Customer Reviews


1,277 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,119)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


451 of 510 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America Defended
Dinesh explains one angle of the why and how America is being brought down - because of national self-suicide and national refusal of We The People to defend uniquely American ideals. The primary tool of those engendering the self-suicide is distorted information to produce national shame. Dinesh identifies just a few of the most common and most potent arguments of...
Published 5 months ago by xman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting documentary.
Interesting documentary and it is designed to make us think -- which it does!
Published 5 days ago by David J. Willson


‹ Previous | 1 2128 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

451 of 510 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America Defended, July 4, 2014
By 
xman "xman" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Dinesh explains one angle of the why and how America is being brought down - because of national self-suicide and national refusal of We The People to defend uniquely American ideals. The primary tool of those engendering the self-suicide is distorted information to produce national shame. Dinesh identifies just a few of the most common and most potent arguments of national political shame taught in the classroom, mainstream media and even churches today. Then he provides a conceptual counter answer coupled with a specific counter facts and a historical personality. He paints in broad strokes and will not convince or undo years of school indoctrination in the closed minded, but he gives enough to the open minded to question the dominant paradigm.

I was moved to tears several times because I know we are in fight of ideals and ideologies, and much that I love and value has been injured and is in grave danger. Despite what Dinesh did not do and did not cover, he did do more to open political debate and awareness in a broad way in a few hours than the prior decades of mainstream movie making. Michael Moore was never this balanced (not saying Dinesh is balanced) nor did Michael Moore achieve this level of honesty or really even break new ground as Dinesh is doing in exposing ideological roots. We are in an idealogical war now, but in the end there is hope. This movie is part of that hope. But we have no great national leaders today, so its up to us, each of us individually, to fight as if the outcome does depend on us since it may. Dinesh did his part in this great war by producing this movie; what have you done? One step is supporting Dinesh by buying or seeing his film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 286 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We were deeply moved, July 2, 2014
My family just saw this movie for the second time. It is so packed with emotion and information it really should be seen more than once. This movie is perfect for ALL Americans to see. Those who disagree with the filmmaker, Dinesh D'Souza, will appreciate the voices of criticism included, even highlighted, in the film. Those more friendly to his message, will be very emotionally moved, and intellectually inspired.

Dinesh D’Souza has created a tribute and defense of our nation unique to his perspective as an immigrant, an intellectual, and a sincerely spiritual man. It is common knowledge that our citizens are sharply divided along political and cultural lines. Have you ever wondered why? Is there a group of people who benefit from this polarization and division? Do we have influential people in America who want to tear down America? Who embrace national suicide? Mr. D’Souza interviews many of these people, and you will be shocked by what they say! This movie is scary, funny, inspiring, and thought-provoking.

Like the picturesque aerial footage shown in a memorable section of the film (as Dinesh flies over parts of our county), the mental tour he takes of America’s worldview landscape is a wild ride. Only we can write the rest of the story. Where are we going next? Definitively worth seeing with the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stand with America and see this Movie., July 3, 2014
Great Movie and Great Points made. Say what you want but he puts history straight up in front of your face. Go check your facts if you need too. Brings you to tears what Bono has to say about America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


197 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America Forever Diligent, July 2, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed America: Imagine a World without Her. It was very well done. It points out the groups in America that would like to see her fail and examines each complaint to show the negative belief is not valid. He showed the war and what if Washington did not survive. He talked about the slaves - both white and black. How they got here and how some rose above their situation and became successful. D'Souza showed how beautiful America is and how we got to where we are and those that are currently playing a significant part in trying to tear her down. We must be forever diligent and stand up for what we believe. There is still hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


201 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last, America Defended, July 7, 2014
By 
xman "xman" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Finally someone tackles of a few of the most common lies, repeated over and over in the media and the schools that bash the very soul of America and the core of its identity. The dramatizations and emotional appeals won't sway the liberals, but if they are open minded and curious they can verify and follow up on the factual hints. But this movie isn't for them, its to rally the disheartened loyal remnant of true Americans tired of watching America decline.

