girls and woman alike!! I love this book and am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amelia to Zora, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
Fantastic Book! I xeroxed three copies of each page because I was the presenter for Women's History Month. A xerox copy went up on the wall after I read the woman of the day. We have community meeting in the morning and I had two students walking up and down the corridor showing the page to students as I was reading it. Teachers thought the book was excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, April 15, 2013
By 
Nancy S. (Morgan Hill, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World (Hardcover)
I really liked the book because of the fantastic small description of the lives of these women. Good for women's history month in March.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World
Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World by Cynthia Chin-Lee (Hardcover - February 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $16.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.