Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading - Interesting Research - Doubtful Outcomes
This book is packed full of solid research. It's timely. It's tragic. Yes, the nation has problems...plenty of them...which will not be easily resolved but the book is somewhat a victim of its own success. Unlike most books that harp endlessly on one or two main points, this book is packed full of hard=hitting statistics, examples, historical and future trends. Page after...
Published on October 14, 2009 by javajunki

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mixed bag!
I really felt I had to comment on this book because I *really* agreed with Corsi on a majority of points and strongly disagreed with him on others. I want to start off by saying I am a lifelong democrat, but I have strong libertarian leanings (yet I do believe in universal healthcare- I am a nurse and I see firsthand alot of problems with the system that will not be...
Published on April 18, 2010 by Melissa Aronson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading - Interesting Research - Doubtful Outcomes, October 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is packed full of solid research. It's timely. It's tragic. Yes, the nation has problems...plenty of them...which will not be easily resolved but the book is somewhat a victim of its own success. Unlike most books that harp endlessly on one or two main points, this book is packed full of hard=hitting statistics, examples, historical and future trends. Page after page is packed solid...the author did an excellent job keeping it readable so you won't get bored nor overwhelmed. It doesn't insult the intelligence of the reader nor does it cater to "entry level" only...good blend of valuable information, solid research and a somewhat wide/expansive coverage.

Likewise, Crosi does a good job "bashing" both left and right equally so those inclined toward one view or another will either not be insulted or will find themselves equally insulted depending upon how personally they take criticism of each party. I'm not a "conspiracy theorist" and tend to avoid authors that lean in that direction however, unlike many authors that rely upon 'hype', Corsi presents an abundance of information to support his premise and position. Whether one agrees with the conclusions is entirely optional - the information itself is what makes this book well worth the time and effort to read.

Equally optional is the suggested means of protecting both self and nation...depending upon your personal situation, politics and other beliefs you may agree or disagree. Most is solid advice that would do little harm and has the potential to help the average citizen much more than most suggestions.

