Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Revolutionary Work, Whatever Its Flaws
-----
This book was not unlike many others before and since which suggest Precolumbian transoceanic contact. The thing that sets it apart is the fact that Barry Fell had a mastery of ancient languages and epigraphy that may never have been bettered. His legacy will endure long after those who slandered and libeled him are classified alongside those ninnies who claim...
Published on March 29, 2001 by Holy Olio

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good luck
Yes! Good luck, that's what I say those scholars who face whatever public opinion and who try to destroy the myths that are the backbone of so-called conventional History. Go forward, Pr. Fell & please don't stop amazing us!
Published on November 18, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Required Reading!!, May 9, 2001
A wonderfully enlightening book with excellent documentation. You can read it with a closed mind and your eyes will be opened. Hundreds of high quality photos and numerous easy-to-understand translation charts that repeatedly support Fell's assumptions without ever leaving you in doubt of his research and evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Information for an Old World, July 15, 2000
By 
D. Reznor (Boston, Ma (USA)) - See all my reviews
This book is just what conventional historians and archaeologists need...A Wake-up Call. For centuries, we have been given strict inconclusive historical information to the world we live in and the supposed "first settlers". The planet we live on is so old, and more and more things are being learned about it every day, but still, accurate historical evidence is still being with- held, and treated as heresy. But, it's people like Dr. Fell who aren't afraid to publish truth as it is learned that will bring about a new wealth of information about our world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America BC by Barry Fell, October 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent book. I loaned my first copy and never got it back. It is a study of the languages written in the rocks in America, especially Ogam. Many scholars are so narrow in their field they did not recognize the symbols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Mysteries, August 17, 2005
By 
Explorer Jen "nekgirl" (JEFFERSONVILLE, VT USA) - See all my reviews
I first read Barry Fell's America B.C. many years ago as a teenager, and being lucky enough to live in Vermont, have visited various ancient sites here and in New Hampshire. Even if you are skeptical after reading this book, at least let it be a jumping off point to read and discover more about this intriguing subject. Another short, but wonderful book is "New England's Ancient Mysteries" by Robert Ellis Cahill. I picked this up at America's Stonehenge in Salem, NH and am anxious to visit some of the other sites outlined in this book. Also visit [...] for more information on New England Antiquities. It truly is in your own backyard!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man who saw the future of our past, September 11, 2012
AMERICA B.C.: ANCIENT SETTLERS IN THE NEW WORLD by Prof. Dr. Barry Fell (1976, Wallaby Books, 312 pages) has been an absolute Bible for me and those in my circle. I suspect it has been a Bible to the entire scientific community, including those who mocked and ostracized Harvard Professor Fell for his early work. Knowing Fell's work as I do, having cut my teeth on it, I couldn't care less that he was originally a zoologist.

Perhaps it was jealousy, since Prof. Fell, founder of the Epigraphic Society on which so much science relies today, is also the unquestioned Father of Ancient American Colonization Theory (my term, don't steal it) - and one of the fathers of human migration studies.

To put it into one statement: Prof. Fell was among the first major scientists to declare his findings, that many peoples sailed to and populated all the Americas, in ancient times. Professor Fell will tell you himself about his book: "This book gives the plain facts about [ancient inscribed U.S.] stones ... with an explanation of how [they] are being deciphered ... what they tell us about the people who wrote [the inscriptions] and how they came to be in America [thousands of] years ago."

At first glance Professor Fell is referring to a 1975 expedition of exploration in New England, in which proof was first found of ancient Celtic settlements. This book covers several Indian tribes (Fell favors the term "Amerindian") and their solid relationships with ancient tribes of the Old World. Personally I despise the terms "Old World" and "New World" because so often, it becomes "Old" vs. "New". Fell uses it as a literary convenience but I happen to know he didn't like those terms either.

In this excellent, fun and readable little book, packed with photos, ancient alphabet comparisons and comparative philology, Fell covers his bases very well. He speaks of ancient tribes sailing to these shores from across both 'ponds'. He explains how many Indian tribes retained language, customs and traditions brought by them from the Middle East, Africa and Spain. He finds proof of the people who have lived in America: Phoenicians, Libyans, Celtiberians, Punic-speaking folks of every stripe, and of course Egyptians. The latter hypothesis, that Egyptians were here, has fallen by the wayside. Give Fell a break - he wrote this after doing research in the 1970s!

