Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep'em coming ReShonda...
Rachel Adams has worked hard to change her life and be right with God and as Zion Hil's First Lady her work in the church speaks for itself. That is until Mary Richardson lures her husband, Pastor Lester Adams, into her bedroom. The crazy thing is that they are both pregnant and Lester may have two babies on his hands. Rachel and Mary take off the gloves and go toe to...
Published on July 13, 2011 by Deltareviewer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Anoying
The main character (Rachel) was a pain in the rear end throughout the book. She was the cause of the problems in her marriage that lead to her husband cheating. Somehow she played the victim. ANOYING! In my opinion the characters were stupid and weak. BTW, when Rodney’s father smacked him in the back of the head at school, in front of Jonathan (a school counselor),...
Published 5 months ago by Reading Diva


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep'em coming ReShonda..., July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
Rachel Adams has worked hard to change her life and be right with God and as Zion Hil's First Lady her work in the church speaks for itself. That is until Mary Richardson lures her husband, Pastor Lester Adams, into her bedroom. The crazy thing is that they are both pregnant and Lester may have two babies on his hands. Rachel and Mary take off the gloves and go toe to toe during this everybody in the church ain't right installment of the Amen series.

Obviously, ReShonda has a gift from God with her comedic pen and witty words. She tackles issues that we hear about but don't openly talk about - praying the gay away, busy body single church women, and womanizing pastors. As the scandal unfolds the drama steps up a notch with every page. There are points that I thought were predictable and a couple of areas that slowed in action but this was definitely a must-read addition to the Amen series. Keep'em coming ReShonda...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Karma is a Mutha, October 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
As the First Lady of Zion Hill, Rachel has been fighting to remain rooted in the word, as well as violent free. Unfortunately, Mary, her husband's ex mistress, is making this a difficult task. At eight months pregnant, Rachel fears that she'll never be able to fully forgive Lester for cheating if she learns that the baby Mary is carrying is actually his. While she struggles to be strong, Mary is pulling out the heavy artillery to get Lester to realize that he picked the wrong woman to be his wife. With her holier than thou aunt in town and the return of her dad's cancer, Rachel is not sure how much more she can handle.

Confused and praying for a solution, Jonathan wishes that some way he could change who he is as everyone seems to be quick to pass judgment on him. Despite his willingness to put his lifestyle to the side for his son's sake, Jonathan finds himself unable to do so when a student is in need of counsel.

Both Rachel and Jonathan are in need of time, healing and forgiveness. Will they be able to finally get the break through that is needed to move on in their lives?

SAY AMEN, AGAIN by Billingsley is the third installment of the Say Amen series. In each book readers bear witness to change, prayer and understanding. Recommended reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great One..., July 14, 2011
By 
LOVE2READ "TJ" (HOME OF THE CRABS, MARYLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
This book picks up right where Say Amen left off with Rachel, Lester and Mary. Rachel was struggling to work through the nightmare that Mary created. Mary is a conniving piece of work. She has created a bad situation between Rachel and Lester that will keep you turning the pages. I hope that there is more of Rachel and Lester in the future... If you read the 2 other books in the series you will not be dissapointed. Looking forward to reading the book that Ms. Billingsly and Ms. Christopher Murray have wriiten together about Jasmine and Rachel titled Saints and Sinners which will be released early next year. I'm looking forward to reading about these two strong willed woman in the same book...Whew... Keep the books coming...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventy Times Seven, September 26, 2011
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
Have you ever wondered about true forgiveness and if you could actually do so no matter what the circumstances may be? In Author ReShonda Tate Billingsley's Say Amen, Again, First Lady Rachel Adams is tested far beyond letting go and letting God.

It was bad enough that Pastor Lester Adams's mistress and church member, Mary Richardson, was pregnant, but she was allegedly pregnant with the pastor's child at the very same time Rachel herself was and everyone knew about it. To add insult to injury, Mary began to harass Rachel and she was not having any part of it. Perhaps she could have allowed forgiveness according to God's Word to flow in her heart and forgive her husband for his infidelity and excuse the impending birth of a child outside of marriage; but there was more to pardoning another woman for the worst sin there is -- cheating with her husband.