Bottom line...excellent research, extensive footnotes/references, minimal hype/hysteria enjoyable to read whether you "buy into" conspiracy theories or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scared me to death!, December 27, 2009
Let me start by saying that I find it extremely annoying when people post reviews for books that they haven't read. Whether on not you align yourself with Dr. Corsi's political views is irrelevant IF YOU HAVEN'T READ IT! And while Corsi does take some (deserved) shots at the Obama administration for massive deficit spending, the content is quite non-partisan. Here, the author has compiled an amazing amount of information documenting the economic decline of our great nation. If you've looked around recently and noticed how EVERYTHING is made in China, how few manufacturing jobs are left, how much of a mess D.C. is; this book puts it all together. An informative (if not scary) read. People, we've got bigger fish to fry than "health care". Four stars for slight disorganization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Slap in the Face to Awaken Those Dreaming the American Dream, October 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a scary book. It's like a hard pinch to see if you are awake or a bucket of ice water thrown in the face to awaken the daydreamer and bring them back to the real world. For years, Americans have been betrayed by politicians from both sides of the Congressional aisle. They have been lulled to sleep by promises of future benefits that have not been paid for and exist only in sweet dreams of La La Land and unlimited wealth that turns out to have been Monopoly Money. Congress has continued to buy votes by making these promises knowing full well that they won't be around when their giant Ponzi Schemes collapse like the house of cards they are. Well, that promised future is here. America is bankrupt and still spending like a drunken sailor. The government is just not willing to tell the public the truth.
This reviewer has never been a fan of conspiracy theories, but it appears that the entire world has been tricked by the twin utopian conspiracies of Globalism and Socialism. The free trade Globalism push came from the Rockefeller Republicans and the push to Socialism came from the Liberals in the Democrat Party.
"Globalism, instead of creating an era of flourishing U.S. employment, has left millions of U.S. workers behind, such that no amount of education and training will enable them to compete with a world population ready and willing to work for a fraction of what U.S. workers demand in terms of wages and benefits." Anyone who has lost their job and is trying to get another one is probably well aware of this fact. "In the final analysis, America is for sale precisely because globalism failed, precisely because a `free trade' international economy failed to fulfill the promises the globalists made."
"The modern social-welfare state, despite all the humanitarian arguments that can be made to support it, may in the final analyses end up being too expensive for either Europe of the United States to afford..."
This book is "a clarion call to take America back before it is too late...a clarion call to prevent the globalists from outsourcing U.S. jobs that will never return to our shores, and from erasing our borders and destroying the dollar. American patriots do not want to live in Barack Obama's internationalist social-welfare state any more than we should want to live in George H. W. Bush's internationalist `new world order.'" To avoid becoming another third world nation of slaves, the only people with the power to stop this kind of "change" is the American Tax Payer who with their votes and taxes can shut the government down and force the government to listen to the endangered species known as the American Middle Class. If the taxpayers don't pay, the take-over of America falls flat on its face.
The book is constructed in three major parts: The Global Economic Panic of 2009, America For Sale, and Fighting the New World Order, Surviving a Global Depression, and Preserving U.S.A. Sovereignty. The preface, introduction and conclusion are unusually well written and important to the overall book. The chapter on surviving a global depression offers common sense, obvious advice for surviving the collapse of American Freedom and the Most Successful Economic System the world has ever known. Everyone should take note of that advice.
It's not too late to stop the United States from giving up its sovereignty as well as its wealth, power and freedoms. This book includes important and practical strategies for Middle-Class Survival in Economic Hard Times. One World Government is almost here but it can still be defeated by returning to the teachings and policies of America's Founding Fathers, who in their great wisdom set up a Constitution that would keep the United States from becoming just another third world country with a world government taxing the U.S. serfs without any kind of representation from or voting rights of the citizens/serfs of the new world order that aims to spread the world's wealth equally around the globe, except of course for the leaders of this new utopian world of Oz. The secret wizards behind the token leaders have been working for years to reach the point where the USA would voluntarily give up their sovereignty and becomes slaves to the New World Socialist Order. Included in the upcoming Cap and Trade bill is language subordinating the America's Constitution in favor of world government and international organizations such as the United Nations and voluntarily giving them the power to tax the USA into poverty with the taxed having absolutely no recourse to challenge those taxes.
It's time for the little Red, White and Blue Frogs swimming lazily around in the cooking pot of slowly warming hot water wrongly believing it is a hot tub, to wake up and jump out of the pot before they are boiled and eaten by the Globalist-Socialist-Welfare World Order. It's especially important because there is no proof that either Socialism or Globalism has ever worked or will ever work. The historic records indicate that both concepts are doomed to failure because they defy the laws of economics and the very human instinct for self-preservation and/or self-interest.
This is required reading for any citizen who would like to better understand what is happening to our country and why the President and his administration seems so critical of America and its accomplishments and at the same time don't seem to show any real interest in following proven methods of improving the economy and providing jobs. The Obama Administration has a very different agenda and our President is using his present job as a stepping-stone to ruling the entire world. The radicals and hippies are in charge. Like many of you, this reader would never have believed this possible in this country even as late as two years ago. After watching the current government administration at work and reading this and other excellent books on the subject, it appears that we in America are on the verge of falling off the cliff into slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Globalists vs. America, December 26, 2009
Jerome Corsi is a writer from the hardcore right. With that in mind I was a skeptic of AMERICA FOR SALE.
In reading the book I found that the author provides unbiased criticism of both political parties and administrations. This book is written for the everyday citizen, you don't need an economics or political science degree to appreciate it.

A lot of the material in this book relates directly to the American middle class.
Mr. Corsi vehemently opposes globalism.
"If anything, the global Economic Panic of 2009 should refute globalism once and for all." - page 19.

"The global market operates to the detriment of the U.S. worker, endangering by its very nature the U.S. middle class lifestyle."-page 105.

Mr. Corsi reasons that the economic destruction of the American middle class will "destroy the engine upon which global economic growth depends." This has affected jobs in low-wage countries such as China.

The author investigates how free trade relates to globalist plans.

A timely subject is the campaign contributions from Wall Street and multi-national corporations.
(One could argue that the sale of politicians at the national level has already been concluded. And the owners are not "we the people or Main Street").

Another important topic is the open border.
The Medellin case was cited as an example of an attempt to bypass U.S. law and sovereignty.
The motivation for open borders and it's direct relationship to the plans for a North American Union and ultimately a global union is addressed. He investigates plans for the dollar's replacement- the Amero, as a step toward a global currency.

In addition to examining the financial crisis and global politics, Mr. Corsi suggests sensible political and personal solutions.