Fell fought against the exclusive Bering Strait Bridge theory and I know it harmed his credibility and career. Yet everything aside from his proof has turned out to be on target. Never forget the work of an important founder, no matter how much you disagree with the little things. You simply must read this book if you have any interest in any of the subjects. It is very popular today, and well studied. In a time when there was no Spencer Wells with his Human Genome Project, no support from anyone, and stupid abuse, Fell pushed ever forward.

AMERICA B.C. is one of what I call The Fell Trilogy: the other two are Saga America (the first edition is sadly riddled with errors) and Bronze-Age America. If you can handle slightly dated material - and any good scientist should - you must read Prof. Fell's life's work. The many articles on epigraphy that he wrote may be impossible for you to find, but you'll learn from his books why archeologists today often cry for an epigrapher when they can't read something.

In the pre-Fell days, the diggers thought they were the best expert epigraphers and our historical knowledge really suffered because of that arrogance. Get this book. If nothing else, you'll learn how we love to trample on the shoulders of giants whom we would love to keep anonymous forever - giants like Professor Fell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, January 8, 2012
By 
Dennis Marker (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Author presents a lot of interesting material and conjecture. Seems to be well organized and well written. You will be the final judge of who got here first. In total, an enjoyable, interesting read, worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars <America B.C., January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its still amazing that the established "lords" of published student text books, will not print such well documented truths that are in America BC.
This is not information that would attempt to influence someones' religious beliefs. This book is just good History.
Is the book technical in places where it describes the alphabets of different found texts ...?? Yes. But, it shows that Spanish sailors in 1492 AD, were not the FIRST to influence those who were already here.
If you enjoy the history of BC America, purchase this well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Information, August 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Changes the out look on Columbus and 1492. This information is bringing the world a new understanding of our past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America B.C., July 12, 2011
An excellent book describing evidence of people other than "Indians" in America long before Columbus. Written by a very respected person knowledgeable in many ancient languages and script as well as in archeology and in history as recorded in the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Captures the Imagination, February 22, 2003
By 
Virgil Brown (White Oak, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
_America B.C._ is a book that captures the imagination of its readers. It is fascinating to think that Old World travelers somehow managed to reach the New World long before the time of Columbus. Phoenicians came to Vermont where they dedicated a building to the sun god Bel. Druids and Celts also landed in New England. Egyptians visited eastern Canada. In his book, Fell proposes scores of examples of trans-oceanic visitations.
Though it does capture the imagination, I would like to mention that I have done a more thorough study of one of Fell's examples and found that he claims much, but can really prove little. On page 310, Fell writes about the Los Lunas Decalogue. Fell says that the script is like the Moabite Stone which he dates to about 1000 BCE. Patina tests show that the writing is to be dated 500 to 2000 years BP (before the present). Also Fell says that the _punctuation_ matches Greek manuscripts such as Codex Sinaiticus.
In response I would first say that the reason that paleography can be used to date a writing is because scripts are used at a particular time in history and then fade out of use. So if Fell finds that the script of the Los Lunas Decalogue is like the Moabite Stone, then he is dating it to sometime around 1000 BCE. Second, I would say that patina tests are notorious for offering older dates than can be verified by other tests. Even so the patina tests on the Los Lunas Decalogue managed to date the writing to only 2000 years BP. Of course this mismatches the paleographical dating by almost a thousand years. Third, I find that the _punctuation_ of the Los Lunas Decalogue includes dots at the ends of sentences which we call periods. Looking at high resolution pictures of the Dead Sea Scrolls shows that at their
time Hebrew did not use dots as markers for the end of a sentence.
Did Fell reach his conclusions for his scores of other examples based upon such a poor foundation? Though I have not done such indepth research on all of Fell's examples, I would say yes. So although it captures the imagination to think that Old World travelers came to the New World long before the time of Columbus, Leif Ericsson looks like as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

America B.C.: Ancient Settlers in the New World
America B.C.: Ancient Settlers in the New World by Barry Fell (Hardcover - Nov. 1976)
Used & New from: $14.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.