Will Rachel find a way to allow God to set things right in her marriage and in the situation with Mary, or will she take matters into her own hands and exact things herself?

I enjoyed reading Say Amen, Again because of the obvious process of forgiveness and healing that comes with it. I recommend this book to anyone who loves to read stories of forgiveness, redemption and drama.
This book was provided to me courtesy of the publisher for review purposes.

Review by Sharel E. Gordon-Love
APOOO BookClub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reshonda Tate Billingsley did not DISAPPOINT, August 12, 2011
By 
Love me some books "Jounay" (New Orleans, LA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
In Say Amen Again by Reshonda Tate Billingsley we revisit old characters and their drama filled lives. Rachel is recovering from the shocking blow that she and her husband's mistress are both expecting and expected to deliver their baby's around the same time.

To add insult to injury Mary is constantly a thorn in the side of Rachel and her husband,Lester. Mary stoops to unbelievable levels to make them unhappy even using unsuspecting family members in her plot to cause unhappiness in the lives of the Adams.

In spite of Mary constantly causing problems in the lives of the Adams her life is not without it's share of problems. During Mary's lowest point she must ask for help from the person she despises the most.

I really enjoyed Say Amen Again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick engaging read. It was both realistic and provided a much needed lesson on forgiveness.

Once you start you definitely won't want to stop.

This is not a complaint but merely a suggestion for those planning to read this book. Say Amen Again is definitely a sequel. In my opinion it is not a stand alone book and in order for you to appreciate the book you must read the others in the series.

Say Amen Again definitely did not disappoint and was a true pleasure for me to read.

I can't wait to read Reshonda Tate Billingsley's new book co-authored by my favorite author Victoria Christopher Murray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Get Enough of ReShonda's Books, July 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
Say Amen, Again is ReShonda Tate Billingsley's 23rd book. Her writing style has a flow of humor and thought provoking issues that many are faced with daily. ReShonda has a great way of showing her story through her words. She makes you feel as if you're best friends with each character. In Say Amen, Again. ReShonda addresses not only the issue of "pray the gay away," but also bullying. Both of these issues had a huge impact on those involved.

If you have read the series from the beginning, you know that the Jackson family has had their share of family issues. Rachel has definitely matured over the years. She is about to become a mother for the 3rd time and many feel as if she has become soft, especially the way she deals with her husband and his one-time mistress, Mary. The situation becomes life changing for everyone. You will be surprised by the outcome. Don't sleep on Say Amen, Again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rachel is Back!!!, July 23, 2011
By 
Rose Wright (Jackson, Mississippi) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
Rachel is BACK!!! With a Vengence against, Sister Mary. And Sister Mary aint no Saint nor a Sister. Rachel has one foot in the church house door and one in the jailhouse door. Praying all the way, that she doesn't listen to the Remix of R Kelly's "When a Womans fed up there is something you can do about it". This novel is drama filled and a great page turner. ReShonda Tate Billingsley has done it again. Great Job, Reshonda and Keep them coming. Happy Writing!!! Savvy Book Club, Jackson, MS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drama filled and I liked it, November 21, 2013
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Kindle Edition)
This was a good book. Rachel was a strong women and she kept it together for her family sake. I feel Lester was not a strong leader. he wanted to be the Pastor but he didn't stand strong enough to keep things together. He kept falling for the okey doke! lol. I can't even say nothing about Mary just (SMH). There was plenty of drama in this book to keep your attention and this what I enjoy in a book. I am going to have to read more books by ReShonda. This chic know she be writing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Paperback)
this book was crazy and drama filled while representing the things that God wants you to follow. there were times when i didnt know if the book would turn out to be a christian romance novel but thankfully it did. you should always trust in God. this book shows situations of normal people and how they dealt with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Say Amen, Again (Kindle Edition)
I always enjoy reading her works. They are fun, imaginative and relatable. Her research into characters is interesting and they evolve into people that you can grow to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Say Amen, Again
Say Amen, Again by ReShonda Tate Billingsley (Paperback - July 5, 2011)
$15.00 $6.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.