AMERICA FOR SALE is a comprehensive political book. About the only issue that wasn't discussed was the U.S. military empire.
I highly recommend the book to anyone concerned about the current crisis- regardless of party affiliation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mixed bag!, April 18, 2010
I really felt I had to comment on this book because I *really* agreed with Corsi on a majority of points and strongly disagreed with him on others. I want to start off by saying I am a lifelong democrat, but I have strong libertarian leanings (yet I do believe in universal healthcare- I am a nurse and I see firsthand alot of problems with the system that will not be solved thru insurance companies- too many people pay nothing and cost the system thousands upon thousands while those of us paying hundreds of dollars a month for heathcare *still* pay thru the nose for our care). So, I agree with Corsi (among other things)that there really seems to be conspiracy afoot (basically to collapse the dollar, so that the United States will feel there is no option but to accept a new currency). I felt he was on target when he described the state of America's economic affairs and how the outsourcing of jobs is destroying us. I remember the talk about the Trans-Texas corridor and it's scary implications (I live in Texas and it was opposed almost universally by taxpayers). I agree with the author fully on the ludicrousness of hiring Geithner, the bloodsucking bailouts, the astronomical deficit that is destroying this country. I have 3 kids and I am very, very afraid for their future (to say nothing of the anger that I feel knowing social security will be gone before I even get close to retiring). Corsi even talks about David Walker, former comptroller of the U.S. and his frightening statements about our government's spending habits (watch him on Youtube right away- you will be very scared by what he says).
However, I *am* a believer in global warming and peak oil and this is where Corsi and I part company. I am not going to argue with anyone about global warming (we'll wait and see how that one plays out). But, I strongly believe we have reached the peak of global oil production (please go to read about Richard Heinberg - [...]- he has written many great articles and books - he is full of statistically-backed facts and writes in a very calm and intelligent manner on a confusing topic). So, when Corsi tried to paint peak oil as a hoax, I was really turned off. I suppose we all have our opinions and beliefs, but whenever people insist that either the planet has infinite resources or "the oil supply will last at least hundreds of years because I *believe* it is so" or because they even nominally believe the totally debunked abiotic oil theory, it becomes hard to swallow the rest of what they are saying.
Just wanted to let any other "crazy-conspiracy-story-believers/hippy-chick-peak-oil-theorists" know the deal here- but, if you don't feel strongly about peak oil or global warming and you really feel something is very wrong with America's current state of affairs (and that maybe everything is going to heck-in-a-handbasket in a very bad way), then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fact Filled and Very Educational, December 28, 2009
Length:: 8:51 Mins

I'm a big fan of Dr. Corsi as a result of The Obama Nation and was glad to get a chance to read this one. I learned a ton of great information from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America Sold Down the River, November 16, 2009
By 
John Myer (Nashville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you REALLY want to know what is going on in America, the world and the emerging globalist economy buy this book!

It is thoroughly documented with end notes and references for every claim stated and charge levied.

What becomes clear is the concerted effort by the International Monetary Fund and the World Trade Organization along with every major government in the world to develop a world economy with a world currency using the Euro as a blueprint.

Obama may be leading the charge to the emerging New World Order and the destruction of American sovereignty and economy, but it is MUCH bigger than any single president.

There is a storm coming. Those who are wise enough to try and prepare for an economic Katrina would be wise to buy this book and read it for all that it is worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have education., August 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This a great book and should be required reading for every American from high school on up. It explains the game, who the players are and why. If you are confused as to what is going on in America today... you won't be after you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag...reader beware, December 15, 2009
By 
I have enjoyed reading this book. I've learned a lot, but I've also run into quite a bit that is questionable at best. I agree with much of the positive reviews posted here, so I'll move on to the criticism.

There is a wealth of information and leads in this book, and much of the reasoning seems pretty good. Occasionally, however, there are some deceptive and stupid statements. For example, Corsi attacks the idea of Peak Oil in this book, but does not back up his attack with anything substantial. He refers to the abiotic theory of oil which says that the earth basically produces oil on it's own...no ancient plant material involved. This is a discredited theory with virtually no scientific support, but you wouldn't know it from the way Corsi presents it. Corsi acknowledges that traditional oil theory states that oil comes from ancient plant matter, not dinosaurs, but then he goes on to make ridiculous arguments against the traditional theory such as questioning why all the dinosaurs ended up on the Arabian peninsula. I don't know enough about Peak Oil to evaluate the strength of Peak Oil arguments, but I do know that Corsi's argument is incredibly weak, and only serves to provide a meager support for the rest of his argument that we are not running out of oil anytime soon, if ever.

Putting such a weak and deceptive argument in such a book calls into question every other argument in the book and really lessened the impact for me. Still a good book, and I was glad to read it, but I am not sure how much of it is accurate, which is frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't look now... they're raping your country, March 8, 2010
By 
Brian (Tacoma, WA) - See all my reviews
Overall, this a good discussion on the history and implications of globalism for the domestic economy, with particular emphasis on NAFTA, CAFTA, and the significance of the "Trans-Texas Corridor" for the American workforce.
My only complaint with the book is that the author Corsi doesn't explore the "New World Order" angle as much as I would like... it *is* in the title, after all. He skirts around the banking bailout disaster without going too deeply into what a scam the Federal Reserve is (although he does advocate dissolving it), and he doesn't connect the trends of globalism with 9/11 or the draconian police state apparatus which is evolving around us. Still, it is worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

America for Sale: Fighting the New World Order, Surviving a Global Depression, and Preserving USA Sovereignty
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.