The Bono speech "America is an idea" was key. If you want to save America from its decline, this battle isn't on some far away beach, its in the schools, media, and culture here at home. Its a battle of ideas and the anti-Americans are winning by preventing alternative views from even appearing to be discussed. Alternative ideas are shut down by Alinsky tactics and that's why Alinksy is a key point in the film also. Dinesh just hinted at the depth of the corruption in our politics, but you can only go so far on what the people are prepared to accept. In the end, Dinesh admits we have no Lincolns, no Washington's, no great leaders to lead us today from our crises. Its up to each of us, that's all there is. The battle is on and the country is at stake. Do Something. Rise. Resist. Restore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie! Brings out MUCH information that WE THE ..., July 5, 2014
Great Movie! Brings out MUCH information that WE THE PEOPLE need
to hear again! Our children need to know about their history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars D'Souza's America, July 1, 2014
This was a solid – but not perfect – effort by D’Souza to dispel many of the false or exaggerated indictments against America made regularly by the political left. Re-enactments of historic events and battles scenes added nice flavor but were overused, especially toward the end of the film. (I did, however, very much appreciate the dramatic portrayal of Madam C. J. Walker [Sarah Breedlove], the first black, female, self-made millionaire in America.) There were a few, annoying technical glitches, too, like the out-of-focus interview with Rand Paul.

D’Souza addressed some indictments better than others. He did a good job explaining that slavery during the country’s founding was the norm at the time. The historical aberration was the fact that the US fought a civil war and almost destroyed itself in order to abolish slavery – that was a first in history. D’Souza likewise did an adequate job analyzing the how America acquired California and Texas from Mexico. On the other hand, I felt he should have placed more emphasis on explaining the benefits of capitalism and the free market.

It was nice to see Saul Alinsky called out and his tactics exposed. It’s eerie to see Alinsky’s ideas being expressed and executed today by Barak Obama and Hillary Clinton.

Especially touching was U2 front man Bono’s remarks about America at Georgetown University. Sometimes it takes a foreign-born person to remind us to never take for granted the revolutionary ideas gifted to the world by our Founders.

I felt D’Souza did a fair job making his points, but I never got to that emotional high-point, that moment when everything falls into place and you want to shout, “yes!” I really hoped the film would provide a constant stream of slam-dunk arguments, that it would be the perfect documentary to change the minds of my “progressive” friends. While it didn't deliver on that level, I would say it’s still an important and worthwhile film to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
Wow, what a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America without the leftist distortions, July 12, 2014
My husband and I drove 200 miles yesterday to see this movie (and eat at a good oriental restaurant). We read before seeing it that Peter Sobczynski, reviewing this movie on "RogerEbert.com", says "it plods along with all the verve of a PowerPoint presentation." Well, since the purpose of this movie is to educate and inform, that really wouldn't be such a bad thing. Fortunately, Mr. Sobczynski is wrong. It is incredibly interesting and well-designed as an educational tool. Those who watch it will understand and remember the main points, which is the goal of a real educator. The movie contains several well-documented, but hitherto hidden, historical facts, such as the number of BLACK slave owners who supported the confederacy; the story of Madam C. J. Walker, who, in 1914, became America's first female millionaire by virtue of her hard work, rather than her color (black) and her birthright (slavery); and how Saul Alinski, who dedicated "Rules for Radicals" to Lucifer because he was the first radical, studied, admired, and learned tactics from Frank Nitti (Al Capone's second-in-command), became an example that Barack Obama followed, and impressed Hillary Clinton so much she did her thesis on him.

Considering what passes for 'news' and 'education' today, we wish "America" were on all the networks and in every classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 7, 2014
We clapped at the end. It felt good to be proud of our country again!

Excellent subject. Excellent cinematography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2128 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.